1970 Cadillac DeVille Convertible 472 c.i. from North America


This car is like a good friend


I've rebuilt the GM turbo 400 transmission twice since I've owned the car. about every 120 thousand miles.

The convertible top and the leather seats only last about 75K between replacement.

The motor is a real trooper, it went 220,000 before I finally rebuilt it, but it was still running strong, it just made lots of smoke.

Exhaust systems last 100,000 on average.

General Comments:

This is a great car. One of GM's not so stellar visual designs, but mechanically it has a heart if iron. It will NEVER leave you stranded if you treat it right. Change your oil and drive around the world as many times as you want.

I've replaced the body due to rust and accidents.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 7th April, 2005

14th May 2007, 16:06

"Not so stellar visual designs"

A matter of preference. I like the 70 more than any other cadillac than perhaps the 57's and the 64's.

4th Aug 2007, 19:57

This is one of the best cars I've owned. The car literally floats down the road!

Yes, it's big & boxy, but it's a classic Cadillac. They certainly don't make them like this anymore. This is when a Caddy looked like a Caddy -- it had the tail fins. Now they all look alike.

5th Aug 2007, 16:25

No doubt, now Cadillacs look like just another Chevy sedan.

19th Mar 2015, 15:17

I have a '70 coup Deville. Loaded in its day. I like the looks of it too.

20th Mar 2015, 13:07

Don't know any current Chevrolet sedan with the distinct front or rear view design of the current Cadillac sedans.

1970 Cadillac DeVille Convertible 472 cui. from North America


A powerful classic!


The transmission is leaking (broken gaskets?) due to the fact, I only run the car once a year in my vacations in Florida.

General Comments:

The car is a real cruiser and it is just fun to cruise the Florida beaches with the top down. It is a very comfortable and relaxed driving. We turned a lot of heads and took part at a car show this summer.

The car has everything from power steering to power seats. It is gold with white top and interior. A real beauty!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 4th November, 2003

1970 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 472 cu. in. from North America


The Standard of The World!


Cruise control went out at 90000.

General Comments:

In 1970, Cadillac was standard of the world. Chrome all over with leather power seats and a whisper-quiet ride. They say a huge, high quality luxury car like this would cost upwards of $70000 today. The ride was much smoother than any of today's high-end luxury cars. The 472 motor had unbelievable torque and could push this 20 foot monster to 60 mph in 8.0 seconds. The car never needed any repairs in the 6 years that I owned it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th October, 2002

8th Aug 2007, 23:31

Oh yea can burn rubber think about it.

1970 Cadillac DeVille SEDAN DEVILLE 472 from North America


A great living room on wheels!


This car is a 3rd owner. I purchased it for $1200.00, which I considered a bargain. I have replaced the water pump and radiator. It needs a new exhaust, and will need a paint job. The car is 33 years old, not bad in my opinion.

General Comments:

What can I say, I'm in love. She gets 9 miles per gallon. I drive it as my daily driver. This is the way I look at it. I would rather drive this and be comfortable, than have a car payment for a new car that I really don't want. These cars have soul. They are real cars, not the junk that comes off the assembly lines these days. The only thing that could make her better is if she was a convertible. She is gold, and although I don't like the color, will keep her original. Highly recommend any older Cadillac, although this is my favorite so far, and have had many.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd August, 2002

10th Apr 2004, 13:40

I agree with you. Even though gas is expensive, you save a lot of money and you get to drive a beautiful car. Turn down the timing to around 11 initial and rebuild your carb and you can get 14-15 mpg and run regular unleaded.

21st Apr 2006, 12:46

Actually the 1970 De-ville model is considered not a classic Cadillac collector car. As a matter of fact it has the lowest resale value of the entire Caddilac line aside from the maybe the Cimmoron. It's really a rusty relic from a period of American's obsession with excess and muscle cars, until the Oil embargo. For the power it has (Big Engine & Trans), the enormous weight negates any benefit. Braking is a jerk & a lurch forward out of you seat. Handling? I always felt like I was towing a trailer. Had an 89 Lincoln Continental at the same time, both drove the same. Lots of room inside made you feel insulated from the world, but parking was like docking an aircraft carrier.