1968 Cadillac Deville Sedan 472 V8 from North America

Summary:

Like being in a sailing boat!

Faults:

Paint is pilling.

Top is in bad shape.

General Comments:

Great looks.

The cabin is very large inside.

I love my 1968 Cadillac - I picked it up for $500, all it needed was paint and the fender skirts. If any one knows where I can find the Fender Skirts, e-mail me at arlington_brock@hotmail.com. I have been looking for a year now and cannot find any, thank you!!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd May, 2003

15th Jan 2005, 20:11

Try Year One, or any U-Pull-It junk yards, for the fender skirts.

6th Dec 2006, 17:34

I'm getting a 68 cad I'm gonna demo it so if you need some parts email me at flyguy_4_u2002@yahoo.com.

1968 Cadillac Deville Coupe 472 c.i.d. from North America

Summary:

A true one of a kind!

Faults:

Well, first off it needed a new alternator and starter to make semi-reliable.

Then I stretched the timing chain. And of course the water pump had to go out.

General Comments:

The car is the most unique Cadillac that I've ever seen!

Its amazing what a 4.5 inch cowl hood and some American Racing Torq Thrust 2 wheels can do to make an old 375 horse granny mover into a real head turner.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th January, 2003

4th May 2005, 10:41

As Bugs Bunny would say, "what a maroon!"

1968 Cadillac Deville Coupe 472 V-8 from North America

Summary:

The greatest car ever made

Faults:

Put a new starter motor in -- this was not necessary but I did it to head off potential problems.

Battery died.

Pinhole leak due to rust in bottom of radiator.

Major frame and trunk rust due to age of car.

Replaced upper radiator hose due to age.

Seats atrociously worn -- Hence my Comfort Rating of "9" -- It's hard to enjoy driving with a spring sticking in your bum! :)

Air conditioning didn't work, but what else is new with old Cadillacs?

The clock in the dashboard didn't work, but that's another old Cadillac trait.

General Comments:

This car was a dead solid reliable car for the two months that I had it. It was my first old Cadillac and I didn't know they could rust in the rear body mounts and trunk pan. Rust was its only major problem. The engine ran great with 134k original miles on the clock, and if it wasn't for the rust, I'd still be driving it today! I was just out of college and couldn't afford to pay someone to do the body work to it.

Never had a single problem with the car in the time that I had it. I'm actively looking for another one to restore.

The body design was sexy and powerful-looking; the car looked like it was moving even when it was standing still. I had the car in a very nice color, Silverpine Green, with a dark green interior and a black vinyl top.

The car had trunk space like you wouldn't believe! Also lots of front and backseat room. I've owned two Cadillacs since then but none of them was as near to my heart as the old '68.

It did use a lot of gas but somehow I didn't really notice, because I was too busy being questioned by admiring strangers while I was filling up or running errands.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th January, 2002

30th Nov 2003, 07:08

I just junked a 68 coupe in green with dark green interior and a vinyl top. I payed 600 bucks Canadian for it and drove it till the cops made me take it off the road. What a ride, all I did was race in town all day. No heat though and in April its not very nice.

1968 Cadillac Deville Hardtop Sedan 472 CI High-Compression from North America

Summary:

A 2 3/4 ton tribute to Americana. Oh yes - it does 0-60 in 7.9 seconds, too!

Faults:

For an awesome, stunningly luxurious classic Cadillac, only the 'regular' things on this car have gone wrong.

I've never seen a 1968 Cadillac in person with the factory air conditioning functional. The A/C compressors are chronic trouble makers, and mine too was seized upon purchase (I've seen over 30 in person).

Small pits of front fender/rocker panel rust.

Valve guides worn from unleaded gas use (heads needed a rebuild and bronze guides).

Power trunk pulldown.

Vinyl top needed replacement due to average weathering (even though the vehicle was garaged 25 years).

Power door lock vacuum solenoids.

The mileage is... well... measured in GALLONS per MILE.

General Comments:

The 472 cubic inch big-block V8 is astounding. In 1968 and 1969 it was a virgin in the emissions department with 10.5 compression and an 850 CFM Quadrajet four-barrel. The torque is amazing and my burnouts have amazed many.

The comfort is second to none and beach trips are fun in the huge cruiser.

I was lucky enough to find one with all but a few factory options (Cruise Control, Controlled Differential, Seat Warmers, Automatic Level Control) but has beautiful Silverpine Green exterior with White Vinyl Top, Black Leather split benches front and rear, Guide-Matic, Twilight Sentinel, Power Windows/Seats/Locks/Mirrors, Power Trunk Release, Tilt and Telescopic Wheel and other Cadillacky options.

The last year for stacked headlights, first year for fabulous 472 V8, last year for real Rosewood interior trim makes the 1968 an incredible driver and collector's car.

Take the barge to the dragstrip and you'll be surprised what she can do underneath those fender skirts!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 2nd February, 2001

3rd Apr 2001, 10:15

Your correct! It is a beautiful automobile but you have to measure gallons per mile. I have a 68 Hardtop Sedan De Ville that my family bought brand new. It is a beautiful car but has been sitting under a car cover in my garage since mid 1979. With gas at almost $2.00 a gallon, who can afford to drive it? I have taken it around the block twice a year for the last 22 years just to keep it running..

P.S. The air conditioning compressor froze.