Buick Reatta Reviews

1990 Buick Reatta from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.8 / 10
Distance when acquired8000 miles
Most recent distance111112 miles
Previous carFord Taurus X

Summary:

Worth restoring for sure

Faults:

It needed a harmonic balancer. There was a TSB out on it, so Buick was aware of it.

General Comments:

Overall it is a well built car and handles great. The normal wear and tear items need replacing. It spent all these years in Michigan, so that was expected.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd April, 2010

1988 Buick Reatta from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.5 / 10
Distance when acquired67000 miles
Most recent distance67800 miles
Previous carBuick Reatta

Summary:

It still looks good and is a head turner

Faults:

Climate control problem 1988 Buick Reatta:

The touch screen or commonly called the control panel, CRT etc – the brains of the system seems to work fine except for the “climate control“ - the error shows A/C refrigerant error! (AC compressor disengaged to prevent damage)

I had the A/C/system filled, and the technician was able to get the compressor working by putting a jumper across the relay that turns on the compressor. He checked the relay and it was working fine too... However, the touch screen still shows an error with system and will not supply the voltage to turn on the compressor now that the system was recharged.??? Any comments are appreciated. You can send any comments to (ronsmail@menold.org)

General Comments:

I love this small sports luxury car, and it handles very nice under all conditions.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2009

1989 Buick Reatta 2 door coupe 3.8 from North America

Model year1989
Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance201000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz SL

Summary:

Dependable, great looking, easy to drive and see out of

Faults:

I put new water pump on myself - $35.

Converted Teves brakes to conventional power brake system, tune up, new hoses, thermostat and belt.

New power window motor, $25 off eBay.

General Comments:

Great smooth running car, really dependable, mechanical parts very reasonable.

I have great luck with it, no oil leaks, starts easily. Lots of compliments, the leather looks great, and I will keep this car for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st February, 2009

1988 Buick Reatta from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission Automatic
Distance when acquired86000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carBuick Skylark

Summary:

Great car, drives and handles excellent

Faults:

Digital dash display for speedometer, gas gauge, high beam indicator, directionals, etc. not working.

General Comments:

Love the car, runs great, would like to know where I can buy the speedometer cluster or where I can send it to be repaired.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th October, 2007

1988 Buick Reatta 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1988
Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired88000 miles
Most recent distance90800 miles
Previous carIsuzu Trooper

Summary:

I love my Reatta and will not get rid of it

Faults:

My transmission sensor died which "killed" the transmission until I replaced the sensor.

My cruise control sensor is shorting, but even without the sensor the car does run fine.

The windshield wiper stall selector is broken, but it hasn't caused me any grieve.

The car also has a random leak in it somewhere.

General Comments:

It's a fun little car that is in good shape.

I am going to get a custom paint job on is soon.

Handles like the heavy car it is, but it does move.

I am going to keep this car for as long as I possibly can.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st July, 2007

29th Nov 2010, 01:47

When I bought my '88 Reatta, the only discrepancy was that the hood and trunk lids were peeling. I got a complete custom paint job in a friend's shop ($1,950) of the same color, red, and it looks like new again!

I got the provenance, as well, and its history shows a chronic transmission leak. Do you know anything about that?

It is the perfect American sports car, as far as I'm concerned.

1988 Buick Reatta Coupe 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1988
First year of ownership1991
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired37000 miles
Most recent distance134000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Toronado

Faults:

The info screen in the dash had to be replaced. Approx cost $400.00.

Recent brake work with power assist. Aprox cost $500.00.

General Comments:

Very comfortable to drive.

Drives like a heavy car.

Old man's sports car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2003

15th Feb 2006, 00:01

My 1988 Buick Reatta, is my first car. It's reliable and very comfortable. The car is sporty, yet luxurious too. A Reatta is a great car to own. They are pretty abnormal and rare.

5th Aug 2006, 01:21

I know the person above as he is a good friend of mine, I have ridden in the reatta on several occasions. It would be a good car if the interior wasn't falling apart and if the touch screen would stop posting error messages.

1991 Buick Reatta Convertible 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1991
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired37890 kilometres
Most recent distance38010 kilometres
Previous carDodge Intrepid

Summary:

Buick's hand-built convertible is a sweet car

Faults:

Nothing has really gone wrong with it at all, when I bought it the passenger side flip-up headlight would not stay up because of a worn out clip, but it was quickly fixed when I got the new part from GM. I also changed the serpentine belt simply because it was old. This took ten minutes and a little muscle. Other wise the car is in pristine condition and nothing has gone wrong.

General Comments:

The Reatta is a fantastic and rare car. Mine is the rarest and most desirable of them all. It's a 1991 convertible, blue on blue leather with white top. I bought it off my boss who kept it in Florida its whole life as a condo car. It was rarely driven except by me and his wife and sat in a heated garage the rest of the time. This car is a real collectible and possibly one of the nicest ones out there. It has very low mileage 38000 km or less than 20000 miles for you Americans. Great car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th June, 2003

15th Nov 2004, 21:57

Prakash Toronto, Canada.

8th Feb 2005, 11:18

Just a clarification, a manual? I thought all were autos. I believe that I only know of 3 manuals, and they were custom jobs.

5th Apr 2005, 16:20

GO TO reatta.net and/or Buick Club of America > Reatta Discussion.

29th Sep 2007, 16:04

I have a question for Buick Reatta owners. I own a 1990 Reatta. I took it in to a Buick Dealer to check the power brakes. I was told that it had a rare brake system. After all was said and done they told me it would take $2600.00 to fix it. Has anybody out there had a similar problem and what did you do? Please let me know. My email is rjl508@aol.com. Thanks, ROB.

1989 Buick Reatta Sports Coupe from North America

Year of manufacture1989
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired45 miles
Most recent distance178348 miles
Previous carGMC Typhoon

Summary:

Buick's version of a Corvette

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong with this car!!!

General Comments:

The make was not listed so I will enlighten you all about what it was. It was a 1989 Buick Reatta. What I liked about the car most was the Delco developed Electronic Control Center. It was a mini computer screen in the middle of the dash and everything you wanted you just touch the screen and it would happen.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th January, 2002

11th Jun 2003, 23:03

I also have an 89 Reatta, and agree with what you say in your review. I bought mine with about 104,000 miles on it and have not had to do a thing to it except new brakes yesterday. It now has 118,00 miles on it. It runs just great. I plan a trip back to Pennsylvania next month. Great riding auto.

Average review marks: 8.3 / 10, based on 8 reviews