2002 Buick LeSabre Reviews

2002 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10

Summary:

I wish they were still manufactured, only with good window motors

Faults:

Window motors keep breaking. I have replaced 4 motors, and now have 2 windows that are glued shut because I was tired of the cost involved in replacement.

Gas gauge malfunctions and is not reliable.

Muffler is bad at 147,000 miles.

Headliner is falling down in back.

General Comments:

Very comfortable and easy to drive. I love the steering wheel stereo controls.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th December, 2010

27th Dec 2010, 18:47

What's sad is GM knew the window motors were bad, starting with the 98 or 99 LeSabre. I had a 2000, and ended replacing all 4 motors at 500.00 bucks a window, and voiced my opinion to GM. They basically in so many words denied there was an issue. I get an family employee discount, and I'm still not sure I'd buy another GM product.

2002 Buick LeSabre Custom from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired15 miles
Most recent distance64000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Malibu

Summary:

Nice riding car, but the power windows are defective

Faults:

All 4 of the window regulators have torn up within the past 2 years.

General Comments:

It is a decent family car, but there is major problems with the power windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 15th September, 2010

2002 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 5 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired89500 miles
Most recent distance91000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Stay away from this model

Faults:

Battery went dead the second day I had the car.

Back turn light stopped working.

The car hesitates when I start it.

I have read that a lot of people have window problems with this car. Well, it's 100 percent true. Passenger side window stopped working today.

Overall, I am very disappointed with this car. It does get 29 mile gallon on the highway. That's about all I can say for it.

General Comments:

It drives OK.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 2nd October, 2009

2002 Buick LeSabre Limited from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance156000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

Nice, but seriously with the windows..

Faults:

This weekend my other rear window fell... this time behind the driver's side. I am so glad I found this site. I was beginning to think there was something about my use of the windows - I like to ride with them down more often than most people.

My husband and I have pulled off the door panels each time and wedge a piece of wood in there. So far this method is working and is much better than paying 600 dollars per window to the dealership to fix the issue.

From reading all the reviews, I think I am on borrowed time with the 2 front windows.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 27th August, 2008

2002 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired15000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Faults:

Left rear window regulator replaced 7/30/2008.

Parts $265.00, after labor bill is $411.00.

The day after the first repair, the other side window regulator failed.

Can't we sue Buick for not recalling these defective window regulators???

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2008

2002 Buick LeSabre from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired32 miles
Most recent distance6530 miles

Summary:

It is a headache

Faults:

As with most, I too have had all four window regulators fail. In each case I removed the regulator and found the weak design faults. My wife drives the car and uses it very lightly. The windows are also lightly used. There is no excuse for the way GM's customers have been treated in this matter. I am wondering if this is a matter for the district attorney in light of the fact that no other entity seems willing to take any action. We bought this car because we were well satisfied with previous Buicks. GM will not see me again. This is an excellent way to lose market share. Way to go GM.

General Comments:

There have been no other major problems with the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 11th June, 2008

2002 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 Series II from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Series II Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired19000 miles
Most recent distance56000 miles
Previous carChevrolet C1500

Summary:

Great car, but a little plain

Faults:

Haven't had any problems.

The cruise control switch broke at 32,000 miles fixed for $65.

General Comments:

This car is an excellent car for a medium size family. It is very roomy and comfortable, and can seat three in the back with no trouble.

Interior is comfortable, but the styling is plain. Wish it had buckets in the the front instead of a bench seat.

Rides very nice, but has a ton of body roll around even moderate corners.

The more I drive vehicles with the 3800 Series II and III engines, the more I like them. The engine moves the car with lots of zeal for a full size car, and even pushes you back in your seat. The transmission shifts very smooth, and in over drive keeps the engine running at about 1550 rpm at 60 mph. Best of all, we still get 26 to 32 on the highway while sitting in comfort. A four cylinder Camry won't do that.

This is an American car that shows the reliability that all should have.

The color of our car is a little bland, and I wish it was white or red instead of bronze, but I do really like the wheels. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th May, 2008

13th May 2008, 18:57

Some of the things you mention you don't like are hallmarks of the Buick line. I hope you can always get a smooth ride, bench seat, and column mounted shifter at least optionally on a Buick. With out those distinctions, they are mostly expensive Pontiacs. In my opinion omitting these things would kill an already struggling brand.

Average review marks: 7.3 / 10, based on 24 reviews