1998 Buick Regal Reviews

1998 Buick Regal LS 3.8 from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2011
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 3 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.0 / 10
Distance when acquired120000 miles
Most recent distance150000 miles
Previous carFord Taurus

Summary:

A money pit that I wish I had never met

Faults:

My transmission went out at 125,000 miles.

Next, my ignition switch went out, causing the car to turn off and throw me into on-coming traffic.

I've had to replace every window regulator in each door, and two of them, (driver side, and passenger side), I've given up on because they have broken again.

The whole instrument cluster doesn't work.

I have a major oil leak.

All weather sealing is cracked.

Clear coat paint is pealing.

Water pump has gone out at 125,000 miles.

My ignition switch is currently out again.

All the little plastic trimmings in the car have broken, including the cup holders that were never used.

I have spent easily three times what the car is worth just trying to keep it on the road, and I'm still having to spend more.

What can go wrong, will go wrong on this car.

General Comments:

The car handles like a cruise ship.

Steering is very loose.

Breaks don't work very well.

All plastic trimmings on inside and outside have broken.

This car will make you feel like a loser.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th March, 2011

28th Sep 2011, 23:47

I agree that the car is a money pit, and I also would never buy again. Don't get me wrong - I loved the comfort of my 1998 Regal. But at about 80,000 miles, the transmission needed to be replaced. After that, I had to put another $2800 in for other problems - and I just junked the car. No more Regals for me; and probably not another American car. Yuck.

1998 Buick Regal from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired21000 miles
Most recent distance24200 miles
Previous carToyota Corolla

Summary:

The best for the money

Faults:

The only problem is the rear window won't come down.

General Comments:

The car drives very nicely. So smooth, I love it. So nice to drive it. You feel like a millon dollars driving this car. This is the best car I have had. It has all of the light and and gadgets you could want. I will buy another one in a heart beat. The best you can buy for the money. It is very affordable.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 11th January, 2008

1998 Buick Regal GS 3.8L super charged from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 3.8L super charged Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired39000 miles
Most recent distance147000 miles
Previous carChevrolet S-10

Summary:

Reliable, quiet, subtle luxury

Faults:

AC at 125,000 (I use AC 24/7), Tension pully gear for supercharger 85000, right wheel hub and tie rod 138000. Nothing else. Very good reliability. Cheap to fix. Buick dealers very trustworthy.

General Comments:

Just polish up from time to time and looks new again. Buick is very reliable from my experience with three cars in my lifetime. Still have two. Two Chevy trucks were high maintenance junk, but that was in the late eighties. All manufacturers are doing better, particularly Buick.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th November, 2007

1998 Buick Regal GS 3.8 SC from North America

Model year1998
Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 SC Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired45000 miles
Most recent distance65000 miles

Summary:

Great to a point

Faults:

Just passed 60k, wiper system blew the "park" position (2nd time). Wipers sit in the up position when shut off. Now it won't start consistently (ignition or relay switch). Paint in rear quarters peeling from wheel well.

General Comments:

Sporty, fast car. Has been great until the magic 60k mark. Too bad.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th January, 2006

4th Feb 2008, 07:23

How did you fix this problem with the wiper stoping in the up right position?

Bernie.kilmartin@foremost.com.

9th Apr 2008, 19:45

The windshield wipers will park properly if you find the tab under the cam that rotates above the wiper motor; there is a little dogg that clicks on this tab on every revolution. When the motor is asked to park this dogg catches on the tab and changes the motion of the turning cam. If you are looking from the left fender with the cowl screen off, the tab is right there under the rotating cam in front of you. Bend the tab carefully so it does not break. If it does break you can make one and rivet it in.

1998 Buick Regal LS from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired48000 miles
Most recent distance115000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Great car. I would buy another one

Faults:

Replaced starter (under warranty) around 70,000. They were shocked at how the wires were melted inside the steering wheel column.

Rear right power switch broken at around 95K.

Oil leak fixed at 80K.

General Comments:

Love this car. It is very comfortable and has great head and leg room.

Has been very reliable. I would drive it cross country with no reservations.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th March, 2005

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews