2005 BMW 5 Series 530i 3 liter inline six from North America

Summary:

My second and final BMW

Faults:

- Since the lease began in January of 2005, I have had recurrent problems with various functions of the I-Drive, which activate randomly without need.

- The windshield suddenly cracked severely while I was driving the car, leaving a huge mark through the center comparable to the kind made by a very sharp knife. My dealer identified it as a stress fracture and covered the damage under warranty.

- The brakes squeal like a 1984 Toyota Tercel, which I find truly embarrassing of a car of this caliber.

General Comments:

- I leased this car with high expectations. Prior experiences with a 2002 BMW 525i were generally positive. I expected more from the 2004 generation, and was willing to overlook an undeniably less attractive exterior design for a car that I believed was groundbreaking in other respects.

- Perhaps I got a lemon, but my experiences with the 2005 530i have left a bitter taste in my mouth. Aside from the problems I've already mentioned, I'm rather disappointed with the output of the engine. 225 horsepower just isn't enough. The engine feels taxed on hilly, winding roads, where it really ought to be shining. Frankly, it doesn't feel much different from the 185 horsepower powerplant in the 525i I used to have, except the fact that the pedal feel is worse, and the I-Drive interferes with the overall driving experience. BMW improved somewhat with the 30 horsepower increase in 2006, and the 300 horsepower twin-turbo V6 for this year.

- Fortunately, the folks at the dealer have always been friendly and eager to help (or else I'd truly be upset).

- When my lease expires in a few months, I'll probably be considering American again for the first time in 18 years when I purchased a Ford Taurus. Perhaps a Cadillac DTS?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 10th May, 2007

11th May 2007, 16:02

Forgot to mention the tires-I've got the sports package on mine, and the "flat tire" signal in the I-Drive system seems to activate every other week. Either the tires are extremely sensitive to rough terrain, or they just suck miserably, because I've had at least five unjustifiable flats since I began my lease.

26th Jul 2007, 20:21

I have a 2005 535 and it has behaved flawlessly. Flat tire came on once and indeed the pressure was low.

24th Nov 2008, 09:18

Please re-check your comments before posting. BMW never has nor will in the near future produce a V6. I small error, true, but if you don't know what engine your BMW has, what's to say you're wrong on other information you've mentioned?

13th Aug 2009, 01:51

I am shocked and appalled about the windshield getting cracked from stress. This is not the kind of quality that I would expect from BMW. You got a bad one.

27th Nov 2009, 22:06

Well have a great time with that 2010 Ford Taurus SHO! It's got over 300 horsepower on a twin turbocharged V6. That thing must be a blast to drive. Maybe it will be more reliable than your last BMW.

10th May 2013, 08:35

He did not say his car was a V6... It was an incorrect reference to the newer higher spec model...

2005 BMW 5 Series 535d 3.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best diesel ever!!!

Faults:

Nothing, as you would expect from a 10 month old car!

General Comments:

Amazing, a diesel that is nearly as quick as the M5 (as proven on Top Gear), the power is unbelievable. It effortlessly cruises to 100mph in no time, perfect for motorway cruising.

It offers excellent comfort and the latest technology, as you'd expect with a BMW. It makes my old S4 look like a right wimp!

Finally, the i-drive system isn't as bad as many of recent reviews say; it's just a bit technical, and I suppose can be a little frustrating at times, but despite this, the car is absolutely PERFECT. I can't wait to see what BMW will have on offer in the near future.

So stick with BMW's lovely automatic, and the M Sport pack is definitely worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

15th May 2006, 01:38

Nope, this is a 3.0 diesel twin turbo engine.

18th May 2006, 16:30

It was a 540i not an M5. An M5 would wee on it from a great height. It is a good though!!

21st May 2006, 06:39

Question: I am in the tricky process of choosing a new car. I think I have decided on the 520d, but thinking about the M Sport spec (not M5) but I will be doing a lot of miles - about 30k PA. Is the M sport suitable for a high mileage driver?

14th Oct 2009, 02:10

Actually, I think Top Gear compared the 535D against the 545i.

I'd like a 535d, but I think I'd prefer the 335d.

25th Aug 2010, 13:19

Besides the fact that the 535d is VERY powerful, incredibly fast, comfortable and discrete, it only sips 7 litres/100km in the city, drops to 5-6 litres on the highway, and with a maximum consumption of 11 litres if you REALLY push it.

I do not know any other car with 286 hp and 580 Nm, which is so moderate on fuel...