1990 BMW 5 Series 535i 3.5 from North America


Nice car, but over rated by people


I have replaced the fuel tank, rear brakes, coil springs, lkm module, and various tune up items. Minor rust has been repaired on the bottom of fenders, aroung the fuel door and door sills. Just getting the bugs worked out for my wife to drive.

Interior (navy leather) showing a little chaffing, but in good shape.

General Comments:

The car handles well for a stock vehicle.

The power is nothing to go crazy over, but is OK.

The cabin fit is good. I am 6'4", 280lbs.

The original Arctic Blue paint is like new.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2006

26th Feb 2007, 05:38

An m30 engine mated to a slushbox does NOT automotive viagra make.

You'd be far more impressed with a 5 speed example.

6th Apr 2008, 21:06

I have a 1990 535i with 220,000+ miles on it. It has a 5 speed manual transmission and I love it! Parts can be a bit expensive, but so are all parts for other cars. I replaced the water pump, radiator and battery. The car had 189,000 on it when I bought it. Still looks good after all these years.

1990 BMW 5 Series 525i 2.5L M20 from North America


Great car to live with.


Replaced brakes and control arms at 60,000 miles.

Timing belt replaced at 72,000 miles (should have replaced at 50,000 just didn't get around to it, old belt looked great-no cracking and lots of tooth left). Replaced belts, hoses and water pump at this time just for peace of mind, not really worn out, but easy to do since the car was apart to change the timing belt. Also replaced the cam seal, rotor and distributer cap, again just for peace of mind, not leaking or broken.

Passenger side rear wheel bearing replaced at 83,000 miles.

Some dash lights burned out, replaced all.

New battery.

Brake light bulbs replaced.

General Comments:

Very solid car. Still tight and rattle free at 100,000 miles. Everything still works, electric windows etc. Some rust along door edges where the rubber strip fits over the bottom of the doors. The rest of the car is rust free.

Very comfortable, leather seats show no wear.

Ride and handling are excellent.

Could use more power, the old M20 is reliable, but...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th October, 2005

1990 BMW 5 Series 535i 3.4L from Iraq



General Comments:

BMW 535i is the most impressive car I have ever driven.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

13th Oct 2005, 10:24

I have bmw car 535i I love this car because this car give tp me all what I want I want to thank bmw company.

1990 BMW 5 Series 525i SE 2.5 from UK and Ireland


The Ultimate Cruising Machine


So far, virtually nothing.

Slight vibrations from the front end when driving at around 70mph- it stops around 80mph.

Can't seem to tune the radio to receive AM stations- can't find the aerial!

General Comments:

I've had the pleasure of owning this car for two weeks now, and it has lived up to its name as the "ultimate driving machine", and some say, the best BMW ever made.

The truth is that the handsome old E34 5-Series, especially in the form of the 525i, is still better than some manufacturer's current cars.

I was lucky enough to find a one-owner, low-mileage car and it shows. The car has been immaculately kept and the interior is absolutely spotless.

My car has the M20 "Small 6" engine, which is cambelt, rather than chain, driven.

It drives beautifully, both a very refined and smooth cruiser in and around town, and given some space, put your foot down and it really goes. The engine sounds great. A real pleasure to drive.

The 4-speed automatic transmission shifts effortlessly and has a manual, sports and economy mode, depending on the driver. Brakes very responsive and assuring. The handling is dynamic and entertaining, especially around bends, and the steering direct and precise.

It's a supremely comfortable car, especially for long distances, for both driver and passengers and the ride quality is great.

Quality, as you would expect, is really top-notch everywhere and the car is meticulously assembled, down to the last detail.

Despite being 15 years old, it really doesn't look anywhere near that age, and still has great road presence as well as kudos, and the styling has matured elegantly.

For a car of this size/age fuel economy is good.

A lot of quality car for GBP £1300!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th June, 2005

9th Jun 2005, 08:37

Welcome the the world of E34 ownership, they are amazing cars. The aerial for you car is built into the rear screen, two vertical elements.