1989 Buick Century Reviews - Page 5 of 6

1989 Buick Century Custom 3.3L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.3L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

A great car for a good bargain

Faults:

Our Century was from Florida so the A.C. Compressor got a lot of use, it made an awful humming noise, it was later fixed with a new compressor.

General Comments:

The 3.3L V6 is very good at acceleration, but, is not the most smooth running engine.

The inside is comfy, but plush seats are definitly the way to go.

The Exterior has smooth lines unlike the 82-88 models, it is not too modern, but not too old looking.

The spoked wheel covers are the way to go, they can go through anything without any damage, they are also very beautiful with a classic-like effect, they go wonderful with the car.

In 1989 when the design changed they cut down on the amount of chrome they put on the car, which makes the car look more modern However. The "classy" look was the one for me.

The chrome lessened even more throughout the years.

Except for a few minor interior and exterior changes, they were pretty much the same from 89-96.

The car is easy to maintain and with 33 m.p.g. that is pretty impressive for the size of the car, all in all the Buick Century is wonderful, I love it and they are definitly worth buying.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st November, 2002

1989 Buick Century Custom 3.3L V.6. from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3L V.6. Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired56000 miles
Most recent distance83150 miles

Summary:

A really good deal for a great car

Faults:

I had to replace the fuel pump a little while ago.

Paint is fading badly.

Have had to replace the brakes a couple of times.

General Comments:

Overall it is really a great car. It runs good and drives nice. It is really underrated.

I just wish that it had more modifications that you could do to it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th September, 2002

1989 Buick Century Custom 3.3 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership1997
Engine and transmission 3.3 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired64444 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles

Summary:

Smooth and strong traveller

Faults:

Front brakes, needed new pads and turning the discs at 80000 miles.

Needed to replace a starter at 75000 miles.

General Comments:

I really liked the smooth, silent and comfortable ride of the Century, especially on highway it's like the wheels didn't touch the road! I drove all these miles (24000) in eight months, so I really spend some time on Interstates. You can easily make 600-800 miles a day with the Century and still feel relaxed.

The car was really reliable, no problems besides normal wear (brakes). Also the engine is surprisingly responsive and strong. That makes it fun and easy to drive. Also gas mileage is very good considering the power, 30-33 mpg on highway and some 25 in the city.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th July, 2002

8th Oct 2005, 04:01

Wow, all I wanted to say was that I totally agree with the review!! No libel or slander, just total agreement!! I own a 1989 Century Limited with a refurbished 3.3 litre engine with now about 40000 miles, and it is STRONG. I mean STRONG. And still pretty solid chassis-wise. For a GM car, anyway. (If a Honda EVER drove like this Buick, they would disown it!! Just kidding; it drives remarkably well.) KK from NC.

1989 Buick Century Limited 3.3 Litre V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.3 Litre V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired107000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carMazda B2600

Summary:

A dependable good riding car

Faults:

The only problems that I have with this car is in the winter. It starts really hard and stalls in the cold. The factory tape player stopped working.

General Comments:

The car is most definitely designed for older folks, but at 25 I found the car a joy to drive.

I have driven back and forth from New York to Florida travelling from home and school. It proves to be very comfortable and quite on the highway. The car has been a real warrior. It has been in two accidents, one being with a deer and one with a Jeep Cherokee. The only complaint that I have about the car is the location of the stereo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th June, 2002

1989 Buick Century Limited V6 3.3L MPFI from Mexico

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission V6 3.3L MPFI Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired133200 kilometres
Most recent distance138754 kilometres

Summary:

A granpa car that still out runs some newer cars

Faults:

Problem:

The transmission cover had a small crack and oil was leaking.

Solution:

A small soldering job. (about US$200).

Problem:

Leveling system wasn't working properly.

Solution:

Changed the sensor. (about US$50).

Problem:

The car started to "kick" when accelerating and shifting from first to second gear.

Solution:

Fuel Injectors needed to be replaced.

Problem:

I almost "sunk" the car on a storm (almost 50cm./19in. deep).

Not an actual issue of the car, it was entirely my lack of experience and foolishness.

Obviously, the engine didn't start anymore.

The air filter was soaking wet.

The battery was dead.

Water got mixed with oil inside the engine.

Solution:

Some electrical parts were changed, I don't know which ones, the air filter as well as the engine and transmission oil were changed.

The engine started as soon as the battery got replaced, even before the oil and the other parts were changed, fixed or replaced.

General Comments:

It has lots of power, specially to pass and step roads.

All the issues listed before aren't a big deal if you consider this is a 12 year-old car.

It may appeal your grandpa or grandma, but it can get you comfortably to your destination (and quite fast).

I've drive this car on a highway up to 180Kph/110mph, and it felt rock steady.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 1st October, 2001

21st Oct 2005, 16:38

This guy looks really satisfied with his car, although I think that the speed he states is not accurate, but anyway, this is a great car for a great value.

23rd Oct 2005, 03:43

To the poster of the first comment, no aggression intented: Do you refer to the 110mph claim, or the "rock steady" claim? Most GM's, even 89's, have a governor at 125mph (I assume that one had it), so the Century can indeed achieve that speed, if that's what you mean. As for the "rock steady" claim, my 92 Olds is very steady at 105mph (fastest I've had it), and could probably get to the governor with no problem or loss of stability.

11th Apr 2006, 09:05

Cars built in Mexico aren't required to have governors, but the thing could probably hoist itself to 115 if given enough room. Today the governors are based on the tires included on that model... usually 108mph for normal GM passenger cars, and 99mph for std trucks.

11th Apr 2006, 11:20

I don't think being built in Mexico (assuming you are talking about a car destined for America) has anything to do with governors as much as lawyers. As you point out, if the car can outrun its standard tires there will be lots of lawsuits floating around.

Average review marks: 8.7 / 10, based on 22 reviews