1990 Cadillac Brougham Reviews - Page 3 of 3

1990 Cadillac Brougham D'Elegance 5.0 V8 from North America

Model year1990
Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.0 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired70000 miles
Most recent distance73000 miles
Previous carToyota Camry

Summary:

Best car ever

Faults:

Nothing has gone wrong in the car yet. Although it eats up oil a lot and the electric antenna doesn't go down. It is still in fine running condition.

General Comments:

This has got to be one of the greatest cars ever made! I have never seen another car driving down the road that even compares to mine. Everywhere I go, everyone stares at how awsome my car is. Off white by day, and white at night, makes the perfect accent for all of the chrome that this car is blessed with. The engine is lacking in power though, for a 5.0ltr v-8 it is seriously lacking the balls that the car so richly deserves.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 5th March, 2005

26th Apr 2006, 19:27

Yes, I love the car. Mine is the 5.7 liter however, which is very impressive. Going at speeds of 100+mph feels like the car is sitting still. I speed all the time just because I can't feel how fast I'm going. The electronic gauges are very nice at anytime during the day, the pillowtop red leather seats really make the car look good. Mine's white too. I know exactly what you're talking about when you talk about how good it looks in the night. Simply can't be touched.

1st Jun 2006, 11:38

Yeah I also have the 5.7 liter with over 180,000 miles on it and it still starts every morning. The only thing I have experienced that is inconvenient is that the digital instrument panel is not working and hasn't for some time, but other than that I have beautiful red leather interior its white with a white leather rag top and I am constantly turning heads.

24th Aug 2009, 02:42

I don't have a comment but a question... Does anyone know if I'd be able to fit my V8 305ci engine in this sexy beast? I just recently acquired an '85 Caprice Classic, but the engine and transmission are the only good parts in it (the rest is one big eye sore, and would be too much work to safety). I think I might have found a mint '89 Cadillac Brougham D'Elegance with a write off engine.

1990 Cadillac Brougham 5.7 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2003
Most recent year of ownership2004
Engine and transmission 5.7 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired34000 miles
Most recent distance36000 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

Bring it back!!

Faults:

Radio started having static and popping noise.

General Comments:

Having owned more than a half-dozen of the 1990-1992 Brougham, I think it is quite simply the best product to come from GM--ever. To me, it combines the best of both worlds of "old-school" and modern sensibilities. The later models had fuel-injected engines with decent performance and handling, yet still had the styling and features that stated with confidence this was a Cadillac.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th June, 2004

1990 Cadillac Brougham 5.7 TBI V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1990
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 5.7 TBI V8 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance77000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

I cannot imagine more car for the dollar!

Faults:

The car had sat idle for about 18 months and needed a complete going over when I purchased it from the original owner. The car had mostly been serviced by the selling dealer.

I have had to replace the water pump and installed new tires and battery. I do all of the mechanical and much of the other maintenance myself so I did not pay anyone to perform repairs.

General Comments:

The 1990 Brougham to me is what a Cadillac is all about. It does not look like an upside down bathtub on wheels like so many of the new Cadillac models.

This is not a race car, however with the 5.7 V-8 it will perform quite well. The transmission is silky smooth and quite responsive.

The leather interior is in very good condition with only very minor wear on the driver seat.

The handling is what one should expect from a Cadillac of this type and vintage. It is a very heavy car, but is respectable in the road. You cannot fly around corners on two wheels, but the car is very competant and feels very solid on the interstate.

The ride quality is superb. The weight of the car and its body on frame construction makes it ride smooth quiet and the suspension soaks up most road bumps.

This is a true road car that exemplifies a bygone era of style, ride and status. Wish I had two!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 24th June, 2003

7th Jul 2003, 09:53

I am considering purchasing a 1990 Cadillac Brougham. It is a one owner vehicle in beyond excellent condition. (Estate sale) The car has 74052 miles and always garaged. $5000 is the lowest they will go. Is that a good deal?

8th Apr 2004, 00:50

I have bought a 1990 Cadillac Brougham last year and I can see for sure that this was one of my best decisions ever. This car is amazing. It has 90,000 miles and it runs like new. It is a beautiful car that runs smooth. I was able to get the car for 3,000 Can $, which I believe is a really good price. I would have given even more in order to become the owner of such a car.

It is truly one of the most looked-at cars in my area. I would recommend such a car to anyone searching for comfort, reliability and looks!

Average review marks: 8.4 / 10, based on 8 reviews