2005 Buick LaCrosse from North America - Comments

10th Apr 2006, 21:31

Last time when I looked at JD Power ratings for initial and long term dependability Buick was ahead Toyota and Honda. I would always pick Buick over those makes.

23rd Apr 2006, 20:44

Buick's are really good vehicles. We had one that ran for 206,000 miles before we sold it. Now that is quality!

1st May 2006, 19:36

I owned a Buick Rendezvous 2002 and it was not well built at all. I purchased it based on Buick's reputation for quality--but that car was certainly not a quality built vehicle. It had numerous problems--from wheel bearing replacement (first year) to air conditioning failure (second year). to body control module failure (third year), fuel sensor replacement and pass through body connector and terminal replacement due to extensive corrosion (fourth year. I an now the owner of a Toyota Avalon Limited (2006) and enjoy the quality of this vehicle.

12th May 2006, 06:52

The above comment is further proof as to why people should stay away from Buick, and buy real high quality vehicles from Toyota. If everyone in this country bought a Toyota, America would be a better place.

12th May 2006, 15:31

The Buick Lucerne and Allure have scored higher in the J.D. Power Initial Vehicle Quality ratings than the Toyota Avalon. Toyota has had a dramatic increase in recalls in the last two years. Buicks are solid cars. I'm not trying to start a contest, just thought I'd share what I read.

13th May 2006, 11:20

The Economist, May 13th issue:

"Too many GM products are mediocre, dragged down by cheap plastic interiors... outside of the Midwest, the firm risks becoming irrelevant to most car buyers"

Now, what was that you were saying about how great Buick is?

23rd May 2006, 00:26

First of all.

"Too many GM products" does not mean "ALL".

Secondly, it appears some of these Buick bashers work for Toyota. Does Toyota now really feel that threatened by Buick?

My very first car was a Toyota Corolla. I got it very cheap because at 60k the engine died and had to be rebuilt, which I did. Is that Toyota Quality? I'm really not making this stuff up. As of this writing my Buick Lesabre has over 118000 trouble free miles, go figure.

Buick do make good cars, but you know what, why don't you just ask mechanics instead of believing strangers on the internet.

4th Jul 2006, 17:43

In response to the comment about the Rendezvous: Anyone who knows anything about cars will tell you that the Rendezvous was not a real Buick. It was a copy of the ill-fated Pontiac Aztek which was built on the antiquated platform for the Venture, Montana, and Silhouette minivans. Buick's specialty is cars; mini-vans and SUVs are not their forte. I own a '98 Regal that we have driven 150,000 miles from new and the first two problems just occurred at 146,000 miles. They were very minor and each only took a couple of hours to fix. The Regal is the most reliable car that we have ever owned, and it is very sporty. Buick is a great brand and I hope that they will learn to be less timid with these new models and make them sportier.

19th Jul 2006, 21:21

All one has to do is put something in print and people will swallow it.

10th Aug 2006, 08:14

The Buick minivan/SUV is made in Mexico.

As for Toyota, some are good and others are bad. And all cars break and must need care, so customers must do their part too.

Looking for a car and in my late 20's. May actually buy Buick since my mother has a Century and had a Regal. The Regal saved her life in an accident. Had it been a Corolla, big injuries for sure and probably more. The only Toyota I would get into is a Camry and I hate the feeling of the drive.

The drive of a Buick is nice and smooth, and the body is strong. And if one takes good care of it, it will last for years.

30th Aug 2006, 11:58

Excuse me. Better place? I'm sorry, does Toyota hire millions of American workers? No. Domestic cars fuel the economy, and you are obviously not the smartest cookie so I will not listen to you anyway.

By the way: When toyota says "made in USA" it means parts made in Japan by sweatshop workers and assembled over here. No quality there.

30th Aug 2006, 17:13

Toyota has 27,000 employees in the USA with 12 manufacturing plants some over 20 years old. I happen to think that Lexus (Toyota)...I currently own an Acura these are very fine automobiles. I may even buy a Buick again someday as I am open minded to a worldwide economy. Limiting your viewpoint to one manufacturer or country misses some great driving opp'ys.

1st Sep 2006, 23:50

I am sorry dude. The reason Toyota and Honda has had to recall and hold back product development for a few months is because they are building almost everything in the USA. Maybe a few things come from Japan, but not too much stuff. At most in many of these vehicles about 25%. Sorry to crash your buy American and melt the glaciers campaign.

3rd Sep 2006, 17:01

So what your saying is because the product is made in the USA, that's what makes it inferior?! What about the fact that European cars are CONSIDERABLY more unreliable than American made ones, i.e. Land Rover, VW? I don't know where you would get the idea that made in USA products are worse then Japanese ones (probably some kooky web sight), but I sure would like to know what your proof is. And "melt the glaciers campaign??!" Who did you hear that from, Al Gore?

4th Sep 2006, 14:41

Just in time manufacturing, lean production, flexible manufacturing and a work ethic where business is a way of life originated outside the U.S.A. In Japan "Kaizen" is a very organized philosophy of continuous improvement. Its not just the products... its the management and workers minimizing wasteful actions and focusing on quality throughout the mfr. processes. The "imports" made over here have definitely slipped in quality in my opinion. Not an economic or history class and I do like and currently own one domestic and one import. I buy at least one new vehicle a year many have been GM by the way.

10th Sep 2006, 19:57

"Just in time manufacturing, lean production, flexible manufacturing and a work ethic where business is a way of life originated outside the U.S.A."

Not true. Charles E. Sorensen of Ford Motor Company did so in 1910.

10th Sep 2006, 22:20

It is true that many Buick models score well in quality & reliability surveys, as do many Honda & Toyota products.

You can get a good or bad example of any vehicle.

Drive what you like, like what you drive, and respect the other persons right to do the same!

12th Sep 2006, 16:29

Unfortunately we are not in 1910... we are in 2006. The concepts with only one car model, one color etc. are not relevant today. You could say Eli Whitney as well, but that is not relevant to today and especially with the workforce since. I have experienced more defects since 2000 with domestic models vs my imports. Maybe GM increased drivetrain warranty on 2007 models will improve my brand loyalty stance.

12th Oct 2006, 18:50

<<<Unfortunately we are not in 1910... we are in 2006. The <<<concepts with only one car model, one color etc. are not <<<relevant today.

It's all relevant. The point he was trying to make was who was FIRST.