1987 Cadillac DeVille Reviews

1987 Cadillac DeVille 4.1 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2010
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 6 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.0 / 10
Distance when acquired175000 miles
Most recent distance201899 miles

Summary:

I take care of it and it takes care of me

Faults:

Because I enjoy not having a car payment, I have replaced the following parts to make this a sweet SDV:

All brake lines.

All fuel lines.

Fuel tank & sender.

Heater core.

Front hubs.

Front brakes and calipers.

Rear brakes and cylinders.

Alternator.

Cap/rotor/wires/plugs (smooth idle now).

New headliner and A-pillar cover.

A/C compressor seized... Installed a dummy one.

Tires.

Have snows on separate wheels to save $$$.

Battery.

I'm the 3rd owner, and I don't believe that the back seat has been sat in too much... like new.

General Comments:

The thing I really love about this model is that it rides like a dream for a 26 year old car, and has great heat in the winter.

Has a little rust around the edges, but is still respectable.

A beast in the snow in New York when driven safely.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 3rd March, 2013

22nd Jul 2013, 13:44

I am having trouble with my 1987 Cadillac DeVille going dead while on the freeway.

25th Jul 2013, 13:03

I think your engine is reaching the end unfortunately.

1987 Cadillac DeVille V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission V8 Automatic
Performance marks 4 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 6 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
4.4 / 10
Distance when acquired88500 miles
Most recent distance97000 miles
Previous carCadillac Eldorado

Summary:

Crap

Faults:

Water pump went out, wouldn't pass emissions, changed EGR and nothing, fuel injection was crap!

Electronic comfort controls didn't work, crap leather seats worn out, never again buy a piece of crap like that again..

General Comments:

Garbage; truly a piece of garbage.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 8th February, 2010

8th Feb 2010, 21:09

I love it, yet another review where somebody complains about a 14 year old car.

9th Feb 2010, 06:26

Well you said it's "a piece of crap". Most 14 year-old production cars are, unless they have been perfectly looked after. I agree with the other review - expecting a old car to be like new - it's not realistic.

14th Mar 2013, 21:51

Well yeah, these cars were crap. The 4.1L V8 engine was a complete joke in power and reliability, and the parts were lower quality than in the past. Not to mention the rather generic styling for a Cadillac. Probably some of the worst Cadillacs ever made.

1987 Cadillac DeVille Sedan Deville 4.1 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1987
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
10.0 / 10
Distance when acquired80500 miles
Most recent distance80500 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Cadillac did a hell of a job!

Faults:

EGR valve.

General Comments:

The car is amazing at only 80,xxx miles, and it drives as if it just came off the lot back in 1987.

This Caddy has all toys you would expect for a luxury automobile to have, the car is in "EXTREME" pristine condition - you wouldn't believe your eyes at the condition it's in for a 23 year old car.

The 4.1 has enough power to get this big thing moving, doesn't take much to pass a Honda in traffic. LOL.

The interior is cabin like. There is so much room to maneuver, and for everyone to be in complete comfort without bumping heads.

I would recommend this car to anyone who likes older cars with all the bells and whistles.

I plan on keeping this car forever, I mean that when I say that.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd September, 2009

27th Sep 2009, 07:40

Soon a headgasket will blow and that will be it. You will not have this lemon long...

17th Nov 2009, 23:31

I seen 4.1 engines "fwd" models make it to almost 300,000 miles.

If you keep your maintenance then you are A-OKAY!

I'm not worry about it, everyone have there opinions.

If you don't take care of it, of course things like that can happen.

But in the meantime, she is a beauty, and hasn't giving me any major trouble.

22nd Feb 2012, 18:44

That's the Northstar motors. The older ones didn't have that problem.

1987 Cadillac DeVille Sedan HT 4.1 from North America

Model year1987
Year of manufacture1986
First year of ownership1987
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission HT 4.1 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.6 / 10
Distance when acquired2 miles
Most recent distance105000 miles
Previous carCadillac Brougham

Summary:

Un-rivaled in Comfot, style and Reliability... BEAUTIFUL

Faults:

Nothing has ever went wrong with this car, and hopefully it won't. We have never had any major problems with this car, only the usual services etc. No pumps, compressors, or anything had to be replaced, escept for new brakes, added on 2005.

General Comments:

This car was bought new by my grandmother way back in 87 and is in pristine condition. It has never sit outside, and when the car was outside in the parking lot while she was somewhere, she always used her car cover to cover it up to keep from damage by sun, weather, or birds.

The cabin is very roomy, and the seats are quite comfortable, covered in red leather. There is almost as much legroom in the back as is in the front, natural for a car as great as a cadillac.

The Brougham she had before this car (a 1977 Model), was roomier, and of course much longer, but it was sold off back in 2005 at the death of her 2nd husband, who took the car as his daily driver after the purchase of her new DeVille.

This Cadillac has no rival in the fields of comfort, reliability, and style. It gets around 23-24 mpg on the highway, and about 18-20 in town, quite good for a car of this size, as opposed to the 77 Brougham (with a carburetor),which got around 12 or 15.

The HT 4100 engine is notorious for trouble, but so long as it is maintained, and serviced regularly and correctly, it is as reliable as any other engine out there.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 9th May, 2008

18th Jan 2009, 14:00

My parents bought an 86 Cad coupe DeVille. They showed me at least $10,000 in repairs. The car was a lemon. I figured with all the repairs they did it must be perfect. Well the lemon never quit. I spent as much as they did and more because of over heating. It finally blew a head gasket and tore up the motor too. I had it rebuilt and after a few months it blew another head gasket. I practically gave that beautiful piece of junk away. I found out later the cooling system was never good, and the 4100 should have been recalled because when it over heated, the entire engine would torque enough to take out the main bearings and break the crank in half.

It cost me about $400 a month to keep it running because of the heat problem; that was the main culprit.

Average review marks: 7.5 / 10, based on 11 reviews