1996 Buick Roadmaster Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Buick Roadmaster Collectors Edition LT-1 350ci from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission LT-1 350ci Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired142000 miles
Most recent distance154999 miles
Previous carFord F150

Summary:

What a machine!!!

Faults:

Nothing but Buick's grand curse of the molding falling off.

General Comments:

My son calls me up and says, "Dad, the car lot here gave me a car you might be interested in, I want your old truck". Right... so I go and visit my son, lo and behold, it's the Roadmaster.

I now have this AWESOME 1996 Deep Burgundy, you name it, it's powered, LOL, Buick Roadmaster Estate Wagon, Collectors Edition, So, needless to say, my son now drives a one owner 92' Ford Super Cab, and dad has a Cruiser.

It's so hard to believe that the car lot was gonna send it to the metal recyclers, the ash tray had never even been used in this LAND YACHT!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd October, 2009

1996 Buick Roadmaster Sedan Limited 4 Dr 5.7L 350 LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 5.7L 350 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.7 / 10
Distance when acquired82200 miles
Most recent distance82750 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz C-Class

Summary:

Great comfort and good gas mileage for the size!

Faults:

Shift solenoid B.

Belt and tensioner need replacement.

Needs some body work on the passenger side, it was owned by an elderly gentleman with poor eyesight.

Finding replacement trim/ moulding is a royal pain!!!

General Comments:

Great comfort, good acceleration, freezing cold A/C, roomy interior.

Gas mileage isn't bad for a car of its size and weight. I estimate around 20-23 mpg.

I have to say I am in love with this beast, my wife and kids do too.

My other cars are a 1989 Mercedes-Benz 260E in mint condition and a 92 BMW 525i, this was a big departure for me since I am a big fan of German engineered cars, but when it comes to highway running long distances or with traffic, nothing beats the comfort of the Roadmaster!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th March, 2009

30th Mar 2009, 21:30

Not to mention this car has the same engine as the LT1 Corvette of that year.. gotta love that. I rented one of these once and I gotta say, I was very impressed. You've got a nice car. They've got a touch of class too, and you don't see em at every stoplight, unlike my Honda Accord. I'd hang onto it.

1996 Buick Roadmaster Limited, Collector's Edition 5.7 V8 (LT1) from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 (LT1) Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired78823 miles
Most recent distance93093 miles
Previous carBuick Regal

Summary:

This is the best car I have ever owned, and if you can find one, I definitely suggest picking it up

Faults:

Nothing whatsoever.

General Comments:

This car has the legendary reliability of a Buick, rides like a Cadillac, and accelerates like a Corvette.

Incidentally, the engine is the same one that was used in the Corvette.

This was the final year for the Roadmaster, which is why it is a "Collector's Edition"

It has every possible option, including heated cloth seats.

I bought this car in July, 2004, with 78,000 miles. It now has 93,000 miles, and no problems yet. The only thing I have replaced is the tires. The previous owner had the wrong size. With the correct tires, this car handles great.

I average 20-25 MPG, and for a 260 HP V-8, that is great mileage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 30th March, 2005

27th Mar 2007, 13:04

The final year for this model car was 1996,not 1995.

11th Jun 2007, 09:23

Yeah I noticed that too, but I think he just accidentally chose the wrong year for the review, because at the bottom of the review it says model year = 1996. :)

29th Apr 2014, 14:49

I thought the 1996 Buick Roadmaster was the last one made, but now I see 1997 Buick Roadmasters advertised. Anyone have a comment?

1996 Buick Roadmaster Limited 4 door Sedan 5.7 LT1 from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership1996
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 LT1 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.6 / 10
Distance when acquired24 kilometres
Most recent distance140400 kilometres
Previous carPontiac Parisienne

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

The front seat lumbar blew up.

The transmission cooling lines leaked.

I had to replace starting motor (4) times.

The rear end had to be rebuilt.

Engine block cracked, antifreeze seized.

Engine had to be rebuilt.

Self leveling air ride leaks, even after repairs.

Water pump leaked antifreeze from above and it got into engine control module destroying that too.

Only reason I kept the beast is because I had the good luck of buying an extended warranty, so far it has paid out in excess of 9k in repairs. It runs out July/05, and so does this pig.

As it sits today, the starter is gone.

Again, off to the garage tomorrow.

Sadly I have yet to get 12 months without a breakdown,and the last one was on Jan 29/2003. Almost made it, eh?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th December, 2004

22nd Dec 2004, 19:29

Sorry to hear about all your problems, but maybe you did get a lemon; I'm looking for a good body, if you want to sell yours and live near Michigan contact me: abctravel1955@hotmail.com.

Average review marks: 8.2 / 10, based on 12 reviews