1997 Buick LeSabre Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1997 Buick LeSabre LX 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance200000 miles
Previous carToyota Avalon

Summary:

Very good

Faults:

Original transmission replaced at 198,000.

General Comments:

Comfortable ride. 25MPG at 75mph with air conditioning. Original engine still running.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 1st January, 2006

1997 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired41000 miles
Most recent distance87000 miles

Summary:

A good reliable car that gets good mileage for its size

Faults:

Developed a clunking noise in the front end when hitting certain bumps in the road.

Arm rest broke in the front seat.

General Comments:

This car has been very dependable, comfortable and reliable.

Other than general repairs like brake linings, batteries and tires, we have had to put no money into this car.

The paint has held up very well for having been outside in the Pa. freezing winters and the hot summer sun.

We like it so much that we have purchased a 2001 LeSabre Custom also.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th October, 2005

1997 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired17000 miles
Most recent distance154000 miles

Summary:

This is essentially a good vehicle, but the intake manifold issue is a major disappointment

Faults:

The transmission required work at 35000 miles due to valve body problems.

The transmission required major work at 52000 miles due to a failed input shaft bearing.

The intake manifold cracked at 85000 miles.

The starter failed immediately after the intake was replaced at 85000 miles.

General Comments:

This car offers excellent fuel economy for the size of the vehicle, and retains good power and pickup.

The seats have too much lumbar padding, and it is not adjustable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 6th June, 2005

5th Mar 2006, 03:59

The 3800 is not an OHC engine, so it tends to be heavier on torque than on horsepower. Torque kills transmissions, so the trannies have to be built extra beefy to withstand the punishment. When the 3800 evolved from Series I to Series II, both hp and torque jumped dramatically, but GM continued to use the same transmissions they used in the Series I cars. The problem is amplified further if your car uses the supercharged 3800. There should have been development of a stronger transmission and fwd parts at the same time that the Series II engine was being developed. You can't develop one without the other and think all that extra power won't wear out everything between the torque converter and the driven wheels that much sooner.

1997 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Most recent distance53500 miles

Summary:

Awesome

Faults:

The gas gauge does not work - sometimes it seems that it's a quarter turn off so that if it reads half full the tank is in fact empty, but other times it seems to have no pattern.

General Comments:

For such a large car, it gets great highway mileage.

It is roomy with incredibly comfortable seats.

Great for long trips, runs well and is overall very comfortable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th April, 2005

7th Feb 2008, 03:37

I have a 1997 buick le sabre limited and the gas gauge doesn't work on that either. And the rpm gauge bounces a little bit now and then, but other than that it's a good car.

1997 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired87600 miles
Most recent distance225000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

LeSabre's are decent, tough cars, but I haven't owned this one long enough to make a comment about i

Faults:

The odometer doesn't work about half the time and the speedometer doesn't work when the odometer quits.

General Comments:

Five of the six '97 LeSabre's I looked at when shopping had questionable odometer readings, meaning the odometers on those also weren't working, or had quit working at some point.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2005

1997 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission Don't Know
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles

Summary:

Great car till the engine was destroyed by a cheap plastic GM part

Faults:

My plastic intake manifold cracked.

I now have a destroyed engine.

General Comments:

If you have a GM car with a plastic intake manifold, you have a ticking time bomb.

Go to Google and type in GM plastic intake manifold and read the horror stories.

I'll never buy another GM vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 14th August, 2004

21st Oct 2005, 08:36

Why don't you get to know your car better. Gm knows about the problem and has a fix for it. So, why don't you take the time and learn about the car before you go dissing GM..

6th Dec 2005, 19:14

Any owner for any model car should understand the history before getting behind the wheel. I feel comfortable with the 3.8 and will definitely be saddened in 2008 when an unbelievable 47 years of this engines history will be closed forever. Find a Honda or Toyota that has as much heritage as Buick's fine V6.

1997 Buick LeSabre 3.8 3.8 6 cylinder from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 3.8 6 cylinder Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 kilometres
Most recent distance180000 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Bonneville

Summary:

A piece of crap G. M should be ashamed

Faults:

Had to replace intake manifold due to it being made of "plastic". Antifreeze leaking into engine because of this

Cost $800.00.

2 Months later the bearings in the crank seized, mechanic took engine apart only to realize how much corrosion damage was done to the engine from the antifreeze going through it. This cost me another $1200.00. I strongly agree with everyone else on here. G. M knows that the intake manifold was defective on there cars and there should have been a recall on them. Very disappointed in G.M. Previously owned a '88 Bonneville, best car I ever owned it also had the 3800 series motor in it and got over 280,000km and still running so I purposely looked for a G. M with the 3800 series motor in it when I bought this car, they definitely let the quality of their engines go down the tubes in recent years and they don't care about their customers at all. Just bought a 2001 Dodge Caravan hope I have better luck with that.

I will never buy a G. M product again.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st June, 2004

21st Jun 2004, 21:41

Dodge Caravan? Oh buddy... you are asking for even more problems. I am a mechanic at Dodge... I am glad I don't own one. Watch the tranny blow out within 50,000 km... they are no different than those Intrepids. Happy motoring... trade it while you can...

24th Jun 2004, 10:14

I'm sorry about your bad experience with your Buick. I agree with the majority of your comments. I recently purchased a 1997 Buick LeSabre with 76000 kms from a dealership. The car was mint and extremely well maintained. Like yourself, I also went looking for the 3800 engine having owned a Olds 88 prior to this Buick (In fact I have always been a GM loyalist). Like yourself I also had to replace the upper and lower manifolds due to the defective plastic seal ; I noticed my reserve coolant was low and took it in within two weeks when the problem was discovered. Fortunately I also purchased an extended warranty and the repairs were covered. I agree that GM should have done the decent corporate gesture by excepting responsibility by way of a recall. However, I am also extremely satisfied with the Buick on the whole. In terms of luxury, ride, performance and even gas mileage it's a great car. I also agree with the previous comment made regarding the Dodge - you have made a grave mistake. The Caravan (Neons etc) aside from mechanical issues are also the the easiest car to steal in the Universe - plastic ignitions. I'm a Police officer and I can tell you this is not based on some random view I've garnered through word of mouth ; its safe to say that 20 are stolen every day just within the confines of Toronto. Good Luck, but sometimes the old expressions "better the devil I know" and "don't throw the baby out with the bath water" do apply in the real world.

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews