2012 Buick Verano 2.5L I-4 from North America

Summary:

Reliability way worse than on old Buicks. Electronic system is a huge Achilles heel

Faults:

Problems so far:

2 tires popped (Continental Conti Pros - garbage; get Goodyear Eagle LS - cheaper and can actually drive over potholes).

Headlight connector partially melted at the plug.

StabiliTrak wire corroded along the harness near the firewall.

Steering sensor going crazy and needed resetting (cost me almost $1000 out of pocket).

Oil change unreasonably difficult (very tight spaces, need special tools, adapters and extensions).

Body panels impossibly hard to screw together (especially fender and bumper).

The car is a nightmare to work on, the electronic system is junky, the wheels are crap from the OEM, headlight failed after 1 year.

Did I mention the cloth insert in the leather seat is already showing sign of wear after a year?

Never buying another Buick.

General Comments:

Creature comforts, A.

Reliability, C-.

Handling, B+.

Electronics, D.

Suspension and steering, A-.

OEM tires, C-.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 21st October, 2014

24th Oct 2014, 22:28

I have to admit I really don't like the direction Buick is heading. If it wasn't for the Enclave, it wouldn't even be on my radar anymore. I haven't really had issues with the reliability on my late model Buicks, although the transmission on my 2012 Enclave seems to be a little "hairy" at times, but the dealer says it checks out normally. I liked them a lot better when they were traditional, nice sized cars targeted at older mature adults.

19th Nov 2014, 20:07

To the last comment, I have driven GM's new tranny in quite a few cars, and at first I had issues getting used to it. I found out it has a "smart/learning" transmission/transaxle. This is the reason it shifts so oddly. It's supposed to get better fuel economy, but I prefer the smoothness of the old 4 speeds.

2012 Buick Verano Leather Group 2.4 from North America

Summary:

Awesome. Best bang for the buck!

Faults:

Whoever installed the body panels was not having a good day. Returned the car to the dealer to have the following items replaced or adjusted: Rear fascia, front fascia, rear spoiler, driver seat pan rails, left rear inner fender liner, right dash panel, O2 sensor.

All items were covered by warranty, and my dealer did an excellent job in fixing all issues!

General Comments:

Despite my displeasure with the body panels, this is an awesome car! I commute 115 miles a day, so I spend a great deal of time in this vehicle and it is a joy to drive. It has all the feature comforts one would be looking for, and all the high tech stuff is very easy to use.

For 2012 Buick models, the seats in this car are the best! Trust me, I drove every model Buick has.

Gas mileage is pretty good (26-34; I average 32) and for all the whistles and bells you get for this price, I'll take it.

If in the market for this size vehicle, I would take a look. Also has a 3 year 50K warranty.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 20th December, 2012

21st Dec 2012, 17:45

Both my Buick Lucerne and Enclave had 4 year bumper to bumper warranties with the limited 100,000 mile warranty. I assumed all Buick models carried that.

27th Jan 2013, 16:23

The author is describing the 50k bumper-to-bumper warranty (other GM is 36k). You're referring to the powertrain warranty (which is now only 70k across all of Buick).

28th Jan 2013, 18:27

No, I was actually referring to both warranties. First, both of my new Buicks came with a 4 year/48,000 mile bumper to bumper, and the powertrain limited 5 year/100,000 mile one.

1st Sep 2013, 10:40

Update to my original post. About to roll through 45K miles on the Verano and all is well. Just had it in for service (LOF and tire rotation) yesterday and the original tires still have about 45% tread remaining. I have not had any further mechanical issues, except for a little oil consumption (1.5 quarts per 6k miles). MPG is holding steady as mentioned before.

Seen some discussion about the warranty, and my 2012 came with a 3 year 50k mile bumper to bumper, and power train to 100k.

Again, highly recommended vehicle, and I would buy another!

11th May 2014, 08:44

Update to original review: The Verano is still performing very well and I have zero complaints. Mileage is at 66K and I just replaced the OEM tires yesterday. I have had no further mechanical issues or issues with fit and finish. Oil consumption seems to be decreasing, not that it ever got excessive. Still averaging 33-35 MPG. Besides the new tires and 4 wheel alignment, this car has cost me zero dollars in maintenance (besides LOF and tire maintenance). As stated before, I would buy this car again and would recommend it to anyone.