2004 BMW Mini Reviews

2004 BMW Mini Cooper from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carGMC Suburban

Faults:

My 2004 Mini Cooper needs a new transmission, and it only has 85000 miles on it!

My daughter primarily drives this car back and forth to school; she is very gentle, does not race it, but she is guilty of not keeping it clean.

Small things have been repaired over the years: keyless entry would not work on driver's side, door latch on passenger side was repaired, brake sensors, etc.

But a car needing a new $8000 transmission this soon is ridiculous! Warranty ran out at 5 months ago, so I don't know what we will do. Oh, and this particular transmission (CVT, or variable) is no longer used by BMW.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2008

2004 BMW Mini S 1.6 from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 1.6 Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carBMW Ford F-150

Summary:

Don't drive it unless you are ready to buy it!

Faults:

When I first purchased the car the passenger seat would not slide fwd or backwards and the passenger side door lock actuator was intermittent. I took it to the local mini dealership and they got me fixed right up that same day! I work in a service dept at a dealership and I must say, they are on top of it!

General Comments:

I like to go fast... That being said, this car does just that. I have had it up to 115MPH without even trying. it can hit 60pmh in 2nd gear!! This is completely stock by the way. Its not the fastest car in the world but with that kind of power in such a small car and with the way it handles... IT FUN!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2008

2004 BMW Mini from North America

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired5500 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carNissan Maxima

Summary:

Wonderful car for the right people

Faults:

Unable to open passenger door.

When in driving rain, there's a leak through the sun roof.

General Comments:

I love this car. It is unique looking, and as of now, there aren't thousands of them on the road.

She handles incredibly well on all roads, but loves passing and traveling on winding back roads.

The few problems I have had have been repaired for free while under warranty, and once when it was just out of warranty, the repair was free.

Since it is the only car I have, I need to be careful when I shop, and I don't get stuck being the driver too often. She holds two people comfortably, but fits 4 quite well, and as my sons are six feet tall, that is quite amazing.

Occasionally I have thought about updating my vehicle, but as yet cannot bear to part with my "Olga Matilda" Mini Cooper.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th August, 2007

2004 BMW Mini Cooper S Convertible 1.6 S from UK and Ireland

Model year2004
Year of manufacture2004
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.6 S Manual
Performance marks 0 / 10
Reliability marks 0 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired10000 miles
Most recent distance20000 miles
Previous carFord Escort

Summary:

Its cool looking car, but will go on a mini adventure of its own. Check that the handbrake

Faults:

My car was parked on a slight incline (NOT steep) with the handbrake fully on and it rolled into 2 cars about 10-30 minutess after I had left it.

Apparently the rear brakes heat up whilst driving, then you apply the handbrake, and as the brakes cool, the handbrake releases.

The manufacturers have received unlimited amounts of complaints, but deny this is a problem, even though they have been recalled in 2001 & 2003 - I think they are due another recall as so many people are still suffering from this fault!

General Comments:

Apart from the above, and the rattles, it's a cute little car with plenty of power.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2006

2nd Aug 2006, 13:01

Next time put it in gear as well. Rolling problem solved.

14th Aug 2006, 06:39

You shouldn't have to put a 2004 car in gear when you park. New cars should have working handbrakes!

18th Sep 2006, 07:29

I have BMW Mini Cooper purchased May 2006. On 19th July in that extreme heat, my car was parked for 50 minutes before gently running into another car. Have written evidence from police officer who dealt with the case, and the driver of the car I hit, that the brake looked fully pulled up. When I got in the car, I found the brake was on. I went to local dealer who has tried to bully me out of continuing the fight. BMW Customer Service said they had never heard of this problem! I have just found your site. Has anyone else had this problem this year?

8th Oct 2006, 02:03

This happened to me too. My cooper s rolled down a hill and smashed into 3 cars!

I got rid of that crappy 'mini' and bought a 205 GTi instead, a proper hatchback!

27th Oct 2006, 03:05

Published this Summer by the Professor of Mechanical Engineering at Leeds university confirmation that this happens regularly and why. So don't be fobbed off by your garage/dealer.

24th Jun 2008, 13:16

Some people that own a manual car don't realise that you should always leave it in first gear WITH THE HAND BRAKE ON too, I mean who leaves a manual car parked on a slope without leaving it in gear??

25th Jun 2008, 15:26

On a decent car there is no need to leave it in gear and put the handbrake. Rolling away is much more common on cars with rear discs as the discs cool down they shrink and the pressure from the pads is reduced so they can roll away, with drums the opposite happens as the drums shrink they clamp in on the pads and the brake becomes firmer.

Nevertheless if a car is designed right you should be able to leave it on a hill with just a handbrake. I feel perfectly safe doing so in my manual car.

1st Dec 2010, 15:10

Just get in the habit of putting it in gear every time you park, no matter what. And on a hill, turn the front wheels toward the curb. Don't believe me, read the Owners Manual.

26th Oct 2013, 02:27

You should always leave every car in gear when parked; it's not a statement put out there to disagree with. It's a fact.

Average review marks: 6.6 / 10, based on 8 reviews