2005 BMW 5 Series 535d 3.5 turbo diesel from UK and Ireland

Summary:

The best diesel ever!!!

Faults:

Nothing, as you would expect from a 10 month old car!

General Comments:

Amazing, a diesel that is nearly as quick as the M5 (as proven on Top Gear), the power is unbelievable. It effortlessly cruises to 100mph in no time, perfect for motorway cruising.

It offers excellent comfort and the latest technology, as you'd expect with a BMW. It makes my old S4 look like a right wimp!

Finally, the i-drive system isn't as bad as many of recent reviews say; it's just a bit technical, and I suppose can be a little frustrating at times, but despite this, the car is absolutely PERFECT. I can't wait to see what BMW will have on offer in the near future.

So stick with BMW's lovely automatic, and the M Sport pack is definitely worth the money.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2006

15th May 2006, 01:38

Nope, this is a 3.0 diesel twin turbo engine.

18th May 2006, 16:30

It was a 540i not an M5. An M5 would wee on it from a great height. It is a good though!!

21st May 2006, 06:39

Question: I am in the tricky process of choosing a new car. I think I have decided on the 520d, but thinking about the M Sport spec (not M5) but I will be doing a lot of miles - about 30k PA. Is the M sport suitable for a high mileage driver?

14th Oct 2009, 02:10

Actually, I think Top Gear compared the 535D against the 545i.

I'd like a 535d, but I think I'd prefer the 335d.

25th Aug 2010, 13:19

Besides the fact that the 535d is VERY powerful, incredibly fast, comfortable and discrete, it only sips 7 litres/100km in the city, drops to 5-6 litres on the highway, and with a maximum consumption of 11 litres if you REALLY push it.

I do not know any other car with 286 hp and 580 Nm, which is so moderate on fuel...

2005 BMW 5 Series 530i 3.0 litre inline six from Australia and New Zealand

Summary:

Sublime if you can ignore iDrive!

Faults:

With only 12000kms on the clock, nothing has had much of a chance to go wrong. This is also the reason why I haven't rated the dealer service - you really don't know what they're like until you have a problem!

IDrive is a pest to use. I'm still not used to it, especially the climate control. Very fiddly.

General Comments:

After driving fairly ordinary vehicles until recently, the BMW is a significant step up! I love the smoothness and power of the engine, but somehow I feel it could use a bit more torque - just doesn't pull as hard as I'd like low in the rev range. This is a minor quibble, though, as it is a delight once you get motoring - a brisk and effortless cruiser!

Transmission is almost flawless, manual shift easier to use than many of those paddle shifts in other cars, but I tend to leave it in Drive mostly. Doesn't slur changes like many autos (I'd still prefer a manual... if BMW sold them here)

Comfort is to the degree that I feel like this car was built around me, although I think the brushed alloy look trim pieces show up marks too easily. Gauges very clear, but switchgear can be confusing. Like I said before, iDrive is a waste of technology. Conventional stereo system controls would be a huge improvement. It's worth putting up with in a vehicle like this, but it's a blight on a near-perfect car. Stereo sounds fantastic with clear mids, strong bass and very clear radio reception even when you get out of town.

Handling is as you'd expect from a BMW. Cornering flat, confident and rsponsive. Benchmark stuff for a car this size I'd think (has the edge on the A6 and E Class Benz I test drove). Steering is accurate, but ever so slightly over-assisted for my preferences. Controversial styling looks infinitely better in the metal.

Buy a black one. Hopefully one day I'll have the cash to upgrade to M5.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th November, 2005

23rd Dec 2010, 20:43

Well I just got my 2006 530xi, and my second BMW, and idrive is not that bad an option; my second day, I wasn't even looking at the screen to do the setup I need, pretty simple and easy to use. Well if someone owns this type of car aged 55-75, then OK, it might be hard to use this kinda high tech stuff... just enjoy your ride.