2002 Buick Rendezvous CX from North America - Comments

22nd Sep 2008, 06:11

I bought my 2002 Buick Rendezvous CX in July 07, and have nothing but problems.

The ABS light is on (speed senor), check engine light (they say I need AIR pump for the emissions system), the fuel unit needs to be replaced.

I like the car, but it's gotta go. The dealerships do not care. We need to sue the GM dealer or they need to recall the parts. The car will not pass inspection until I get the air pump replaced (500 dollars).

25th Sep 2008, 16:30

2002 Rendezvous-air conditioning never cools for long.. if at all, even after condenser replacement. Recently, door locks start clicking and won't stop unless I disconnect battery for a minute. Car goes into Security Mode and nothing works-a/c, power windows, locks.. makes for an uncomfortable ride in high temperatures when you can't run air OR roll down the windows. Also horn honks automatically at the wrong time. Driver's side window leaks water in when it rains, doesn't roll up unless you push upper right corner of button. All lighters/power outlets stopped working, so no more charging cell phones! Also problem with front wheel brake light coming on, then a dragging sound when brake is applied or just driving. All that and a high pitched whining sound. Big Fun Buick..!

30th Sep 2008, 11:52

Last Friday, my Redezvous started on fire in the driveway.

Insurance company concluded that the wiring harness shorted out causing a fire. However they will not cover the cost of the harness due to the fact that it was the cause of the fire. Anyone have the same issue. I've read a lot about electrical issues but no fires as of yet. I would really like to go after GM for the cost of the harness but first needs statistics for the harness problem.

18th Nov 2008, 18:44

We bought our 2003 used, and have problems with the transmission from the start. We took it back to the dealership who did a diagnostic on it and they couldn't find any error codes, but it continued to slip when shifting into 1st, and now it is getting worse. I see that lots of people are having problems with their transmissions, SO GM here is another unhappy customer!!!

SHAME ON YOU GM!!!

13th Dec 2008, 21:11

The '02 Rendezvous CX does well in a roll over. I was in one that rolled 4 times while going 95mph and suffered only a bruised collar bone. My only complaints are the unnecessarily low rev limiter, the inconsistent emergency brake, and the fact that the airbags don't deploy during a 95mph roll over.

7th Feb 2009, 09:20

I have been a happy owner of a 2004 Rendezvous. It has 35,000 miles on it. With regular maintenance, the car has been running reliably. However, last weekend my key would not go into the igntion and the car had to be towed to the dealer. I'm curious to see if anyone else has had this problem.

17th Apr 2009, 22:25

I bought a 2002 CX new and started having serious problems at the 3 year mark. AC blew, then the front wheel bearings, anti-lock brake system, head gasket, body control module, battery, alternator, driver window motor, heater blower... My latest joy was a $1000 repair of a cracked radiator. Does anyone still wonder why GM is in a spiral into oblivion? The sooner they go out of business the sooner people can start spending their money on more productive things, like foreign cars. If GM wants to re-invent itself and be customer focused, it should accept responsibility for its mistakes - taking these cars off the road and apologizing to Rendezvous owners would be a good start.

16th Sep 2009, 21:10

I bought a 2002 Rendezvous. I have had it 3 years with a service engine soon light on. I replaced the 3 ignition sensors, but it didn't fix the problem.

I changed the window auto-motor.

The emission inspection diagnostic is evaporating heater and I don't now what is the problem, I am tired of my Rendezvous.

21st Oct 2009, 23:04

I purchased my 2003 Rendezvous in July. I was having problems with the battery going dead after the DVD player was on while the car wasn't started, for about 10 minutes. Usually I would get a jump and it would be fine, but one day while waiting for my husband to come out of work - the DVD player is on the truck is in accessory mode - the truck would not start. We attempted to give the battery a jump, but nothing happened. We called for a tow while waiting my husband suggested to put it in neutral and then start it, and it started!! I have been doing this for about two weeks now trying to find out what's really wrong. I've been told that it's my linkage need to be adjusted. But another mechanic told me it might have something to do with my remote start. My neutral switch may need replacing, all of these people want $65-$100 just to look at my truck. I hope that I don't have all of the other problems that I have read.

17th Dec 2009, 20:39

I bought a 2002 Rendezvous, and since I've had it, it's been a true headache.

I have replaced a head gasket, wheel bearings, wheel sensor, and now the fuel gauge acts crazy like I have no gas at all. My check engine light is also on. Does anyone know of any recalls on this junk?

18th Dec 2009, 11:48

My wife and I bought a 2002 CX from a local dealer 6 months ago. We have had it into the shop once already for a speed sensor, and now we are faced with another repair that was estimated at $900. After replacing the speed sensor, the same problem recurred. I was told that my C-300 connector is badly corroded and all pins need replaced. It has also started to 'buck' occasionally and often makes a rumbling noise while going through turns. I haven't had the work done yet. I have read many of the comments, and I am flat out scared. I am afraid to find out what's coming around the corner!

14th Jan 2010, 09:58

I have 2002 Buick Tendezvous. I am having similar problems as well.

First it was that my gas showing it was full but empty, then it went to overheating antifreeze was mixing with my oil, the driver's side window stopped working, radiator was busted, had to replace the gas tank - the sensor was bad, the thermostat went, and now the heat works but it wants blow out.

The bad part about is it's a nice SUV, but it's a headache trying to get it fixed, and being a single parent, it sits more than I drive it.

I will be done paying for it in a couple months, and after reading all the comments, I am wondering should I just trade it in a start with a new note, or just keep doing the repairs?

Besides, where I got from keeps asking if I would like to do a trade in. Any suggestions, feel free.

15th Jan 2010, 21:21

I bought a used 2002 Buick Rendezvous with 12,000, and soon after I had to replace the air conditioner, then the brakes had to be repaired, the oxygen sensors, the thermostat, the gas gauge reads full when it's empty, and now it overheated, blew both gaskets, the coolant ran into the oil, contaminated all the hoses and entire engine and now it's shot to hell! With only 79,000 miles. And now it's resting in the Buick Rendezvous Graveyard. What a waste of money. I should have gotten rid of it a long time ago.