2001 Buick Century Limited 4 door 3.6 from North America

Summary:

Great everyday driver - 70,000 miles plus

Faults:

O2 sensor problem, replaced upstream O2, reset, kept blowing - had to go to GM and get the same O2. Later down stream O2 had to be replaced..

After replacing - started having problems with low oil pressure light - shut off the engine and restart; the light goes out, replaced the oil pressure transmitter. Still have the same problem - installed an oil pressure gauge - 40#s on start and remains the same at idle, 55 pounds at 50 MPH.

This vehicle gets serviced every 3,000 miles, runs great, everyday driver...

General Comments:

Engine oil light comes on when starting, shut it off and restart, and the light goes off.. oil level is full.. Started having this problem after replacing O2 sensors...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th September, 2010

2001 Buick Century from North America

Summary:

Never again! Ford is making a better product than GM!

Faults:

I have encountered a failed intake manifold gasket at 51,000 miles. Nice, the warranty was up at 50,000 miles. $2100.00 later.

The front wheel bearings and tie rod bushings... replaced twice and going out again!

All windows have dropped, and are currently wedged in the up position.

Replaced the EGR for smog and it passed. Check engine light came back on shortly after. I ran the code reader and it was the EGR again.

My odometer illumination is slowly going dim. I am going to try the new resistors.

Great engine, but everything else is failing around it!

90 to 100 degree weather will kill this car fast!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 2nd August, 2010

4th Aug 2010, 04:19

In fairness all cars made since the mid-nineties are excessively complicated and relatively unreliable compared to what went before. GM is not really better or worse than anyone else in this regard.

2001 Buick Century Custom 3.1 Gas from North America

Summary:

Very good with the tire and suspension modifications I've made

Faults:

The right rear power window stopped working. I rarely use it, and only realized that it didn't work about a month ago.

The knob for the air conditioner broke today. The dealer has one for $21!

General Comments:

I got a great deal on this car. My brother-in-law's mother had it for 4 years with only 6800 miles on it, and they sold it to me below red book.

The suspension in this car can only be described as boat-like. So, within a year I put on new struts,(Monroe Sensi-Tracks) which changed the entire character of the car. It handles way differently now. Then I substituted Michelin Hydroedge tires size 215R65 x 15 in place of the 205R70 x 15 stock tires, which maintains approximately the same outside diameter, but increases the rubber on the road. Handling and wet road traction greatly improved.

In addition it get 28-29 mpg on the road.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 17th June, 2010

2001 Buick Century from North America

Summary:

Extremely reliable, and ready to go for the long haul

Faults:

Odometer stopped working around 300,000 miles.

Tires every 80,000 miles or so.

Brakes at 200,000 miles.

Tie rod ends at 320,000 miles.

Struts needed at 350,000 miles (car has been driven on dirt roads in tragic conditions for many of the miles).

Has a mystery problem that makes it speed up and slow down in its own. Started at 320,000 miles.

AC problems started at 320,000 miles.

General Comments:

I love this car and wish it would last forever.

The cabin and comfort of the ride is amazing, and it is still small enough on the exterior that my 16-year-old likes to drive it. It handles well, and has never broken down or failed me on the road.

The problems we've had have all started at over 300,000 miles, which is fair to expect from any vehicle.

The car does not use oil and has very minor surface rust. Since we live on a road that sometimes has gravel on it, this is to be expected from the chipping of the paint when rocks hit it.

The car has been driven like a truck in a very rural area, and handles well in the snow (as long as the tires are not bald). It has not been serviced regularly for the last 200,000 miles (but has been serviced some). Yet, the car drives on and on.

I am not afraid to drive this vehicle on longer drives of a couple hundred miles, and am sure it would get me farther, but am cautious just because of the number of miles on it.

If you aren't bothered by the small stuff (gas gauge and odometer) and want a vehicle that will last a long time, this is the one for you.

A car you don't have to do anything more than service for nearly 300,000 miles is always a winner. Too bad Buick stopped making Centurys.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st May, 2010

3rd May 2010, 02:51

Kind of amazing; 300,000 miles in 9 years.

3rd May 2010, 23:24

I know of a 2006 GMC Envoy with 200,000 miles on it. 200,000 in 4 years. Kind of amazing, but true.

4th May 2010, 05:01

I have 274000 on my company vehicle, a 2003 Durango. Cost 65 bucks a day in gas; that's more impressive than the mileage to me.

4th May 2010, 18:23

I'm not sure impressive is the word!

5th Nov 2011, 11:06

My 1999 Buick Century Limited has 280,000 miles on it, and I never need to add oil. Small things here and there (lights on dash, etc). I just keep driving it!! Best car ever!