1991 Buick Park Avenue V6 from North America

Summary:

Avoid this vehicle

Faults:

Both rear struts blew.

Rear tie rods broke.

Sensor in engine went.

Brake lines ruptured twice.

Master cylinder went.

Alternator went.

Battery had to be replaced.

Several sets of ball joints.

Hood latch replaced.

Trunk latch replaced.

Gas cap unlock no longer worked.

Rear passenger door wouldn't lock.

Power mirrors stopped working.

Cruise control gave out halfway into a trip.

Anti-lock brakes stopped working.

Can't remember the rest.

General Comments:

Worst car I ever owned. Great for long trips because of the extremely cushioned seats, but very unreliable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 22nd December, 2009

22nd Dec 2009, 14:16

Once again a car is bought with almost 200,000 on it, and one feels the need to complain about little annoying issues with it. This is an OLD car with many KM on it. They don't last forever. You cannot seriously fault the car for years of possible neglect by previous owners causing things to fail. Also many of the things you listed are normal wear items that would no doubt fail by now on any car you'll own.

To me it is an unfair review of a car to say it is bad and unreliable when you didn't own it for its first 190,000 km.

22nd Dec 2009, 17:52

Do you expect an eighteen year old car with nearly 200,000 miles to be flawless? Your opinion of this car is definitely in the minority. This model has one of the highest owner approval ratings on this site. I have owned two of the 2nd generation Park Avenues and loved each of them.

22nd Dec 2009, 22:54

You bought a car with 190000 kilometers. What did you expect?

22nd Dec 2009, 22:55

You bought a car with 190000 kilometers. What did you expect?

24th Dec 2009, 09:05

I also bought a 1998 Saturn SC2 with over 260,000 km on it, and only had to replace the battery in the time I owned it. I put that car past 300,000 km without a single issue.

24th Dec 2009, 10:32

Avoid this vehicle? You let me know where to find it?! Come on, how much did you pay for it? Let those Chinese come into the car market (they have already started by attacking Volvo, etc) and you will redefine reliability :(

2nd Feb 2010, 18:52

Just inherited my parents 91 Park Ave. I just drove it up from Florida (right into that snowstorm 1/30/10) It has about 63K, No rust, but it does need work after sitting 6 months. I'm replacing the struts/shocks, the tires were 12 years old, I think the HVAC relay went. No heat or defrost (great in that storm) a dash light is out. Replaced all the fluids & plan on spending at least $1200 to get everything in order. Once it's all fixed I feel I probably have several more (hopefully) trouble free years. The 2010 Taurus SHO stays in the garage, however.

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 Liter from North America

Summary:

Best car I've ever owned

Faults:

Absolutely nothing.

General Comments:

So, as of this writing, the 91 Park Av is going on 18 years old (since it was a 1990 model year).

I am hard pressed to think of any sedans from the 1990/1991 model years that have an aesthetic which remains fresh and sharp today - other than this one. Even almost two decades later, they still look great and contemporary, but most importantly, there's a reason you still SEE SO MANY of the 1991-1996 Buicks on the road today. They're just fantastic automobiles!

The GM 3800 3.8 was rated in Wards Top 10 Best Engines of the 20th Century for good reason. If you take care of them, they're absolutely bullet proof. The 3800 Series II as found on the later models is even a bit better, but let there be no doubt - the motor that drives your 1st Generation Park Av is as reliable as anything coming out of Germany or Japan. A well maintained 3800 can reliably be expected to get 200K or more, with plenty of examples going well into the 300 and even 400,000 range.

Gearhead stuff aside, these are about as smooth and comfortable a ride as you're going to find.

Anyone reading this today is someone who is looking for a lower priced, older model used car, which the 1991 Park Avenue now is. If you find one that has been carefully maintained with relatively low miles, you absolutely aren't going to find another car in this price range with this level of comfort, reliability and quality. For the couple grand a very well maintained 1991 Park Avenue brings, you're often getting a car that could have another decade left in it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th August, 2008

14th Aug 2008, 12:38

I love these as well - have a 1992. The nice thing about them is they didn't all have leather like newer luxury cars (I hate leather seats). But keep in mind the 3800 was bulletproof till about '94 or '95 when they came out with the Series II 3800 - very unreliable due to plastic intake manifold.

15th Aug 2008, 20:42

That is not necessarily true. My '99 Park Avenue with the Series II 3.8 never had an issue with the engine in the 3 years I owned it. I just traded it with over 140,000 for an '05 with 17,000. I think the '05 has the Series III. Even if it is Series II, I know it has the aluminum intake manifold which won't be a problem. These are great cars, given the 91-96 models generally ride softer, the 97-05 are far classier and better appointed.

16th Aug 2008, 12:48

Check out the reviews - 1991-1994 have stellar reviews, 1995+ are full of referrences to nightmarish problems due to the intake manifold. The former group is typified by 'best car I ever owned', the latter by 'I'll never buy another Buick/GM'.

Also by 'better appointed' I think you mean leather seats - I hate 'em. So much less comfortable than cloth. It is sad the way newer luxury cars are all leatherized due to social climber's face requirements.