1992 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 6 of 7

1992 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8ltr gas from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8ltr gas Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired100050 kilometres
Most recent distance120000 kilometres
Previous carOldsmobile Delta 88

Summary:

I enjoyed this car immensely.

Faults:

My timing belt snapped at 265,000 kilometers.

Nothing else went wrong with this car.

The only repairs done were normal wear and tear items like brakes, exhaust and tires.

General Comments:

This car was a very smooth riding and powerful car.

The car was very comfortable and a pleasure to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th April, 2005

1992 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired161000 miles
Most recent distance163500 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Take it or Leave it

Faults:

Transmission has warped flex plate and sticky valves. Causes severe vibration when holding any steady speed.

Cruise won't work.

Heater fan won't blow when it is around 0 degrees Farenheit or below, which is common in ND.

It likes gas.

Bad on ice.

Hood fits weird and doesn't latch completely, causing it to bounce all over the place at highway speeds or in wind. The brackets are mis-mounted and there is nothing to fix it except a new hood.

General Comments:

I fell in love with my first Buick, a 1989 Lesabre. My current one (a 92) has every single option, leather, dual climate control, dynaride suspension, etc etc. Would be a great road car if I dared to take it onto the interstate. I'm selling it after putting on about 1500 miles, new tires, and new battery, after I was told the vibration at highway speeds is not the alignment, as I was originally under the impression, but a $2000 transmission problem.

But if you like the big car feel and all the creature comforts, it may be worth the problems, particularly the prevalent transmission probelms, if you have the will to deal with them on a consistent basis.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2004

2nd Aug 2004, 00:07

Steven, you bought this vehicle with 160,000 miles, if it stills runs it deserves a glowing review, I think you may be expecting to much for the amount of money you are willing to spend.

12th May 2005, 20:26

I don't agree, with only 160k's on the vehicle, the reliability should be much better.

1st Jul 2006, 00:48

You think that a vehicle "with only" 160,000 miles (260,000kms approx) should be more reliable? ROFL.

6th Jul 2006, 10:13

For an American car with 160k miles to have transmission problems is the norm. Heck, if the average American car can make it to 100k miles without transmission problems, you are blessed. But when you are used to a vehicle lasting 200k miles or more without a transmission problem, like I am, a transmission going out at 160k miles is just plain disappointing. It's still better than average for an American car though.

1992 Buick LeSabre Custom Gran Touring 3.8 TPI 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 TPI 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired208000 miles
Most recent distance238000 miles

Summary:

An amazingly reliable, sporty feeling, safe, comfortable, large American sedan with plenty of power

Faults:

One alternator replacement.

Changed front sway bar link ends - badly worn.

Replaced heater blower motor gasket - exhaust smell seeped into passenger compartment via porous gasket - not unusual for any high mileage car.

Replaced in-tank fuel filter, sender unit, pump. Car would stall or chug on hard turns if the fuel was low. Most of this maintenance was preventative, but they changed the design of the fuel strainer to rectify this problem. Repair worked great.

Changed all positive wires going from the battery terminal to the main fuse bus, from the battery terminal to the starter, and from the battery terminal to the alternator. Car would randomly die while driving. A rotten batter cable from the terminal to the main fuse bus was to blame. Not unusual for 238k miles.

Replaced front transmission mount. Broke as a result of hard driving style :)

General Comments:

This car has been in my family since the day it was purchased in 1991 as a 1992 model year car. This vehicle has been nothing, but a pleasure to own and drive, at 230,000 miles I intend to drive this car from New Jersey to Arizona in december of 2003 and back again in may of 2004. I have absolute confidence in the condition of the vehicle. All repairs are normal repairs for a high mileage car. The transmission is getting a little bit weak, and since I want to keep the car I will most likely replace it with a rebuilt unit this winter. If this car died tomorrow and I had the money to buy a brand new Buick, I would probably buy another 1992. The Gran Touring package makes this car handle like a European sports car, and it has plenty of power to boot. I can't say enough about my 1992 LeSabre I absolutely love this car and would buy another one in a second.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2003

13th Jul 2004, 19:42

Well, as a gift from my Aunt and Uncle.

I was given a 1992 Buick Le Sabre Limited (with the Gran Touring Suspension) And all I can say is WOW.o.k. so you think it an old-lady car. Wrong fast, sporty, clean, and oh yeah comfy. :-) My Buick has 17" chrome 5 star rims, new teal paint. (been rained on once) new every thing in the engine bay with only 111,573 oh yeah this thing will last forever now.

25th Feb 2006, 13:27

I love my '92 Le Sabre. And I think you just solved a problem for me. I have the same problem with low fuel and hard turns. The car feels like it's going to stall. So I've tried to keep the tank full. But now I can actually fix the problem. Thanks man!

2nd Oct 2006, 12:03

Ehh, don't give the car's handling characteristics too much credit. I have a '92 with the Gran Touring package, and it handles incredible... for a car its size. Oh and the low fuel/hesitation during cornering problem - It does that to me all the time too. This also happens just after heavy braking followed by at least half throttle, such as in a rolling stop. This is because the fuel sending unit is located at the back and top of the fuel tank, and the baffles in the tank delay the movement of the little fuel there to the back of the tank under acceleration or cornering. Try not to do it too often, because it can cause internal damage over a very long period of time (kind of like smoking cigarettes). But yes, I love this car! Severely underrated by society as a "granny hauler". I love it.

Average review marks: 7.8 / 10, based on 20 reviews