1990 Buick LeSabre Reviews

1990 Buick LeSabre Custom Roadster 3.8 liter from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 3.8 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired185365 miles
Most recent distance193500 miles
Previous carChevrolet Astro

Summary:

GM did the right thing by producing this car

Faults:

I just recently replaced the sway bar bushings.

I plan on replacing the dash, and the rear tail light lens.

General Comments:

This car is an awesome car, the ride is smooth, it's got the power when you need it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2009

17th Mar 2009, 17:32

A kind of fake convertible 'top'.. like a landau roof in cloth, not vinyl.

Regardless of exterior cladding, there are few better used car values than a 1990 Lesabre.

1990 Buick LeSabre Presidental 6 cylinder from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Previous carChevrolet Lumina

Summary:

A mechanic's special dream!

Faults:

-not sure if the Presidential is the same as Limited.

I mainly have complaints or the cosmetics of the car. However, when I had mechanical problems with it, they were BIG problems.

First year I owned it- had to replace the exhaust system from the end of the catalytic converter to the tail pipe, but that can be attributed to age.

The cloth on the interior part of the roof was tacked up (by myself) with upholstery tacks for safety reasons (it was a distraction!). Found a corroded cable linking the battery to the alternator, which would cause the car to stall while driving. Also, the driver side window fell off it's track and the passenger side armrest fell off- the window controls where reattached to the door frame without the foam armrest.

Lately, perhaps of age, some days it just refuses to start or it backfires. The plastic part underneath the engine (named?) has split from the screws holding it on, drivers side armrest now falling off and driver side door cannot be locked any longer because it will stay locked- need to kick it open from inside.

I'm surprised I've had this bucket so long. It doesn't run good or look good and barely passes inspections. It's like an evil, ugly Pink Bunny- keeps going & going (usually).

General Comments:

A tank that won't quit-- if you're willing to pay for the upkeep! Not for someone that wants a "nice-looking" car, though.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th February, 2008

1990 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.4 / 10
Distance when acquired174000 kilometres
Most recent distance207000 kilometres

Summary:

2 words: Money Pit

Faults:

An endless money pit!

CV joint, some sort of modulator, starter, heater motor, driver's side seat belt buckle, passenger door lock, air conditing, stereo antenna motor, driver's side mirror stopped working, O2 sensor, the list goes on and on...

Buyer Beware.

Spend a few more bucks and save more in the long run...

General Comments:

Aside from the money spent, it has offered a comfortable ride.

It is reliable when it is not breaking down!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th January, 2006

30th Jan 2006, 11:33

You bought a 13 year old car, what did you expect!

1st Feb 2006, 03:14

It's old and has high mileage. Plus there's the possibility that it was neglected or abused before you got it. You can't expect an older vehicle to be 100% reliable all the time. I've had two of these and they've both been great.

1990 Buick LeSabre custom 3.8 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired89000 miles
Most recent distance100500 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

Generally a good car for the age and $

Faults:

Had to replace the alternator, and EMC when bought.

A/c blower fan control shorted out at 95K. Fan would not turn off.

Center armrest came detached from it base about 90K.

Harmonic Balancer gave out at 100,020.

Now the transmission is occasionally not going into 1st right away or is slipping out of it when slowing to a stop.

The weather striping had degraded above the top window as to let water/rain in. So the head liner has rotted out. Had to re caulk it myself with silicone.

General Comments:

I think most of the problems are just age and normal wear related.

The car seems to be in generally good shape for it's age.

It seems as if it were made well.

Of course we Americans do "full size" best.

It gets OK gas mileage on the freeway (20 +). But not too good city or when using a/c (14-)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 30th December, 2005

1990 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired189000 miles
Most recent distance257000 miles

Summary:

It is a great car

Faults:

I have had very little go wrong with this car.

What I had done is brakes front and rear and tires.

The crank pulley has gone out twice, the original went bad then the used one went bad.

The right ball joint was changed not to long ago.

General Comments:

Overall the car is great, the engine runs like it was new. It holds 50 pounds square inch of oils pressure, witch means that the main bearings and connecting rods have no play in them.

The interior is comfortable and nice to take on long trips. The dash does not have enough to it, I added a water, volt, and oil pressure gauges to it. Six people can fit comfortable. The seats look like they have very little wear on them.

The trunk is huge it is very nice then I can have my sub woofers in it and still put things in it.

With some modifications it handles like a Bonneville.

To correct a previous comment the Series 1 did not come out until 1992 the engine pre-1992 were not. The Series 1 has a improved intake and a little more horsepower.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 14th December, 2005

Average review marks: 7.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews