1991 Buick Park Avenue Reviews - Page 4 of 6

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Model year1991
Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.3 / 10
Distance when acquired115000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

Fantastic vehicle for professional persons

Faults:

I bought the car wrecked and had a local shop repair it. It was magnificent. No mechanical problems at all except the catalytic converter.

General Comments:

What a great car. It looks great. It drives comfortably. Great fuel economy for a large car. My three teenage kids can sit in the back comfortably! What a pleasure it is to drive it around town. It fits in every circumstance!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2006

7th Apr 2006, 20:31

For professional persons?

What utter nonsense!

3rd May 2006, 19:06

I agree that Buick Park Avenue's are for professional persons. I work for an investment banking firm and everyone else is driving high dollar Mercedes and BMW's, and I much prefer my 1993 Buick Park Avenue with 200,000 miles. It rides much smoother and is more reliable. Others can have their high priced foreign junk. I will take a Buick anyday.

4th May 2006, 08:39

If you showed up in a 1991 Buick with 200K around this area people would think you lost your job.

6th Jul 2006, 10:04

I sense a little arrogance. A mint 1991 Buick Park Avenue is welcome in my driveway any day over a BMW or Mercedes. My near mint condition 1987 Mercedes 300E is a piece of junk! Transmission, a power window, the stereo, and cruise control have all gone bad by 108k miles. Numerous electrical problems causing warning lights to illuminate for no reason and the seatbelt warning light to blink non-stop. Half the switches in the interior don't work anymore. The car stalls at random and has required an insanely high amount of maintenance. The seats are hard as a rock and feel like you are sitting on a spring-board. The car rides like it has no shocks. Besides being solidly built, handsome, and being in fantastic cosmetic shape, it was a total piece of junk. Especially compared to my 1991 Buick Park Avenue. The Mercedes was a joke and nothing more than a status symbol. My ego isn't so large...I can deal driving the classically handsome Park Avenue.

31st Jul 2007, 14:42

I bought my 1991 Buick Park Avenue with 75,000 miles on it 2 years ago. I'm the second owner. It was garage- kept by an elderly lady. She purchased the car in Sept. of 1990. Its still in perfect condition.

It now has 102,000 miles on it. The best car I ever owned! People are constantly commenting about it.

1991 Buick Park Avenue 6.0 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 6.0 Automatic
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.3 / 10
Distance when acquired600000 miles
Most recent distance900000 miles

Summary:

I think that there is just something wrong with this car

Faults:

First the key with the chip it came with broke, so I had to buy another from the dealership. Then the car seems like it wants to start, however it stutters.

The seats are worn and old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th May, 2005

6th Jul 2005, 18:58

Well, with 600000 miles on it, the car is probably tired. That could also be why the seats are worn out.

26th Dec 2007, 10:25

Yea you got 300,000 out of it and mine hasn't hit 105,000 yet and at almost a million miles any car would look and run bad. And what kind of 6.0 motor did you put in a Park Ave?

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 6 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.3 / 10
Distance when acquired91000 miles
Most recent distance126000 miles
Previous carNissan 2 X 4 Truck

Summary:

A safe comfortable car

Faults:

Had to replace the computer, had some rough idle issues, and general tune-up. There is a small coolant leak in the intake that I did not have replaced, as the mechanic deemed it insignifanct.

I had some random non-starting problems, which made me end up selling the car. It would randomly not start at all - but if you waited 15-20 minutes - it would then start right up. Could never troubleshoot the problem.

General Comments:

I bought this car as a winter beater, to be used for driving in the snow. It was fairly dependable, and very comfortable. It never had a problem with Michigan winters. The large size makes for a safe drive. The engine (175 hp) is slightly underpowered for a car of this size, but it has plenty of passing power from 3rd to 4th gear - where it seems to pull the hardest.

The handling is pretty poor, with plenty of body lean - but this car was designed as a highway cruiser.

Mileage in the city was around 16-19mpg, while on the highway, it could get about 28mpg. Quite respectable for such a large car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th April, 2005

26th Jun 2005, 20:58

Could your starting problem be due to the car not reading the chip on the key correctly? my '92 Deville does the same thing, and my dad's 97 lumina does it too. If you turn the key, it won't start, but it you take the key out and try it again, it will work.

7th Apr 2006, 21:14

My 91 Park Ave had a no crank problem and it turned out to be the starter. This can quickly be checked by going to the starter solenoid and looking for battery voltage. (approx 12 volts).

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews