1998 BMW Z3 Roadster Reviews

1998 BMW Z3 Roadster 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired49000 miles
Most recent distance54000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz CLK

Summary:

Future classic - so keep it in top condition

Faults:

Catalytic converter failed.

Hardtop leaked at the seals.

General Comments:

I love the "Classic sportscar" look. The power bulge - even if totally unnecessary - is cool.

Interior is a bit bland, but chrome bits liven it up.

Handles fine, although it wouldn't be great with a heap more power.

Great car - makes you feel a fantastic poser!

Feels fantastic driving it with the top down in the sun - or the shade

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th August, 2007

14th Mar 2010, 14:08

Sorry, not a future classic. Every time I see one of these cars on the road I feel sorry for the owner for buying the wrong car.

Reasoning:

- Not rare

- Not particularly great to look at

- Nothing special (bad handling etc)

15th Apr 2011, 20:39

Are you kidding? BMW it will be a classic for sure.

Is not rare... So? Neither Mustangs and are classic.

Not good to look at... So? Z3 are better looking than chargers, MGs, Alfas.

Not fast... So? Neither or the Mini Cooper, nor the Fiat 500 nor the Mustang 65. Oh, wait but it exist a SHELBY VERSION. Well the same is with the Z3. Not fast but there is a MZ3 VERSION... do you have any idea of the success that represents for BMW this car?

Dude it will be a classic, so just wait.

1998 BMW Z3 Roadster 1.9L from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 1.9L Manual
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carAcura CL

Summary:

I couldn't be happier with any other car

Faults:

Valve cover leak.

Leather cracks (lack of maintenance on my part).

General Comments:

Owned for over a year, and have seen few problems.

Beautiful red on tan top and tan leather interior.

Fun to drive, a head turner, reliable, and cheaper to fix than most 6 or 8 cylinder BMWs.

Really good braking distance (saved me enough times), a safe car to drive (air bags, thick metal bars on both bumpers), insurance is fair (not too expensive not too cheap).

Like any other BMW (unlike Toyotas), it requires some maintenance through the year.

Noise level is low with the top down or up, rear window visibility is low especially when raining, driver blind spot check is different from any other car - you actually need lean forward a bit and look through the driver window.

If you wanna keep it in tip top shape, you need another beater for the rain and the snow.

Overall I couldn't be happier with any other car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd July, 2006

1998 BMW Z3 Roadster 2.8i from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 2.8i Manual
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance45500 miles
Previous carBMW 3 Series

Summary:

A nice fast fun car

Faults:

Nothing yet.

General Comments:

Car has great acceleration and is a very smooth ride. Love the looks it knocks all others in its class for six in the looks dept.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2004

1998 BMW Z3 Roadster 1.9 from UK and Ireland

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 1.9 Manual
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired22000 miles
Most recent distance46000 miles
Previous carVauxhall Calibra

Summary:

Great Fun - beware minor niggles though

Faults:

Problems between 22000 and 40000 miles:

Power Hood failed

Drivers seat became loose on mountings.

ABS warning light comes on - usually when traveling at constant motorway speed. Stays lit for anything between 1 and 14 days then goes out again. Dealer can find no fault.

Problems in the last 5000 miles (wait for it)

Alarm failed - would not disable, had to drive around with siren going every five minutes and hazards flashing. Keys reprogrammed by dealer, fault reappeared three weeks later. New control unit required = £350.

CAT / Exhaust failed - should last for 12 years! Warrantied for 4 years, failed after 4.5 (typical!). Replacement cost £1349 from dealer (not had it fixed yet - not required until MOT!)

Fuel Gauge keeps flicking between full and empty when the tank is full.

Temperature gauge on trip computer keeps telling me it is -3.0 oC when it is at least 20 oC outside!

Bits of trim starting to fall off interior of car

General Comments:

Was thrilled to bits when I got the car, but the last year has been a let down with lots of niggly faults - and at less than 5 years old and 45000 miles it is not what I expect from a quality German car.

Love driving it, but it is not great for long motorway journeys. If you can afford it, make one your second car for summer days!

All the niggles are small - it has never failed to start or left me stranded, but I will not buy BMW again.

Currently looking to change it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 1st June, 2003

27th Mar 2004, 20:34

If your BMW Z3 has so many problems you should just sell it instead of putting more money into the car. BMW'S are fantastic cars and normally have limited problems. It just sounds to me that you bought a lemon.

17th Dec 2004, 04:03

OK I was planning to have a look at a Z3 on the weekend, '97 P reg with 20,000 miles on the clock, very low I thought, the car is going for £8750...

After reading the comments on the Z3 - I may choose to start looking at other cars.

18th Sep 2005, 12:36

I've owned a 2000 Z3 for 2yrs now (41000 miles) and haven't had a bit of problems. Sounds like yours might have been under water. Check its history...

13th Dec 2005, 11:29

I own a '97 Z3 2.8. This car also has some small "issues" But remember that you are spoiled with this car because it's so beautiful. If there is a so much as 1 little noise I'm immediately worried. But with our other car (VW) I don't have that problem because it's a boring car. So I could not care less.

Because a BMW is almost perfect you expect it to be TOTALLY perfect, which is off course nonsense..

No, it is not a highway car. And yes it's a bit more expensive then a Mazda MX5. But almost as much reliable and a lot better in performance and looks. If you don't care about that, don't buy it, and go for the Toyota starlet or some other boring faceless vehicle.

7th Jul 2008, 18:33

I have had my BMW 1998 Z3 for the past six months, and I have to say I love it. It has 65,0000 miles on the clock and still runs like a new car. If anyone is going to get a car, get a BMW. 23 miles per gallon freeway.

1st Aug 2008, 12:37

BMW is a safe bet!! Especially the Z series. When things go wrong, it's a rogue! Look at the alternatives!! They have there shortcomings. The sophistication of the bimmer marque cannot be emulated

28th Apr 2010, 11:32

I love my wee Z3. Had it for 3 years and not one bit of bother. Love love love it. It's a 2000 model, 65000 miles on clock, and still running fab.

Average review marks: 7.0 / 10, based on 10 reviews