1991 Buick Park Avenue Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1991 Buick Park Avenue Base 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired79000 miles
Most recent distance130000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

The most overlooked car in America

Faults:

The transmission began to act up at 90,000 miles and one of the transmission mounts broke.

The alternator went out about the same time.

The metal bracket molding at the bottom of the back window at the edge of the trunk lid always comes loose.

The 'change oil' light always comes on and stays on for several minutes when the car is started.

General Comments:

The most comfortable, reliable car I have ever owned. The original paint is flawless, the interior is immaculate - the cheapest car insurance I have ever paid - after years of owning Japanese cars which were stolen multiple times, or cost a fortune in repairs and insurance - the 'old lady's car' at $6000 was a remarkable find.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2002

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance180000 miles

Summary:

A highly recommended family-sized car

Faults:

Been through two water pumps over the life of the engine.

Lost camshaft sensor at 140,000 miles.

General Comments:

Very economical vehicle given its size (30+ miles per gallon).

Ride and handling still impressive despite the age and the miles on the odometer.

Plenty of cabin space as well as a roomy trunk.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th June, 2001

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance111000 miles
Previous carChrysler Cordoba

Summary:

The Park Avenue sports luxurious comfort and superior performance at an affordable price

Faults:

Anti-lock disc/drum brakes need frequent maintenance for smooth braking performance (cause: warped rotors/drums, average repair cost $250).

Air suspension system is slow to adjust the ride height. Rear of the vehicle sags for a time before a sensor activates the compressor (estimated repair cost $700).

Power door locks fail due to worn components (average repair cost $50).

Air conditioning system failed (estimated repair cost $250).

General Comments:

I enjoy the smooth, stylish ride of the Park Avenue. It flaunts plenty of power and control for a full-size sedan, while still offering great comfort, predictable performance, excellent fuel efficiency, and affordable operating costs.

I am a full-time commuting college student, and I am pleased with the reliability of the Park Avenue. It has never failed, and it has required only routine maintenance despite the high mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2001

1991 Buick Park Avenue Sedan 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired139000 miles
Most recent distance145000 miles
Previous carCadillac Seville STS

Summary:

Comfortable, economical, powerful luxury sedan

Faults:

Power antenna stopped working in the up position ($150.00 for a replacement).

General Comments:

This is my 3rd Park Avenue, after being on hiatus with a 1991 Seville STS. I love the gas mileage (32mpg hwy) on the Park. I am keeping/driving this one until I get a '97 and up body style Park Avenue.

For the money you cannot beat these cars. They are 10 times better than any Cadillac I have driven, and comparable to an early '90's Lexus LS400 in comfort, and value, etc. I paid $5000 for mine and it has it all... leather, moonroof, cell phone, memory seat, CD player, alloys, etc. The mileage on these cars don't scare me a bit, they can routinely go over 200,000 so I have at least 50,000 left.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st May, 2000

27th Oct 2001, 18:02

That 3.8 is an amazing engine!

27th Jan 2002, 10:29

One question:

Where is the fuse box in this car, because I have a 1991 Park Avenue and I don't know where is it.

Thanks. My e-mail is papo71@hotmail.com

1st Jul 2004, 06:58

Well here's my take on the 1991 Park Avenue.

Mine has been expensive to keep, but I wouldn't have it any other way. I've owned 35+ cars over the last 30+ years, and this is my favorite, or tied for first (my 1966 Catalina was a sweet heart)

Expensive: Shocks, brakes, Transmission flushes, water pump (twice) (once because the dealer screwed up), motor mounts 3 times, ball joints and a sub frame just last week… oh, the AC just went bad: (

202,000+ miles on it. Paint and chrome getting rough, but it's still "My Car!" I like not making payments EACH month. Yes I'm sort of making them each time it breaks down, but that's not each month, and when I do have to have to worked on, it's been $200.00 - $400.00.

I'm starting to look for another car, and I'm not sure which way I'll go. I just saw a very nice 1987 Mercedes for a great price:) But I just saw a 1994 Buick Roadmaster, which gets rave reviews???

5th Feb 2005, 02:28

I just recently purchased a 1991 Buick Park Avenue Ultra from a friend who owned it for one year. Prior to that it was owned by one other person from the day it was purchased off the show room floor. For the year I had seen my friend drive this car, I always wanted it or one like it.

Smooth riding (like being in your living room) and loaded with all the bells and whistles. This car has over 240K miles on it, but you'd never know. It starts up strong each time, and has yet to fail, aside from a flat - lol.

I agree with one other comment posted here. The Buick Park Avenue is better than the Cadillac Coupe deVille I owned years ago.

I know the car is getting up there in years and mileage, but here's to hitting 300K or more. I'll post again when I reach that odometer reading.

Thanks

Tony.

3rd Oct 2012, 20:58

Hi! The fuse box is under the dash, above the brake pedal. There is a cover on it that snaps off. Squeeze the two handles, and it will drop/swing forward so you can see the fuses! It's in a hard to see spot!!

1991 Buick Park Avenue 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
Engine and transmission 3.8
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10

Faults:

Rebuilt transmission, front struts at 106,500 miles.

General Comments:

Love this car. Will buy again if this one ever dies. I service it every 3,000 miles and it's been a great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th July, 1999

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 17 reviews