1994 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1994 Buick Regal custom 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired190000 miles
Most recent distance212000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Good first car

Faults:

The only problem I have ever had with the Buick is the front calipers rusting.

General Comments:

My grandparents had this Buick regal when bought brand new in 94'. Its been a very comfortable car to drive, good power and excellence mpg for such a reasonable price.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th July, 2008

1994 Buick Regal 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1993
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Distance when acquired187000 miles
Most recent distance198000 miles
Previous carToyota Hi-lux

Summary:

Very reliable!

Faults:

Wiper motor went bad, but I found out that it was replaced with a bad unit.

Also the passenger door power window motor went bad.

I do hate the old people's look, and the dash is extremely ugly (although the instrumentation is full)

General Comments:

A great car. Very reliable even at 200000 miles. Also, it's a very comfortable car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st March, 2008

1994 Buick Regal 3.8L V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired75000 miles
Most recent distance125000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Achieva

Summary:

Built to last

Faults:

Broken radiator hose, turn signal flasher.

General Comments:

Other than routine maintenance (1 brake job, replaced rear struts once) the only thing I've had to take this car in for a repair on was a broken radiator hose, which costs hardly anything to fix. The turn signal flasher I replaced myself.

The 3.8 V6 returns great fuel economy. I get 30mpg highway and average 25mpg in mixed driving, which is great for a V6 and better than most other V6 sedans from the 90s. Comfort, economical, reliable, what more can you ask for?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th February, 2008

9th Jun 2009, 11:03

06/09 Update: My Regal is up to 150k miles now. Zero problems since my original review. Mileage, ride, power, all as good as the day I got it in March 06 with 75k on it.

9th Jun 2009, 23:16

We sold our Buick at 277,000+ miles. Nothing but routine maintenance. These things are solid as a rock.

3rd Aug 2011, 06:29

OP here. Well at 192614 miles, my old Regal has finally been put out out to pasture. Not on its own accord of course, but because of a kid in a Grand Cherokee who didn't stop quickly enough. It was a low-speed rear-end impact. The rear bumper was smashed down and the deck lid above the bumper was dented in. This bent all the paneling and trunk lid out of alignment, so the trunk wouldn't seal when shut. The insurance company totaled it and gave me $1400, which I put towards a Grand Marquis.

I do miss the Regal. At the end it still ran and drove like the champ it was when I got it at 75000 miles. But for a while between 170k-180k miles, it was having problems. Little things kept breaking, and for a while I was planning on getting a new car anyway. But after 180k, it stopped having problems, so I figured why not keep going. The Grand Cherokee put an end to that.

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 V6 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8 V6 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired98000 miles
Most recent distance123000 miles
Previous carHonda Civic

Summary:

Luxurious and Powerful

Faults:

Leather interior is worn.

Minor paint chipping on edges of the doors.

Radio does not work, could be a bad fuse, but haven't gotten it checked out yet. It turns on, but the volume doesn't go up or down. It could also be a faulty or overused button.

ABS light goes on and off every 4 months for no reason.

General Comments:

Very spacious trunk, which came in handy packing everything up for college. I could fit everything I needed for the whole year in my trunk, backseat and front seat with room to spare.

College friends have referred to it as "a couch on wheels" because of the comfort and smooth ride.

Glides over bumps and road defects with ease and comfort.

Very reliable and even though it is over 12 years old handles and rides better than most newer cars I've been in.

Great power, never had a problem gaining speed quickly or maintaining speed without keeping my foot on the gas.

On long trips people have gotten a very comfortable sleep in the back and front seats.

Basically the best car I've ever had or will ever have.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th February, 2007

10th Feb 2007, 10:05

J.D. Powers has rated Buicks very high in owner satisfaction for years now, and I love it that some younger people are buying these great cars and helping the brand beat the "old folks car" image Buick has had. They are some of the most rugged, reliable and best-built cars on the road, they ride and drive great and will run forever. My family has a 1977 Buick laSabre with 270,000 miles on it. Take care of yours and you can pass it on to your KIDS!!

25th Mar 2011, 10:11

Hahaha, the volume button on my 94 Regal is also busted. Radio works, but I can't adjust the volume. Luckily it was at a nice comfortable setting when it broke LOL.

24th Jul 2011, 20:32

LOL the volume knob on my 94 Regal also went bad. Luckily the radio was at my preferred volume level when it broke, so it's no big deal.

It's still running like a champ at 192k miles baby!

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 18 reviews