1986 BMW 6 Series 635 CSI Alpina 3.5 petrol from Australia and New Zealand


The best car I have ever owned. And still own


Totally nothing. Always starts first time and never failed a WOF.

General Comments:

This car is now 29 years old. Always starts first time. Never fails a warrant. Uses a lot of petrol, but always a reliable old classic.

So comfortable to drive with the original Recaro leather seats.

Looks really sharp. Original Alpina wheels and accessories. Still not one stone chip on the paint.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th January, 2015

5th Jan 2015, 18:26

At the rate you drive the car (about 1300 km/year - I drive that distance routinely in a month), I'd be horrified if you failed the WOF, since there is nothing to wear out.

1986 BMW 6 Series CSi 3.5 litre petrol from Australia and New Zealand


Great to look at, but even better to drive


The vehicle was originally auto and made into a manual. Tail-shaft was a Frankenstein made from an auto - replaced with a proper manual shaft.

Driver's side seat has a broken hoop and will require fixing.

General Comments:

The car was bought in November 2012, and driven 9,900km to its new home and didn't miss a beat.

European air-conditioning handled the Australian heat well.

Fuel consumption averaged 9L/100km - ~ 30MPG.

Excellent handling, comfortable ride with some days covering 1,000km plus per day, and at the end of day, I had no back pain.

Unknown what the top speed is, except it's higher than 210kph.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2013

1986 BMW 6 Series 3.5 from North America




I purchased this car from a dealer with extended coverage to 75,000 miles and 4 years.

Oxy sensor replaced @ 30,000 miles. It stopped dead in rain storm.

Connection shorted out. Oxy with long harness connected at firewall, kept connection dry, problem fixed forever.

Trans @ 34,000 miles.

Steering box @ 63,000 miles.

Water pump @ 97,000 miles.

Starter @ 102,000 miles.

I fixed the rust on the corners after 20 and again at 25 years old.

I replaced the drivers seat after 21 years.

I will keep this car for an eternity.

General Comments:

It is the best motor car I ever owned. Fast, great handler, best looking BMW ever made.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th August, 2010

1986 BMW 6 Series 635 csi from UK and Ireland


Pure luxury and style. Just make sure you find a good one


The distributor and rotor arm has been replaced.

One of the tires blew out at 70mph.

Both front wings have been repaired/replaced.

General Comments:

The car is very solid feels very well built and is, in my opinion, the last BMW with shape. It's also very fast. I suppose it's relatively expensive to keep and run (especially when comparing to my previous car) but it gives me a lot of pleasure so them's the brakes.

Rust was a big problem, the two front wings are often weak points with these cars. I had them repaired/replaced at a great cost.

It uses metric tires which are insanely expensive.

The car is also deceptively long. It's as long as my friend's 4-door Jaguar. It sometimes feels unwieldy and cumbersome.

Apart from that, it looks gorgeous and it drives and handles beautifully.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2005

4th Sep 2014, 14:31

From the Colonies, a question. What the hell are front wings?

5th Sep 2014, 10:57

Wings in the UK (fenders in the US) are the panels either side of the bonnet (hood) that contain the wheel arches.

6th Sep 2014, 11:02

Wings = fenders. That's why in the old days, say the 1960s, a chrome mirror mounted on either side of the car thereabouts of above the front tyres, were known as "wing mirrors."