1982 BMW 5 Series 528e 2.7L from North America

Summary:

Fantastic ride, would buy another one

Faults:

Always was drawn to the lure of a BMW and finally bought this 528e.

Paid 1500.00 for it 2 years ago at 219K.

Soon realized I had a "big job" fixing it up due to the lack of maintenance by the previous owner:

- Shocks/Struts all around

- Idle control Valve

- Valve adjustment

- Fuel pressure regulator (car stalled at stop lights when hot)

- Fuel tank rotten, refurbished

- Timing belt, water pump, all front seals (were leaking) on the 2.7L

- Oxygen sensor

- Front brakes

- Worn out seats (a surprise as my Golf has 400K and the seats are like new)

- Broken shifter knob replaced (split)

- As a preventative measure I replaced ALL hoses, coolant and vacuum)

- Replaced park brake cables at 220K.

- Minor electrical problems (RR window, instrument cluster lights)

General Comments:

While this has basically been a restoration project, in my view it has never let me down. Too bad the previous owner let the car go.

In hindsight I would make sure I take a closer look at the care of the next BMW I purchase as this one was really headed for the wreckers. Saved now, but after $4500 CAD I have put into it, much more that it is worth. And I ordered 90% of the parts from the USA, as the dealer prices in Canada are outrageous.

I love the handling, most especially on long trips. This car is the most relaxing unit I have ever driven. 150KMH is as smooth as glass.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 22nd September, 2004

2nd Sep 2010, 00:53

I am looking at a rare 1983 525e with a 5 speed Manual. The current owner has resurrected it and has in my opinion lovingly restored it... it is go-or-jus! He is only selling it because he has 3 parking spots and with the addition of a new wife... 4 cars and he would rather keep his newer M3 and M5.

The car has been top to bottom, front to back inspected and where necessary repaired. I am however not overly mechanical and do not have the tools and space required to do any work on the car, with the car I would inherit the current mechanic, but I am still a bit apprehensive as I do need this to be a daily driver.

Anything I should be concerned about? Any problems arise after your overhaul?

1982 BMW 5 Series e 2.8 from North America

Summary:

The best car that I will ever own in my life

Faults:

When I bought this car, it needed front and rear shocks.

There was no more padding left on the seat, I was basically seating on the frame.

Left tail light went out.

I parked the car out on the street once thinking that the area was safe and the car got broken into. They stoled my original stereo and destroyed the center piece under dash where the air controls are destroying them as well as the interior lights.

General Comments:

This is the best car that I have ever owned.

It is very reliable.

It is fast and sometimes furious once you shift down to fourth gear and put the gas pedal to the metal.

Being a six cylinder, the gas mileage on this oldie is very impressive.

It is a very comfortable ride for an oldie.

After having the car broken into, I realized that parts are not that expensive and since I got my Beamer for $500 and in showroom condition inside-out I went ahead and bought whichever parts were necessary.

For me this is definitely the best car ever built in the world since is a low maintenance car and is hard as a rock.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2004

16th Jun 2004, 08:07

No padding left on the seat does not equal showroom condition!

8th Oct 2004, 01:56

It dose for a B.M.W, even with the seat backs hanging or fallen off!!!

9th Nov 2006, 13:53

Oh give me a break! My 533i is now 22 years old an has 185,000 miles on it. And the interior looks brand new - I'm not kidding! So enough with saying that every E28 has the seat backs falling off, and the seats are worn through to the padding - even if it is in mint shape.

6th Jan 2008, 07:49

I have a 1982 733i. The seats must be similar because although they still look nice, padding is lacking. (Not totally gone)

25th Oct 2008, 14:17

I am the original owner of a BMW 528e. This car was re-engined at 112,000 miles with a BMW rebuilt engine (the corrected some gasket problems in the rebuild). The car now has 297,700 miles, more or less and is still running well. I just had the steering linkage replaced, along with the front brake rotors and the rear shocks (which were Bilstein and guaranteed for life). The foam padding in the seats is deteriorating and there is a small amount of rust on it, but this has been the most reliable car I have ever owned. Its engineering is relatively simple but rugged and reliable. The door locks to get stiff in cold weather because the original lube is still in there.