1993 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 5

1993 Buick Regal GS 3.8 Liter 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1993
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1997
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Liter 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.2 / 10
Distance when acquired110000 miles
Most recent distance170000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 442

Summary:

Reliable, good performer, and luxurious

Faults:

All of the Ignition coils went bad between 150,000-165,000 miles

Cracks in the Leather Interior.

Anti-Lock Brake Light flashes on.

The Heater Core was replaced.

Blower motor was replaced multiple times due to cracked fan.

General Comments:

It is a very fast and powerful car.

The Buick is a very reliable car, it gets you where you need to go.

For a luxury sedan of its age, it is still fairly good looking inside and out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th March, 2005

1993 Buick Regal GS 3.8 V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired47000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carCadillac Cimarron

Summary:

Constant reliablility from a GM product

Faults:

Car has had major brake problems, which is consistent with the GM W body cars.

Replaced antenna under warranty.

Steering Pump was recently replaced.

Leather on drivers side and armrest is cracking.

Paint has faded on the c-pillars.

General Comments:

Love this car. If you can get over the comments that you drive a Buick, you will be fine.

Gets great gas mileage on the highway, especially when using premium fuel.

Acceleration is still good for a car 11 years old.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th March, 2004

1993 Buick Regal 4 Dr Custom 3.1L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.1L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 miles
Most recent distance129000 miles
Previous carDodge Diplomat

Summary:

Reliable power and comfort

Faults:

The oil pan was struck by a road object and seperated. Had to buy a rebuilt engine when the engine froze right after that happened.

Have had rotors replaced twice since I've owned the car.

The radio stopped working. Bought an aftermarket kit to install a newer radio.

General Comments:

The car has smooth acceleration.

I love the seats - others have commented they didn't think my car would be as comfortable as it was when they sat down.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th July, 2003

1993 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 TPI from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 TPI Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired130000 miles
Most recent distance135000 miles
Previous carFord Mustang

Summary:

A sports car for the elderly

Faults:

Air conditioning doesn't work.

ABS light is always on.

Bad Oil sensor.

Slight Rust.

General Comments:

Very Quick car.

The most comfy car I have ever drove.

Car is 10 years old and still drives like new.

Car is reliable.

Now that I own a regal, I think these are my favorite cars.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 15th June, 2003

1993 Buick Regal 4 dr. Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1993
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 2 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.6 / 10
Distance when acquired50 miles
Most recent distance120000 miles
Previous carBuick Electra 225

Summary:

This car is the best vehicle in the world

Faults:

A/C Condenser leaked after 6 years.

Brake pads replaced 3 times

Parking brake cables replaced after 9 years. rear struts replaced at 100K.

Light bulbs blown out in heater controls.

Battery quit after 9 years.

Anti lock brakes malfunction on occasion: I found that rocking the fuse in the box under the hood fixes the problem.

The crankshaft sensor went around 87K.

General Comments:

It is so quick off the line that no one can believe it. It cruises effortlessly at 75 to 80 mph and still clocks 28 mpg at 75 with the a/c on and the extra wide 65 series tires.

Comfortable car for long trips and real time factory hot rod around town. With full analog gages, in a unique dash set-up, it's a beauty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th February, 2003

15th Jul 2004, 07:31

I recently purchased the same car. I was wondering what you did to fix the lighting problem in the heater control box.

1993 Buick Regal Custom 3.8L from North America

Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8L Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired60000 miles
Most recent distance245000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Best investment I have ever made

Faults:

Rotors wear out every 40,000 miles or so due to a manufacturing defect.

Air conditioning leaks.

Rear fiberglass spring and struts needed to be replaced around 150,000 miles.

Alternator replaced around 120,000 miles.

Factory stereo sounds awesome, but kept breaking. Needed to put in an aftermarket system.

General Comments:

This car still performs like it did 200,000 miles ago, and ready to go another 100,000.

Really fast car with awesome acceleration.

Never had any engine or transmission problems, only the suspension has gone bad.

The car handles very well on snow and ice.

Only complaint is the defective A/C.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2003

13th Sep 2004, 23:12

I had this same problem. I took it to a local repair shop and they cleaned all the leaves, etc. out of the drain and it fixed the problem. The debris gets in under the wiper blades on the outside of the window. They said it should really be cleaned every year... which mine had never been cleaned.

8th Sep 2007, 17:54

I have a 1993 Buick Gran Sport Coupe with 120000km. The CD player is broken, but it is separate from radio up higher on dash which makes aftermarket replacement trick? I would use the existing 6 speaker sound system. What should I do?

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 18 reviews