2002 Buick LeSabre Custom 3.8 from North America


Great combination of value, reliability and economy for the price


I had a coolant leak at the intake manifold. This was a free recall repair performed by the Buick dealer, and was handled quickly and smoothly.

General Comments:

For this type of vehicle, i.e. large sedan, the LeSabre is very hard to beat.

Handling is decent for a big car. Acceleration is peppy enough, especially at passing speeds. Fuel economy is exceptional for a big car. I routinely get 20MPG in stop and go driving and 30MPG on the highway.

With the exception of what, based on other comments I've seen on this vehicle, appears to be a major flaw in the design of the power window regulators, this car has been extremely reliable. I've never had to add any oil between 5,000 mile oil changes, and I have never had this car leave me sitting.

The interior is roomy and comfortable, with just the right amount of padding an support in the seats. The only real quibble I have in this area is with the cup holders. They would be much better described as can holders. They are too small and too close together. The trunk is cavernous, but the hinges swing down into the sides and restrict some of the space.

Not perfect, but about as good as it gets as a package.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th July, 2007

2002 Buick LeSabre 3.8, V6 from North America


A disappointing purchase


Fuel pump had to be replaced after 1 1/2 years of service at 16,000 miles.

Both front wheel bearings have presently worn out and need replacement at 39,700 miles.

General Comments:

Despite excellent preventive maintenance, this American made vehicle has disappointed me. No wonder why Detroit is losing market share to the foreign manufacturers.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 10th January, 2007

10th Jan 2007, 22:03

I don't believe this review. Buick is one of the world's best cars and has topped the J.D. Powers owner satisfaction ratings for years.

11th Jan 2007, 09:02

I believe it. Buick does make very reliable cars, but that doesn't mean they don't make a lemon once in a while. It's too bad, but unavoidable.

16th Jan 2007, 14:46

I am not talking about lemons, This has to do about certain parts. I own three vehicles 1996 Lexus, 2001 Toyota Highlander, and one 2002 Buick in Arizona. I have replaced two window regulators. First under warranty, second out of my pocket $445.00 and now another window has to be done. I won't buy another American made car. The big three wonders why they can't sell more vehicles. Until a bought the Lexus, (used) I always was proud to say I bought American.

9th Feb 2007, 07:10

I own a 2002 Le Saber Limited. Overall the car is very satisfactory, but I have had to replace 2 window regulators in the last 3 months (55 thousand miles). Although the car is out of warranty, my dealer fixed one at reduced cost and the other free. From reading other reviews, it seems Buick is having a real problem with window regulators in late model cars.

2002 Buick LeSabre 3.8L SFI 6 cylinder from North America


Good value in a luxury car


Heater / A/C gasket replaced at 54,000 (the car would not heat up).

I have replaced the passenger side window regulator, at a dealer cost of ~ $425, at 52,000 miles. My car now has 65,000 miles and the rear door window has the same problem.

I did find a web parts dealer on line that sells the regulators for ~ $99. If you are inclined to do it yourself, you could save a lot of money. Here is the link: www.1aauto.com

General Comments:

Great car, good mileage, comfortable, good power, drives smoothly, good stereo, very few problems.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th December, 2006

2002 Buick LeSabre Custom V6 3.8L from North America


Buy only if you have the money to repair frequently


I have owned this car for three months, but have only been able to drive it for about half of that time because it's been in the shop for the other month and a half. The problems I've had or am having with it are as follows:

-replaced the fuel regulator at ~52,000 miles.

-have mold in the air conditioning compressor which is causing a nasty smell every time I turn on the air/vent/heat. I've had that cleaned 3 times without much luck. Because of it's location under the hood, it's too hard to get to to manually clean, according to the mechanics.

-blown throttle body gasket at ~54,000.

-the transmission solenoids are going out, causing my car to act like complete transmission failure at very dangerous times (like the middle of intersections). However, the dealer is perplexed because the service engine light doesn't go on. Everyone else has figured out the problem except them. That will be a very expensive repair.

My previous car was a 1994 Buick Regal with 163,000 miles on it and I had no major repairs with it ever. I'm very disappointed that GM cut corners on reliability and customer service. I want to like this car, but don't get to drive it enough to try.

General Comments:

I love the ride of the car, but parking in the city is a nightmare. I can do it, but the people around me ding the heck out of it because we fill the space up. Therefore we park out all by ourselves.

Great leg room, even for my family of 6'0" -6'6".

Needs more independent lights for reading in the backseat. A necessity with little kids.

Absolutely no get up and go, but that may be due to my solenoid issues...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 9th November, 2006

5th Oct 2009, 18:55

Just re-built my 03 LeSabre transmission at 75,000 kilometers.

Lock-up solenoid valves jerked in & out & felt like an engine misfire.

Valves had worn into the inner case & wouldn't seal.