1998 Buick Regal GS 3.8L from North America

Summary:

A Real Nice Ride

Faults:

My Transmission had to be rebuilt at about 103,000 miles and the Fuel Pump was re[laced at about 87,000 miles. Other than that the car has been superb.

General Comments:

The car has been superb. The brakes wear well. Gas mileage has been around 22 miles to the gallon with mixed use.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 12th April, 2004

2nd Jan 2006, 10:01

What are the chances my Buick Regal GS just hit 103k and the trani has gone to hell.

12th Jun 2007, 17:16

We bought a 1998 regal GS that had just had the trans replaced at 96,000. 100K seems to be the breaking point on these cars. Anyone have any suggestions on getting more life out of a GM transmission? I had a 1993 maxima with 240,000 miles before I sold it, had the original transmission. What gives?

12th Jun 2007, 21:49

My experience has been that GM transmissions will typically outlast most others with proper servicing. Fords and especially Chryslers are more prone to tranny troubles. Nissan does do a better job than most as I too have seen many of them go over 200k with their original transmissions. My mom's 1998 Regal still has its original transmission at 160,000 miles. I hope it will hang in there. We have always had it serviced on time since the car was new, so hopefully ours will not go out like yours.

1998 Buick Regal LS Gran Touring Package 3.8 Series II V6 from North America

Summary:

A definite bargain

Faults:

When we first got it the rear door panels were loose and one of the rear door locks didn't work with the key-less entry system. All of these minor items were covered under the excellent warranty though.

The car has a lot of light bulbs, so there is usually one out somewhere. The fog lights are somewhat temperamental; when one goes out, the computer will not let the other one come on. I guess they did this so that the car would not look tacky driving around with only one fog light.

General Comments:

This has been a truly wonderful car. Now that I've said that, it may suddenly go, but even if it went now I would never regret my parents buying it. We bought it when it had only 22,000 miles on it for a steal at $17,000. A new one just like it was/is $28,000.

The car is very comfortable overall. The seats make you a little sore after a few hours, but we have never been uncomfortable to go any distance in it.

There are all sorts of little pleasant features everywhere. The dual-zone a/c controls are nice and the CD/Cassette Concert Sound II stereo system is laid out very well.

The instruments are laid out similarly to the Porsche 911 with "Pumpkin Patch" colored backlighting as in a Saab, very cool!

Four-wheel disk brakes with ABS are very reassuring. They are very appropriate for a car of this size with that wonderful V6 pumping (smoothly and silently) under the hood.

This car is cheap to run with somewhat normal sized tires and it gets around 27 mpg.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2004

24th May 2004, 20:06

I have 1998 Regal LS as well. I work in a garage and know that the GM 3.8 V6 is powerful and reliable. We very rarely see any problems with them. In fact the only problem we see sometimes is an upper plenum leaking. (that's the black plastic thing right under the cover over the engine). if it does go, it shouldn't cost more that $650 to replace.

1998 Buick Regal LS from North America

Summary:

An expensive to maintain, but nice car

Faults:

Console is very loose.

Transmission went at 74,000 miles. $3000 to replace it. Ouch. I told the dealership when the vehicle was brought in with transmission problems that I needed a new (or rebuilt) transmission, they then tried to soak me for 4 hours of "diagnostic labor" to confirm that I needed a new transmission. I was pretty sure that a transmission was in order when the vehicle wouldn't shift and made some awful roaring noises.. and I pulled out the transmission fluid dip stick and it reeked like burned toast..

Light in the glove compartment has gone out and I was told by the dealership that this is not a repairable item and that a whole glove compartment assembly is necessary.

General Comments:

This car is very comfortable and has great leg and head room.

It accelerates and handles well when it is running.

Repairs are very expensive, but I'm inclined to believe that the dealerships in this area tend to charge women more for service than men. (It was amazing how quickly the "diagnostic fee" for the transmission was waived when my brother in law showed up to pick up the car)

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 12th October, 2003

13th Oct 2003, 12:32

Hey, yeah. Those are the exact symptoms of a transmission going out. If the dealer needs 4 hours to figure that out, I wouldn't let the touch my car for money. :-) Um A glove compartment light? That's probably the bulb, or a fuse from your fuse box that went out. If you can take the bulb out, you can probably get a replacement.

20th Mar 2004, 22:38

Just had the first smog inspection of my 1998 Buick regal GS. Drove it home, 3 miles, parked it in the garage. Ten minutes later discovered that it was smoking under the hood. Tried to drive it out of the garage only to see a major burst of flames from under the hood. Called the fire department and had excellent response. One hour later found total damage close to 10,000 dollars to house and car totaled. Hope that the value of the car will at least give me a good down payment.

24th May 2004, 20:14

I have a 1998 regal LS as well. I've had it for over 3 years now and I'm pretty happy with it. At about 35,000 miles I noticed the transmission "whining". I had the ATF filter replaced ($65). that needs to be done on these cars every 36,000 miles or so to avoid future problems.

15th Dec 2009, 21:05

For the above commenter that had their Buick burn down their house, the 3.8L in this year had a recall because the valve cover gaskets are defective and can leak oil, and this causes the engine to burst into flames.