1989 Buick Century Reviews - Page 2 of 6

1989 Buick Century Custom 2.5 4 tech from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 2.5 4 tech Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired151000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carCadillac Deville

Summary:

Very reliable and comfortable, "Old Blue" is a great car

Faults:

Nothing major went wrong with the car. With as many miles as it has on it I'm surprised. I find it that the motor mounts have gone bad and I can feel the engine shake a lot. I have replaced on under 20 dollars, but know another one has gone bad I don't know where the others ones are?

General Comments:

This car is very reliable.

Inside is very comfortable.

Good gas mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2007

5th May 2007, 17:58

I have a 1989 century and I find my motor mounts to be bad also.

13th Dec 2009, 17:19

Old blue is my name as well!

I'm trying to get it faster, but I'm not too sure what else I could do!

7th Mar 2011, 12:05

Yep,

Front mount rubber was shot to heck on mine when I bought it also. Seems to be the only bad thing with this car on most reviews I've seen on other sites also.

8th Mar 2011, 19:46

These cars offer great value. Sure, they are not fashionable and they look old, but they are reliable as heck, and more comfortable than modern cars. GM did a good job with these. My family has had a few over the years, all were good buys, cheap to maintain and running over 250k.

Why pay more for an import? These offer real reliability.

1989 Buick Century Custom 2.5 - Tech 4 cylinder. from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 2.5 - Tech 4 cylinder. Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired219000 miles
Most recent distance220100 miles
Previous carFord Bronco II

Summary:

Excellent car, totally reliable for the long haul

Faults:

It stalls after 8 or 10 miles on a hot day, but not on a cool night. It needs a fuel pump.

Rear windows won’t go up or down unless I open the drivers door and ‘play’ with the dome light spring button.

Left rear wheel grabs when putting on the brakes, needs new brakes and possible turning of disks and/or rotors.

One more thing, I think it's time to replace the front struts, they're clanking and banging a lot.

General Comments:

This is the most reliable vehicle that I have ever owned! Yes I know it's down now because of a fuel pump problem, but it has over 220,000 miles on it and I paid $500.00 for it about 6 weeks ago. The guy who had it before me took great care of it.

Every thing works on it, all the lights, cruise control, heater, air conditioning, etc. Usually when I buy an older car there's much more wrong with it than this.

I realize that I have a little maintenance to do on this car, but for very little money I know I will have a very dependable vehicle.

One more thing, I live way out in the country and miles of dirt and rocky roads. This car hardly ever bottoms out and I haven't had a flat tire with it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th May, 2005

23rd Aug 2008, 18:21

It's pretty insane how reliable the 4 tech is. I have one too, bought it with 151,000 for 800 and now has 190,000. I've only replaced the radiator and done regular maintenance. It's a great car.

1989 Buick Century Sedan 3.3 Liter V6 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.3 Liter V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired169653 miles
Most recent distance180547 miles

Summary:

For a old century, it's a fast little car

Faults:

The transmission is starting to slip a little at 175,000 miles. Nothing a little Lucas Transmission Fix won't help. My speedometer has gone a little crazy and won't tell me the right speed I am going at 173,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car has been a great car and hasn't had a lot of problems. The parts are really cheap and easy to find. This Buick is fast and gets great gas miles. I get around 26 miles to the gallon in this car. This is a great car and is really comfortable. I wouldn't want to get any other car, but this car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th April, 2005

1989 Buick Century Custom 2dr. 3.3L from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1990
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.3L Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired14 miles
Most recent distance158662 miles
Previous carBuick Somerset

Summary:

Absolutely phenomenal car, safe and reliable!!!

Faults:

Nothing unusual has gone wrong with this car. I have had to replace normal maintenance items, repair door bottoms due to rust, and main frame support bushings and plates also due to rust. I am replacing the headliner next week.

General Comments:

This car is phenomenal. We have owned it since it first arrived at the dealership, and purchased it in anticipation of a move from New England to Florida. A year later we moved back to New England. We have spent a lot of time and effort to keep it running at it's best, but remarkably, it has not cost a lot of money. We have taught three daughters to drive using the car, and even more remarkably it has survived relatively unscathed. The car has been in two rear end collisions, and one broad side, and yet only has about 4 square feet of bondo on the entire car. After the rear end accidents, you wouldn't even know it had been hit. All that needed to be done was replace the rear bumper and bumper struts. No body damage at all!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th May, 2004

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews