1987 Cadillac Deville Reviews

1987 Cadillac Deville 4.1 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance201899 miles

Summary:

I take care of it and it takes care of me

Faults:

Because I enjoy not having a car payment, I have replaced the following parts to make this a sweet SDV:

All brake lines.

All fuel lines.

Fuel tank & sender.

Heater core.

Front hubs.

Front brakes and calipers.

Rear brakes and cylinders.

Alternator.

Cap/rotor/wires/plugs (smooth idle now).

New headliner and A-pillar cover.

A/C compressor seized... Installed a dummy one.

Tires.

Have snows on separate wheels to save $$$.

Battery.

I'm the 3rd owner, and I don't believe that the back seat has been sat in too much... like new.

General Comments:

The thing I really love about this model is that it rides like a dream for a 26 year old car, and has great heat in the winter.

Has a little rust around the edges, but is still respectable.

A beast in the snow in New York when driven safely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2013

22nd Jul 2013, 13:44

I am having trouble with my 1987 Cadillac DeVille going dead while on the freeway.

25th Jul 2013, 13:03

I think your engine is reaching the end unfortunately.

1987 Cadillac Deville V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88500 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Water pump went out, wouldn't pass emissions, changed EGR and nothing, fuel injection was crap!

Electronic comfort controls didn't work, crap leather seats worn out, never again buy a piece of crap like that again..

General Comments:

Garbage; truly a piece of garbage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2010

8th Feb 2010, 21:09

I love it, yet another review where somebody complains about a 14 year old car.

9th Feb 2010, 06:26

Well you said it's "a piece of crap". Most 14 year-old production cars are, unless they have been perfectly looked after. I agree with the other review - expecting a old car to be like new - it's not realistic.

14th Mar 2013, 21:51

Well yeah, these cars were crap. The 4.1L V8 engine was a complete joke in power and reliability, and the parts were lower quality than in the past. Not to mention the rather generic styling for a Cadillac. Probably some of the worst Cadillacs ever made.

1987 Cadillac Deville Sedan Deville 4.1 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80500 miles
Most recent distance80500 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Cadillac did a hell of a job!

Faults:

EGR valve.

General Comments:

The car is amazing at only 80,xxx miles, and it drives as if it just came off the lot back in 1987.

This Caddy has all toys you would expect for a luxury automobile to have, the car is in "EXTREME" pristine condition - you wouldn't believe your eyes at the condition it's in for a 23 year old car.

The 4.1 has enough power to get this big thing moving, doesn't take much to pass a Honda in traffic. LOL.

The interior is cabin like. There is so much room to maneuver, and for everyone to be in complete comfort without bumping heads.

I would recommend this car to anyone who likes older cars with all the bells and whistles.

I plan on keeping this car forever, I mean that when I say that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2009

27th Sep 2009, 07:40

Soon a headgasket will blow and that will be it. You will not have this lemon long...

17th Nov 2009, 23:31

I seen 4.1 engines "fwd" models make it to almost 300,000 miles.

If you keep your maintenance then you are A-OKAY!

I'm not worry about it, everyone have there opinions.

If you don't take care of it, of course things like that can happen.

But in the meantime, she is a beauty, and hasn't giving me any major trouble.

22nd Feb 2012, 18:44

That's the Northstar motors. The older ones didn't have that problem.

11th Jul 2014, 01:15

Funny, I owned an 85 Fleetwood with a 4.1 and sold it with 200,000 miles on it, still running like new.

I knew someone who had an El Dorado with 280,000 miles on it. The body rusted off the car from NY winters, but the engine would not die.

My parents had a Northstar that self destructed at 100,000 miles (as expected with these engines) that was maintained perfectly. The 4.1 was fine if you maintained it and didn't overheat the engine. Northstars were the ones that are notorious for blowing head gaskets. I should know; I have owned Cadillacs for years, as well as having worked on many of them!

11th Jul 2014, 14:22

The HT 4100 from '82-'83 had multiple problems with head gaskets, worn cam lobes and leaking intakes, let alone being very underpowered. By 1984 they were improved, and in '85 the transverse mounted versions had adequate power.

12th Jul 2014, 15:10

The only good aluminum Cadillac engines were the 4.5 and 4.9 from the years 1988-1993.

21st Jul 2014, 00:10

Enjoy your 87 Caddy. I remember my high school English teacher would pick me up some mornings in her black 87 Sedan DeVille. What an absolute DREAM it was to ride in. I loved it more than the 1991 she got. The 87 seemed so small on the outside, and yet I marveled at how it drove like a much larger car (in the Cadillac tradition). Can't say much for the finish work on any GM products of that generation, but I still think the 87 Sedan DeVille was a pretty awesome little Caddy. Enjoy what you have!

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews