1989 Buick Century Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1989 Buick Century Custom 2.5 Tech 4 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 2.5 Tech 4 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired71000 miles
Most recent distance121800 miles
Previous carChevrolet Caprice

Summary:

A reliable and dependable car

Faults:

I replaced the brakes when I first bought the car. I had to replace the brake pads 20,000 miles later.

At 90,000 miles, the car began kicking violently on the highway. I replaced a fuel injector and the problem went away.

The torque converter was replaced at 100,000 miles. I replaced the engine mounts and tensioner at the same time.

I replaced the alternator last month.

General Comments:

Many consider the Buick Century to be a car geared toward seniors. I agree, however, it is small enough to be enjoyed by younger generations as well. My car has survived two major wrecks, yet it lives on. So far, I have been very happy with the reliability and dependability that this car offers, and I would highly recommend it to anyone!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th July, 2001

20th Jul 2001, 15:33

I own a 1990 Century V6 3.3L and it ran good. When I got it had 58,000 miles... now it has 92,000 miles and it just blew a head gasket... I do all the maintenance on it & I wash it about twice a week. I pamper that car and I've had to replace 3 alternators, a harmonic balancer, a fuel pump, and now like I said it blew a head gasket.. I don't want to get rid of it because I've put toooooo much money in it...

28th Sep 2001, 11:57

Buy a Plymouth Acclaim. It's a comparable car with better than average reliability and supposedly better than the Century. Oh, it's cheaper to fix too.

10th Sep 2009, 22:13

The guy that said get a Acclaim has to be talking about the V6 Century. From what I hear, the V6 is garbage, I own the 4 tech and it's more reliable than any car I've ever heard of. I bought mine with 151.000 miles, and now have 205.000 miles, and only replaced the stock radiator, dog bone mount, cooling fan motor, that is it besides regular maintenance. Putting it simple, I paid 800 for the car and spent less than 300 in repairs, and it's lasted 5 years!!! I guarantee it's the most reliable car within 50000 miles from me.

1989 Buick Century Custom 3.3 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.3 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired25 miles
Most recent distance223000 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

A great car... very reliable for 12 years

Faults:

I abused this car by towing without the towing package, and by not changing oil regularly. So understandably I needed transmission work at about 80K and a valve job at about 150K... I'm not complaining here, but rather I am trying to be complimentary.

Nothing else beyond normal wear and tear.

General Comments:

Have really enjoyed owning this car. Am the original owner. The car is still going, I drive it to work everyday.

Very comfortable ride and seats.

Lots of power.

Uses quite a bit of oil now with over 200,000 miles... this is not a complaint.

Great gas mileage on the highway... the overdrive gives as high as 33 mpg highway. Regularly got 30-31 highway.

I would not get the paint protection coating again (cost $995). I didn't have to wax the car for about 5 years, but the paint seemed to deteriorate under the coating, although it might also have been the type of grey paint with clear coat... the grey got all mottled. I don't know if the dealer coated my plastic bumper, but the bumper started to flake off a clear coating after about 7 years.

I was never extremely happy with the steering (front wheel drive). It seemed to understeer and then oversteer immediately after having to apply too much wheel in a turn. Not real bad though, just a relatively minor flaw. I felt like I constantly had to make minor steering corrections.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th May, 2001

28th Oct 2001, 11:31

I recently purchased a 1990 Century, and I find myself constantly making minor steering corrections, also.

1989 Buick Century Custom V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1989
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance255000 miles

Summary:

Outstanding car!!!

Faults:

NOTHING!!! Just regular servicing.

General Comments:

Excellent car! It has been on many trips and has never quit. It is comfortable and has more power than ever!

With 255,000 miles on it, however, it is starting to fail. It burnes oil, leaks antifreeze, and smokes. But it has been a wonderful car and worth every penny!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th August, 2000

7th Mar 2001, 17:53

It is by far in a distant mile from a basic Toyota or Honda, I have a '95 Century that has been across country twice and all I do is just maintain it and and yes I do get lazy, but I do take in for maintenance. It just goes and has 92,000 miles and feels like it did new, GREAT CAR!! Unlike those harsh Hondas, Camry or Fords and Dodge.

I realy love this car on endurance!!

21st Apr 2001, 18:04

Got to love it!, it is cheap, easy to maintain, with a big v6 for its size. It has 100k miles, but starts right up as it did 12 years ago! These cars are know to go 200k+ during its lifetime, as long as you maintain it on time, though the GM paint don't shine for long, I just got it painted and it looks good, highly reccomended for anyone who wants a reliable and affordable car! a++

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews