1998 Buick Regal Reviews - Page 4 of 4

1998 Buick Regal GS ?? from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission ?? Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.8 / 10
Distance when acquired31000 miles
Most recent distance70000 miles

Summary:

The windows are built to fail!!!

Faults:

From the repair documentation, here is the order in which the windows needed fixed:

1. 10/10/00 at 34,441 miles, right rear window broke, regulator replaced.

2. 10/10/00 at 34,441 miles, right front window broke, regulator replaced.

3. 2/21/02 at 53,788 miles, right front window broke, regulator replaced.

4. 2/21/02 at 53,788 miles, left front window broke, regulator replaced.

5. 2/26/02 at 54,023 miles, left rear window broke, regulator replaced.

6. 2/26/02 at 54,023 miles, right rear window broke, regulator replaced.

7. 5/14/02 at 56,673 miles, right front window broke, regulator replaced.

8. 4/28/03 at 69,297 miles, left front window broke, regulator replaced.

General Comments:

Buick continues to install a part described as a "regulator" to repair the windows on my Buick Regal. These regulators do not last. They have done this 8 times. It is the SAME DOCUMENTED PROBLEM. I have the repair documentation to prove it. They replace a regulator EVERY TIME and the part still goes bad. This proves the parts WERE NEVER, EVER, engineered to last. The dealer told me the regulators in Regals are bad. It costs $500.00 to fix these windows AND BUICK DOES NOT CARE!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 31st May, 2003

23rd Sep 2004, 21:41

Have owned 1996 Regal since new with 56,477 miles. I have never had a problem with the windows. If fact, this is one of the best cars I have ever owned.

10th Oct 2004, 00:26

I agree that the 1997 Regal has it's fair share of problems. I know because I worked for a dealership in Fla. for four years from '97-'01. However, I have never had the same car have it's window regulators fail twice, let alone eight times, but in no respect have I ever seen one break even one window. In my opinion, it's not the regulators. I think you should investigate the possibility of defects in the door construction, and the position of the guide rails. As far as the head gasket concern, I have never seen one leak with the kind of mileage you have. If it were my car I would write the corporation and tell them to fix the car, buy the car back, or file lemon law. They are a wonderful car and I'm sorry to hear you are having all these problems with it. The best of luck to you.

1998 Buick Regal 3.8 from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired40000 miles
Most recent distance60000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile Cutlass

Summary:

Great car for the money, cost me $14,775 with 40,000 miles

Faults:

We did not get the gas cap on good, check engine light came on, $35.00 labor.

Going to have to replace the belt, other than that it has been a great car.

General Comments:

Seats in this car are the best I have ever had.

Very nice wheels.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th June, 2001

2nd Sep 2003, 19:59

Glad you're having good luck with your 1998 Buick. Love the ride and handling, but... supercharger nose needs replacing, sounds like cement mixer. Major problems with fuel relay and problems getting proper diagnosis.

1998 Buick Regal GS 3.8 supercharged from North America

Year of manufacture1998
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2001
Engine and transmission 3.8 supercharged Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 5 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.8 / 10
Distance when acquired0 miles
Most recent distance62000 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

Not what I expected from a Buick

Faults:

To start off with, the climate control LED read out was replaced at 20,000 miles, then went out at 38,000 miles again. The dealer said "oh no, not covered".

At the same time the power windows switches are getting hard to work, sometimes they don't work, not from abuse either!!

Oh yeah, now the power mirrors don't work any more.

General Comments:

I could go to the junk yard and find a car in bad shape and get the power windows to work better.

Rides good / drives good / falls apart good / supercharger good, but when will that load of money go out.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 19th May, 2001

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 13 reviews