1990 Buick Century Limited 3.3L V6 from North America


Mid-Performance like no other


Mostly minor things, replaced spark plugs at 122,000 miles. Replace brakes do to wear, and various light bulbs.

General Comments:

This is a very well built car. I have had the car for two years and not one break down. The 3.3 is the best match for this car. I have raced many rice burners and have beat all, I even keep up with a buddies WS6 Trans Am.

The only down fall to this car is it will not turn at speed, because of the soft suspension. Keep this car in a strait line, and rice burners beware.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

1990 Buick Century Custom V6 from North America


Most recently there is a coolant leak in the internal manifold and the water pump leaks.

Because the car is so heavy, I have to replace the brakes at least every 3 years.

Other than that the car hauls a lot of gear and people.

The shocks are pretty worn out too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 4th June, 2003

1990 Buick Century Custom 3.3 from North America


High gas mileage, efficient, semi fast grandpa car


The Antenna wires have a short in them, so the antenna does not retract. That isn't a big issue to me though.

General Comments:

For a 1990 Buick, this things hauls serious butt. I have beaten many cars. and I have kept up with a V6 Camaro.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th February, 2003

1990 Buick Century Custom 3.0 V6 from North America


A very reliable mid-performance comfortable car


A/C evaporator.

Harmonic balancer on drive shaft pulley disintegrated at about 110000. $150 to fix.

Many alternators - at least 5. I always put them on myself since it is extremely easy and accessible, and had lifetime warranty on them from Autozone so no big deal.

A/C compressor pulley bearing started squeaking at 113,000 and it cost $175 to replace.

Electric fan replaced several times, but much like the alternators, I did this myself and used lifetime warranty parts.

Driver seat bolt loosened up and until I discovered it, was a nuisance (constant knocking and movement in the seat).

Until car is warmed up, transmission sometime does not go into overdrive in cold weather (50 deg F or less). But here in Florida, it is warm enough year round to not be a hassle.

Currently, squealing noise coming from engine compartment which varies with engine speed.

General Comments:

Very reliable car.

Even though it's tow capacity is 1000lbs, I have towed a 19' boat (total tow weight about 3000lbs) a total of approx. 50 miles, and pulled the boat out of the water about 10 times, all without any failure with the car, except an alternator during 1 tow (seemingly heat related - after that never ran AC while towing). Also have towed a Uhaul trailer (approx. 1000lbs) about 500 miles with no problems (not running AC).

Even at current mileage, car runs like a top- very smooth. I still rely on it to commute 50 miles + per day.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th October, 2002

25th Jan 2003, 12:17

I owned my 1990 Buick Century Limited since 1996. After almost 6 years and 70,000 miles, my buick is still going strong.

I have took long road trips over the years. I put over 5000 miles on a road trip from Atlanta to New Mexico and back. And I also drove it up and down east coast several times, average 2000 miles each trip. The car has been extremely reliable over the years. I only had one break down over the high way shortly after I purchased the car in 1996. It was the Alternator. And after that, I had to replace the alternator almost every two years. Yes, I am using the Life Time Warranty parts as well, but this is annoying. Since it is no guarantee when it will quit. It seems to be heat related, and now I moved to Canada, hopefully I will not have to replace the alternator again.

I do oil change and front brake pat replace myself. I am trying to get a hand on working on the paint. Since I drove it from Georgia to Toronto last year, the paint has took a hit in the cold weather. The paint peeled off at a spot on the rear center of the roof, about 4 by 6 inches. For the first time since I bought my buick, I had to replace the rear brake and had my rear drums rotated. So overall, it has been a real low maintenance car.

This winter in Canada is pretty cold, currently the daily temperature is around -15 C. Although my car does not have a block heater, it starts every morning without problem. However, I can notice the engine noticablly takes 3 or 5 seconds more to start. I have been driving it in some extreme heat in New Mexico desert and now I am driving my very same Buick in the dead cold Canadian winter. And I am convinced my car and its 3.3 sweet V6 will give me a smooth ride under any weather conditions.

Well, I love my car, although it is not as stylish as some new ones. But it does not hurt my wallet that much either. If you would like to contact me for any info, please email me at rwbao@yahoo.com.

1990 Buick Century Custom Sedan from North America


Highly reliable without a high price


The "service engine soon" light came on roughly six months after I bought the vehicle. The problem was related to the computer, but there was nothing wrong otherwise.

Approaching 70,000 miles, the alternator died and caused a pricey computer failure. In the end, it also required a new battery. Total cost of those repairs was somewhere around $500.

General Comments:

With four hour long commutes every weekend, I bought this car with reliability in mind, and have yet to be disappointed. I got my $6,000 worth and then some.

The gas mileage on this car is also a plus. I would average around 30 miles to the gallon on the highway, and roughly 25 through town.

When the car does break down, it seems to require some pricey repairs, and in my area it isn't always easy to find a Buick service department. However, these breakdowns are few and far between. I've only had one in the 30,000+ miles I've owned the vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th April, 2002

1990 Buick Century Custom 3.3 V6 from North America


A major pain in the butt


Lets see: radiator, water pump, brake master cylinder, major electrical problem that cost over 500$.

Driver's side seat worn badly, tires, way too much to mention. I put almost 3,000 dollars in this thing and I paid 3,500. What a joke!

General Comments:

This was my first car. I got it in the summer of 1997. I loved the ride and the interior of the car, but the thing nickle and dimed me to death. The would have been perfect if it would have been more reliable.

In June of 99 I sold it and got a 96 GMC Sonoma. I have written a review on that as well.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th July, 2001

28th Sep 2001, 11:54

My boyfriend has an '89 Oldsmobile Cutlass Ciera (same basic car) and he's got about 175k miles on his! It runs real rough though.