1994 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired119200 miles
Most recent distance119500 miles
Previous carSAAB 900

Summary:

Best $1950 ever spent

Faults:

The tread on the tires is worn unevenly.

General Comments:

The engine is cleaner than a military canteen. No oil, no leaking fluids.

It has the original stainless steel muffler, so it makes no sound.

It has good old fashioned Regal power.

The interior is immaculate. No tears in the leather, everything is in excellent condition.

Smooth riding.

Very roomy.

Power everything, and it all works great.

A well maintained car, even before I purchased it, which is key in long life.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

5th Oct 2004, 10:57

How many miles were on it when you got it?/

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired50000 kilometres
Most recent distance126000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Good motor, but too many things are going wrong for a car that is being well maintained

Faults:

Rear Brakes have been redone twice in 2 1/2 years.

ABS cable needed replacing at 110,000 Ks. ABS light is coming on again intermittently now at 126,000 Ks.

Power Lock on driver's door is broken.

Buzzer to indicate lights left on or keys in ignition doesn't work yet the fuse is OK.

Air conditioning compressor needed replacing at 110,000 Ks.

General Comments:

Car looks good.

Runs great.

Has good pickup to high speeds when needed, like when merging into traffic.

Handles well.

I complained to the dealer that the air condition should not need replacing at only 110,000 Ks, but there's nothing they can do for me. A new compressor is about $800.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th March, 2003

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired105000 kilometres
Most recent distance450000 kilometres
Previous carChevrolet Celebrity

Summary:

Great small family sedan

Faults:

Transmission replaced at 275,000km.

Numerous brake jobs (warped rotors)

Alternator replaced twice.

General Comments:

No engine repairs other than regular maintenance.

Driver position is cramped, with little leg room (6' 4" 250lbs)

Performs well even with over 400,000km.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd September, 2002

1994 Buick Regal GS 3.8Liter from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3.8Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carBuick LeSabre

Summary:

A beautiful tight driver with a lot of power

Faults:

Anti-lock brake system light came on for approximately eight months. Buick dealer could not diagnose. Headlights would dim when light came on at night. Looking back, I am almost positive the problem was a "wheel speed sensor".

Leather on driver's seat split at seams, and developed bad creases despite frequent leather conditioning due to leather being too hard.

General Comments:

The Gran Sport models have beautiful styling effects and have terrific engine power.

Steering is very tight and car is very easy to handle in tight spaces.

The interior is as nice as any Cadillac, and the instrument panel design is very ergonomic and attractive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th July, 2002

16th Feb 2005, 06:12

I bought a 94 regal GS and I to have the same problem with the ABS light... it seems that when the light is on my ABS don't work and when its off well my ABS do work. I had my alternator replaced and the light did go off for a while, but it comes back on about 20 min after starting the car. but other than that I love this car its really peppy!

1994 Buick Regal Gran Sport 3.8 3800 fuel injected from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 3800 fuel injected Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.3 / 10
Distance when acquired97000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carMazda RX7

Summary:

Not a granny car when it's against an import

Faults:

My transmission is moaning a little, but it still shifts fine.

The keyless entry went bad.

Driver's seat could wear better.

General Comments:

Backseat is more comfortable than a Cadillac and it has only two doors.

I took it to the track a couple weeks ago and beat an Acura Integra, a Honda Civic, a Ford Probe GT, and a V6 Mustang. The car will beat most stock imports, and I also ordered a Park Avenue supercharger to put on it and I should be running on a 1/8 mile track in the low nines.

My best time completely stock has been 10.51.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th August, 2001

15th Jan 2002, 20:51

What does your car run 0-60 and what is the quarter mile time?

1994 Buick Regal Gran Sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired51000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carDodge Dynasty

Summary:

Real nice car

Faults:

Crankshaft sensor replaced.

General Comments:

Solid on the road, plenty of power. It is a bit tight in the drivers seat for me, I am 6ft 2 inches tall. A pleasure to look at, a classic.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2001

13th Jul 2001, 18:38

I have a 95 Regal GS 3.8L.

I love my car, but it does have a problem with the eletrical system.

I just replaced the BCM board (main computer), the ignition sensor AND the crank sensor. All at once.

23rd Jan 2002, 11:23

I love my 93 Buick regal, its plenty powerful, and comfy, but the electrical system is a problem, and I need a new lock up torque sensor.

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3800 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2000
Engine and transmission 3800 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired85000 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carChevrolet Cavalier

Summary:

Buick quality

Faults:

Rear brakes make a noise after a rain storm.

Turn signal switch wore out and no brake lights as a result.

General Comments:

Car runs really well on 87 fuel. 35 mpg on the highway going 65-70 MPH.

Leather interior is nice.

A/C is frigid

Smooth power and quiet on the highway.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th September, 2000

30th May 2001, 12:48

I am also having Brake issues. I had heard of a recall, on 1989-1993 Regal Calipers, but, don't know if this is part of the issue. I am looking for an upgrade, or some way to fix the brakes, because my Regal has only 60,000 Miles and I plan to keep it for another ten years or so. Also, like in the comments on the 1993 model, there are intermittent problems, with leaky Transmission lines; Tim B.

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 18 reviews