1994 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 3 of 4

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 litre from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 litre Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired198000 miles
Most recent distance278000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Very good car when it's below 200000 kilometres

Faults:

I had to replace the two front struts, strut bearings and strut bushings at 200000 kilometers.

I replaced the alternator at 210000 kilometers.

I replaced vehicule speed sensor at 230000 kilometers.

I replaced two ball joints at 260000 kilometers.

General Comments:

The 1994 Regal is a good reliable car.

It has never left me stranded and has decent power and gets good gas mileage.

As the Regal gets older it is costly to repair - if you get it fixed at the dealer.

The interior is adequate, but the seats are too soft.

For 3500 it wasn't all that bad.

There are transmission related problems, watch out for lemons.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd May, 2005

30th Jul 2006, 00:02

"As the Regal gets older it is costly to repair"

Usually when vehicles in general get older, they become more costly to repair...

19th Jan 2007, 15:04

I bought my black 1994 Buick gs for 400 dollars. It needed a motor, I put a new one in and it's now a great car, all, but the ABS light.

27th Feb 2008, 22:45

I bought mine for 400cdollars loaded and has no problems at all I guess I pretty much stole it its white with red interior and drives like heaven.

16th Aug 2008, 16:54

I just bought one for 700, it runs amazing. I get it in a few days, and after reading all these reviews I'm totally excited to get this car, and it only has 140 000 km on it.

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Model year1994
Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired126000 miles
Most recent distance169000 miles
Previous carBuick Century

Summary:

This is a great used car buy

Faults:

I replaced the alternator at 135,000 miles. I had to replace a tie rod at about 145,000. The radiator and water pump were both replaced at about 155,000 miles, and the starter was replaced at 165,000 miles.

General Comments:

This has been my favorite car. It has a peppy engine and handles very predictably. Even with its present odometer mileage of 169,000 I would not hesitate to go on an interstate journey.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th February, 2005

1994 Buick Regal Custom 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.5 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance86000 miles
Previous carMazda MX5

Summary:

If you buy it used it's a great deal with tons of power and style

Faults:

ABS light flickers on and off at its own will.

Tires are not aligned very well, even after being fixed 2 times.

Check gages light comes on, but no engine or electrical problem is present.

Windshield leaks.

OFF button doesn't work on heater.

Fabric on seams wears easily.

Cup holder pops off.

Speakers blew out in the rain.

General Comments:

The car has good pick up and I beat a lot of people in 2 lane traffic.

Good city car.

Not many blind spots.

Engine has had no problems.

Looks good with chrome rims.

Tons of trunk space.

Excellent on gas.

Over all good car to have if you don't mind fixing minor problems from time to time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th May, 2004

1994 Buick Regal Custom Coupe 3.8L V6 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 3.8L V6 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance85000 miles

Summary:

A powerful and reliable luxury coupe

Faults:

Alternator blew out at around 70,000 miles and replaced with lifetime warranty, blew out again only weeks later and hasn't given me problems since. $74.

Driver's seat leather began to crack a bit along the stitches, about 4 inches long.

Arm rest compartment top in the center broke off, plastic cracked.

Coolant pump began leaking severely at 76,000 miles and needed to be replaced. $35.

Ignition key switch security system broke, car wouldn't start. Replaced it for $250 and new key for $50. Most of the cost was labor.

One knob from the stereo bass adjustment cracked and broke off.

Front bumper seems to be sagging about a cm too low.

Anti-Lock Brake light turns on and stays on, ABS fails to function and tires will smoke if brakes are pushed hard enough.

General Comments:

Great with front wheel drive in terms of traction and great acceleration and torque.

Very comfortable interior, awesome sound system with Concert Sound II premium sound package.

Beats a 3.8L 2001 Mustang up to 85 mph with stock engine!

Very smooth suspension and gear shifting.

Steering is amazingly soft and effortless.

Exceptional trunk room.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th March, 2004

1994 Buick Regal Gran Sport 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1994
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72210 miles
Most recent distance77400 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Performance and luxury in one package

Faults:

Air conditioning compressor was bad when I bought the car.

Driving home from buying the car it stalled out twice, turned out to be the oxygen sensor.

General Comments:

This car is a great riding car. Would highly recommend to anybody.

My only problem with the car is the interior roof is lowered to support room for the sunroof, giving me a horrible problem with me head hitting it when I am driving.

Very sporty and fun to drive.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th October, 2003

Average review marks: 8.6 / 10, based on 18 reviews