1984 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 Litre V6 from North America

Summary:

Great, comfortable, fast car that can fit lots of your friends

Faults:

Fuel Injector Chip died.

Brake Work.

Slow moving front power windows.

A/C Needs to be re-charged.

General Comments:

This is an EXCELLENT car. It has the classic body style, the comfort of a modern car, and the performance of a lower end muscle car. Very quiet engine, until you step on it, and then you can hear all the power that it has. This is a very fast, reliable car, although the gas mileage sucks unless you're all freeway, when I got 412 miles on a full tank.

Very comfortable, and built to last. FANTASTIC car. Other car makers should take notes on the '89 LeSabre.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2003

1984 Buick LeSabre Limited 307 from North America

Summary:

A great ride for big guys

Faults:

Drivers power window only goes down half way.

Rear main seal went out at 110,000.

Belts will not stop squealing no matter how tight or loose they are.

Interior lights fade from time to time.

General Comments:

I was impressed with the power this beast can put out.

It corners great.

Awesome gas mileage for such a big car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd April, 2002

12th Dec 2010, 15:04

Sounds like you need some basic maintenance. The windows work flawless in mine, as does everything but the radio, which I was replacing anyways :p.

1984 Buick LeSabre Limited 307 from North America

Summary:

It will be mine 'til it dies

Faults:

Transmission blew from too many neutral drops. My fault, but that thing went fast.

Got smashed up pretty good from a 10mph collision that hit just the right spot.

Drinks oil - 1 quart every fuel fill up.

Shocks are dead and I have no money.

General Comments:

This car is fun to drive, great handling for that big a car.

It could use a 454, but still has pretty good power with the stock 307.

Like riding a couch.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 2001

1984 Buick LeSabre Sedan Limited 5.0 L from North America

Summary:

A great, comfortable, well built car

Faults:

Driver's side window kept jumping off the track.

Did have some trouble with the carb.

For a car that sized, it could have used more trunk space.

The spare tire could have been put in a better place.

General Comments:

Averaged 25 miles per gallon on the highway which is excellent for that size car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th January, 2001

1984 Buick LeSabre Limited 231 V6 from North America

Summary:

If you can, rip out the wimpy V6!

Faults:

Power windows sometimes don't work.

A/C / heater controls are flaky sometimes.

Fuel pump.

Electric choke.

The little LeSabre passenger side dash thing only lit up one night back in 94??

General Comments:

Had the car since high school, and it's my baby. I have since pulled the wimpy 231 and swapped in a 300+ hp Chevy 350. This car was made to have a small block V8, and has responded very well to this upgrade.

Very comfortable and roomy inside (I am 6'1 220).

Nothing major has gone wrong with the car, just a lot of minor things (the car is almost 20 years old now!)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th November, 2000

1984 Buick LeSabre Custom Sedan 4.1 Liter V6 from North America

Summary:

Wimpy V6 + 2-ton car = TROUBLE

Faults:

Original engine failed (piston rings) at 140,000 miles.

Power window motor.

Radiator.

Heater/AC controls.

General Comments:

Buicks early V6's leave a lot to be desired. Even though it had a 4-bbl carburator, it was quite slow and sluggish. It finally clunked out 8 months after I bought it, probably being tired from being underpowered and having to lug around a nearly 2-ton car for 15 years. I replaced it with a 403 Olds V8, which came out of a wrecked '78 Tornado that sat in my grandpa's garage for 14 years. The engine had only 56,000 miles when I installed it, and with a few minor tweaks, I turned it into a 270 HP powerhouse. This motor has enough torque to pull a freight train!!

The car handles quite well, except in snow. Seems like there isn't enough weight or traction in the back.

The interior space seems small for a 18 foot long car. It's still much more comfortable than some new ones, and I can squeeze 6 medium to large adults in without too much of a fuss.

I love the styling, I wish we still made cars that look this good.

The stereo impressed me for such an old car. It blows away the one in my wife's '96 Accord.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 24th September, 2000

15th Feb 2001, 00:06

I prefer the older full size GM cars myself. They handle and ride a lot better then any new compact ever will.

I have an 84 Buick LeSabre, 86 Regal, and just bought an 83 Oldsmobile Delta 88.

You made a good choice in putting a V8 in, most people put that little V6 back in.

3rd Nov 2009, 10:26

Yes but you can just use the 307 or 350 (more reliable/durable than the 403) as well. Or even the 260 V8 is better than the Six.