1997 Buick LeSabre Reviews

1997 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission  

Faults:

We own a 1997 Buick LeSabre, and when the wife was pulling away from the intersection, heard a loud bang and then lost steering control. The four subframe mounts had rusted and the assembly engine etc. fell, disengaging the steering knuckle. Lucky for her, she wasn't on the highway or could have bee killed. Now the decision will be whether I fix it, as it only has 185,000 kms on it, and was excellently maintained. There should be a recall before someone isn't so lucky!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 25th January, 2011

1997 Buick LeSabre from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.5 / 10

Summary:

Plastic is crap, and GM should be ashamed of themselves

Faults:

Cracked intake manifold. The thing is made of plastic, and all that coolant got in my engine. There was no warning until it was too late. A few surges from the engine, then the engine light came on. Then it wouldn't start all in 24 hours.. I took it to get repaired, and it was a $1000.00 bucks. Worried about engine damage from all of the coolant in the engine. Poor work GM to make something important like that be plastic!

General Comments:

Great luxury car, great performance. But now with the cracked intake manifold, I am concerned about unseen engine damage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 25th October, 2010

25th Oct 2010, 14:48

GM is not the only one to use plastics for the intake manifold. I.e. Ford does too.

If they changed the oil, your engine should be fine.

25th Oct 2010, 18:46

You're probably okay. An aluminum oil shield is under the intake. It should have prevented any large pieces from getting into your engine, the tiny pieces that are the only ones that might have made it into the circulating oil are your only worry. Just change the oil and oil filter after 1000 miles (or see if they did that during the replacement of the intake), and that should remove any plastic debris from inside the engine. Also, remember that's a 14 year old engine, baby it and it should hold up a bit longer - so no drag racing!!

Shame on GM. WTF were they thinking using plastic for an intake manifold? What graduate from engineering school came up with THAT idea?

26th Oct 2010, 11:23

I am sure the engineer didn't come up with that. It was more the marketing people that wanted to save a few bucks on every car!

1997 Buick LeSabre 3.8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.0 / 10
Distance when acquired150000 miles
Most recent distance165000 miles

Summary:

Buick engines last forever, but their bodies need a makeover

Faults:

As I have learned from research, my 1997 Buick LeSabre was a great car, and got 20 mpg.

I normally let my teenager drive it, and fortunately on this day I drove it. Pulling away from a stop sign, I heard a loud bang, then my steering wheel was useless. Luckily I was on a back road with no traffic. The engine dropped. I looked underneath and saw that all 4 bushings had dropped right off the car. Had my kids been in the car and had an accident, I would have sued G.M. in a big way. I am a G.M. faithful, but with this being a proven danger to its customers over and over, they need to step up and fix it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th August, 2010

1997 Buick LeSabre Limited 3.8 from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2010
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired65000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Great car for an old person's ride

Faults:

Car started a clunking noise in the rear end when you would go over bumps. Had all the struts and bushings replaced; noise was still there.

So far no problems with the intake gasket blowing out yet, but I keep a eye on the coolant level.

Had to replace the gauge cluster in the dash at 80,000 due to no tachometer and erratic speedometer.

General Comments:

The car is roomy and comfortable, like a couch on wheels.

Fuel mileage for a car this size is great. 30+ mpg on highway driving all day long.

Excellent car for the size.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th August, 2010

1997 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year1997
Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance88000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

Great

Faults:

I bought the car in 2004 with 54,000 miles and it now has 88,000 miles and the transmission is gone and the rocker panels are so bad rusted my mechanic told me to not bother fixing it as the car is not worth it. The rocker panels are part of the frame, which when I bought the car they were a little rusted, but was told they are only superfitail and no need to fix. I could have gotten them fixed if I was told the truth for 600.00, now 2009 it is 1300 per side! And they don't make rocker panels for 1997s any more. I found out that rusted rocker panels are common in this car and I don't know why they are not recalled! However, the car is so great to drive I am looking for another Buick LeSabre! under 10,000 thousand in a 2000-2004...

General Comments:

Nice running car, but sad my transmission went at 88,000 miles!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th August, 2009

20th Aug 2009, 17:26

You are right, this is a very common issue on the '92-99 LeSabre and '91-96 Park Avenue, especially here in the Mid-West. But really, do you think GM is going to recall a rust issue on a 10+ year old car? If you get another Lesabre I would recommend a 2003-2005. The 2000-2002 have a lot of issues with the power windows that the newer models don't seem to be as prone to for some reason. Maybe they changed the window regulators used in the newer models??

Average review marks: 7.1 / 10, based on 18 reviews