2007 BMW 3 Series Reviews - Page 5 of 5

2007 BMW 3 Series 328I from North America

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance11000 miles
Previous carBMW X5

Summary:

Overall, it's a great little car

Faults:

My only complaint about the car is the run-flat tires. I have had the car 4 months and now have my 2nd flat tire. Since they cannot be fixed, I need to purchase a new tire... drive to the dealer.. spend most of the day.

General Comments:

I love the car.

It has plenty of cargo space for a relatively small car.

It is plenty quick on the uptake

It is very comfortable

It handles incredible

I HATE the run-flat tires.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th September, 2007

21st Jul 2009, 13:16

Also I hear there is no dipstick for the motor's oil.. This scares me.

4th May 2011, 16:25

You're right, there's no dipstick. It's all electronic.

2007 BMW 3 Series 330d SE Coupe 3 litre turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3 litre turbo diesel Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3000 miles
Previous carAudi A4

Summary:

A solid and enjoyable car with welcome economy too!

Faults:

A couple of very minor rattles. The seat belt handover mechanism sometimes misses the seat belt.

General Comments:

The engine is a revelation, combining really useful "grunt" with fantastic economy (50mpg+ being easily attainable), but without ever sounding too much like a taxi or being intrusive.

The run-flat tyres give a rather sharp ride. Given the choice (which one isn't) I'd go for conventional rubber.

The i-Drive system is complex, but not as annoying as some critics would have you believe. I'd have preferred a touch-screen system, though.

The seat belt handover arms look a bit flimsy to me and sometimes get tangled in the belts. They also get a bit confused if you jump out of the car with the engine running (for instance, to post a letter) and try to pass the belt to a non-existent driver!

The adaptive Xenon headlamps are very effective, and the high beam assistant feature is quite surprisingly effective.

The DAB digital radio struggles to find a signal in rural areas, but that's not a fault of the car - simply a symptom of the current level of coverage.

The live traffic information, which updates the satnav route, is a bit erratic - again, probably because of the nature of the system itself rather than anything particularly Bavarian.

The styling is far more attractive than the E90 saloon, but I wish I'd opted for the 18" 5-spoke alloys as the standard-fit 17" 7 spokes look a bit weedy by comparison.

I chose the camel coloured nappa leather and walnut trim options, which lightens an otherwise sombre interior.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th May, 2007

5th Sep 2007, 15:11

Comment from the author of the original review - I've got the hang of the i-Drive system now, and although it will never be as easy to use as a touch-screen I don't think it's anything like as fiddly as Jeremy Clarkson would have us believe. DAB reception seems better than 6 months ago, too.

2007 BMW 3 Series 335D Twin turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Twin turbo diesel Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired7 miles
Most recent distance750 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz A-Class

Summary:

The best diesel turbo on the market

Faults:

Too early yet, but it is exceedingly well built.

General Comments:

This car is absolute heaven.

Fully loaded it is not cheap, but the performance and road holding are stunning.

Acceleration is top class 0-62mph in 6.1 seconds and the 6 speed auto changes seamlessly.

But its overriding advantage is its non lag twin turbo engine which on a recent 120 mile run over country roads with some very quick bits!!! Averaged 39.7 mpg. I was staggered by it.

Well done BMW: the rest of you have a long long way to go to equal this car let alone beat it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2007

9th Mar 2007, 16:24

I had a E90 56 plate 320d Sport for a short while and was impressed with drive/acceleration from the 2.0 diesel engine, considering it was fitted with the autobox. I'm a little surprised your twin turbocharged diesel beast returns near 40 mpg. I struggled to better 23.7 mpg, which was the only real downside.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 14 reviews