2003 Buick Century from North America


I like the car, except for Buick no taking responsibility for the problem


Purchased car as Certified from a dealer in 2008 with 16,000 miles on it.

Only put about 5k miles a year on the car.

At 33K the intake gasket was leaking, took it to the dealer, was covered under warranty.

At 43K had the transmission flushed, at 44K miles had problem with engagement. The Transmission shop call it delayed engagement, and it's a common problem with the Buick Century; some type of solenoid wears out, and fluid bypasses the solenoid, causing the problem. Cost $1500 to repair.

The problem may have been there before the transmission flush, as I noticed when coming to a quick stop from high speed and then accelerating, there was a small amount of slippage, but with the new fluid being thinner than the old fluid, it made the problem worse.

General Comments:

Car rides very well and gets 33-34 mpg on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 13th October, 2008

31st Dec 2014, 03:46

* There was no need to get the transmission fluid flushed.

Whoever the mechanic/shop was who did that should have known better.

I've driven used cars for 27 years.

NEVER have I had the transmission on any vehicle "flushed'....

1st Jan 2015, 09:49

Nowadays they don't even have to drop the pan with modern flush equipment. You can see the color of the fluid going from black to pink. I suspect the individual was low on trans fluid prior. Many newer cars are hard to check. I have a few that even lack a transmission dipstick to read. My Corvette and SUV have to be checked level with the engine running, removing the trans plug under the car. Needless to say that can be dangerous. I have noticed that many auto centers do not check trans fluid at all on my daily drivers. They say it lacks a stick to read. That doesn't help you much. I also tow, and flush my trans fluid due to it being more severe duty. The only cars I had experience with slippage were not done. I have been driving since 1969.

2003 Buick Century 3.1L V6 from North America


Excellent reliable comfortable car


Service Engine Light keeps coming on; probably needs new fuel cap.

General Comments:

Bought used last year. Still had factory warranty on it at time of purchase. Car is extremely reliable and the fuel mileage is over 30 MPG on highway. The car is just a base model, but it is a very comfortable car that rides smooth and the engine is extremely quiet. I spend a lot of time on the road with this car, with normal servicing (oil changes, etc...) this car does not require much more than that. Major expenses/repairs to date: None.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2008

14th Aug 2008, 10:02

I have been driving a Century for 15 years, I do a lot of driving and trade in when I reach 150,000 miles. I always get another century because it is a reliable, comfortable, and economical car. I wish they were still being manufactured.

15th Aug 2008, 20:44

The LaCrosse is basically the same car with a different name. They should have just kept the Century name though.

2003 Buick Century Custom 3.1 Litre from North America


Great value


There is a periodic vibration from the front drive train. I have replaced wheels and brake rotors,as well as balancing the tires, but it is still persistent.

There is a small water leak around the trim in the rear window.

General Comments:

This car has been very reliable. I drive throughout New England and Canada on a regular basis for work, and the car has performed flawlessly.

The car gets over 30 miles per gallon on the highway. The best has been 34 miles per gallon. City driving has been respectable as well coming in at over 20 miles per gallon.

There is a nice balance of standard features for the money including cruise, power windows and locks, quiet ride, solid sound system and comfortable ride.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th August, 2004

2003 Buick Century Custom 3.1 V6 from North America


A good car at an excellent price


The only problem I have experienced is the fuel filler cap's seals allowed the pressure to escape triggering the Service Engine Soon light. The Dealer replaced the cap at no charge.

General Comments:

Front seats are very comfortable, but I do miss the old power recliners from the early 90's models. Rear seats I wish had more leg room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd June, 2004