BMW M Coupe Reviews - Page 4 of 4

2002 BMW M Coupe 3.2 from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.2 Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired26 miles
Most recent distance2000 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

Awesome performance in a weird little package

Faults:

I have noticed a little bit of a rattle coming from the exhaust at about 3000 RPM.

General Comments:

This car is unbelievably quick. The new (2001/2002) 315 horsepower M engine has turned this car into something that even an experienced driver needs to learn to handle.

The one fault I have noticed is the placement of the side-view mirrors. Both should be moved forward so that they are viewed through the front wedge windows. This way the driver would not have to make a serious head turn in order to use them.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th April, 2002

7th May 2002, 09:23

That rattle is probably the exhaust note starting to emerge ;) I wouldn't worry about it unless it's a displeasing sound...

9th Jun 2002, 09:53

I own a 2002 M Coupe and am familiar with the metallic buzz around 3000 RPM to which you are referring. I have to agree with the individual that responded before me: it is just the change in the exhast note. Personally, I love it.

2000 BMW M Coupe 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance3600 miles
Previous carAlfa Romeo 3.0 GTV V6

Summary:

Lethal... seek professional instruction and then enjoy

Faults:

Very reliable... mechanically!

General Comments:

I just wanted to warn readers that if they were thinking of buying one of these rare cars, they should be very careful!!!

I've had several fast cars (including a M3 Evo Coupe), but the Z3 M Coupe is a beast to be treated with respect (despite what you may read in car mags about abundant grip from the huge rear tyres). While accelerating straightaway up an incline in damp conditions, this car could not cope with the awesome power and decided to leave the freeway. I walked away without a scratch... luckily!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 16th January, 2001

1st Jun 2001, 14:23

I'm afraid it's a case of a too inexperienced driver. The car can cope, the tyres can't... and the driver does not have the knowledge to control the car in the described conditions.

12th Oct 2001, 03:34

A BMW is not the suitable car for you! If you can't drive it, don't buy a M3. Buy a long boring and slow Mercedes just like my father who is 55 years old!!!

1998 BMW M Coupe 3.2 petrol from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.2 petrol Manual
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired12000 miles
Most recent distance14000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

A 911 in disguise

Faults:

Nothing.

General Comments:

Unique design. Excellent interior and build. 0-60 in 4.3 seconds :)

Excellent handling and comfort. Similar levels of grip to a 4WD car, eg Impreza. Need to be an expert driver to bring the best out of this car, it's not for the faint hearted.

Servicing is expensive, but then it is on par with 'Super' cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2000

12th Jul 2001, 15:26

MX5 to M Coupe?

Quite a culture shock I'd imagine!!!

26th Jul 2006, 02:34

Is there any problem with the car being seated pretty low on the road? Thanks.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 10 reviews