2000 Buick Century Reviews - Page 9 of 9

2000 Buick Century custom limited 3.1L six from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L six Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carGMC Sierra

Summary:

Lots of perks, nice looking, but those windows..

Faults:

Three of four windows had to be blocked shut, as the "regulator switch" failed. This is an expensive item, $300 per window, and can only be done by the dealer. Buick does not allow auto glass repair outlets to have the switch. This made me get rid of an otherwise very nice car.

General Comments:

Very nice car, except for the windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th June, 2003

21st Aug 2003, 23:34

I agree with the concern about the windows. My 2000 Century needed the window regulator replaced at 97,000 miles, plus a new switch. Cost was $725 just for the driver's side window repair. A rip-off.

18th Sep 2003, 21:49

I recently purchased a 2002 Custom Buick Century. When ever I use the electric window, I find them jerky and I notice the inside door panel moves toward the inside of the vehicle about 1/4 of an inch. Operation is slow and noisy.

Apart from the above, I think it is a great car.

Lex Blair

Saskatoon Sk E-mail blblair@shaw.ca.

8th Oct 2003, 19:10

7 August 2003

My 2000 Buick Century has 31,000 miles. The back seat is seldom used and the back windows are almost never lowered. However, both back windows failed within one week. The dealer has agreed to fix them for $100 deductible. I thought I was getting a good deal, but if it's a flaw in all 2000 Buick Centuries perhaps we should not be charged anything for its repair. Otherwise, I'm very happy with the car.

Lawrence.

2000 Buick Century 3.1L V-6 from North America

Year of manufacture2000
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.1L V-6 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.5 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance0 miles
Previous carChevrolet Camaro

Summary:

Old fart concept, but with more handling than comfort - weird, awful car

General Comments:

Maybe I'm biased because for the last 2 years I've driven a Fiero GT and a Camaro RS, but when I had to drive this rental car I hated it.

Way too quiet. Can't hear the engine, even when downshifting!

Handling is of course sub-par, but mainly due to the OEM tires that couldn't have cost more than $10 apiece.

Roll isn't bad, but altogether the car is way too cushy and isolated. The suspension wallows on flat smooth pavement, but doesn't really ride that well!

Braking is too light, locks up way too early.

Acceleration is very underwhelming. No downshifts unless you do it manually or hold your foot all the way to the floor.

Interior sucks. Very uncomfortable, even with the multi-adjustable seat. Controls too light.

Visibility is great, is like a truck. Better than any car I've ever driven. Huge mirrors all around for those 1/2-inch glasses the typical driver wears...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 9th August, 2001

28th Sep 2001, 11:44

It's a Buick, not a Camaro... duh!

30th Dec 2002, 06:43

Not any help at all. More opinionated than anything. Also many things said in article are not even true. Big exaggerator! Brakes lock up too early? All GM's come with ANTI LOCK BRAKES and they do NOT lock up! Do us all a favor and don't write anymore opinions unless you can be honest and tell FACTS!

Thanks!

Average review marks: 6.7 / 10, based on 29 reviews