1992 Cadillac Deville Reviews - Page 3 of 7

1992 Cadillac Deville 4.9 V8 from North America

Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.9 V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired95000 miles
Most recent distance96902 miles

Summary:

Awesome true American Luxury

Faults:

Full Cadillac tune-up last month.

Other than that everything has been great.

General Comments:

This is my first car, I'm 16, and always wanted a Caddi. My father has always owned a Caddi, IE, 61 coupe deville, 65 coupe deville, and a HUGE 70, Fleetwood limo. Cadillacs are in my DNA. I bought this 92 sedan deville last month and have loved it since then. It is very fast for its size, and has a nice deep rumble. It floats down the road with effortless acceleration. All my friends are jealous, I have the "pimp-mobile."

I was told that gas mileage is horrid, and it is, but also like I was also told "It doesn't matter what mileage your getting when your driving a Caddi."

Sooooo true, I have got many complements on its beautiful looks. (Pearl white with gold Cadillac symbols, and morroonish red leather interior.)

I have saved my money all my life for a used Caddi and I made that dream come true, I love this Caddi and hope to hold on to it for many years, Hey, it will make a great project car for when I retire.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 22nd February, 2006

29th May 2009, 20:38

I'm replying to this review as it was my own 3 years ago, it's a funny review.

The car is pretty reliable, there's lots of moving parts on Cadillacs and lots to go wrong. I put probably 1500 into it, sometimes money well spent, and sometimes on finicky electrical stuff.

The air ride suspension broke, making the car ride at the top of the shocks, the back was propped up and the ride was hard. Cost like 800 to replace the entire rear suspension. Worst part is, it may have a cracked cylinder head. If so, then I'm gonna legally sell it for 500 US dollars cash to a friend of mine.

Next week I'm going to purchase an 82 Cadillac Deville with the famous HighTechnology4100 digital fuel injection V8 125 horsepower beast of a powerplant!

I love Cadillacs and can't wait to get this new one. I'm gonna miss my 92 Deville, but I drove it for a while and enjoyed it. It was a pretty powerful car with a very smooth ride!!!

7th Dec 2012, 18:24

I just got my Caddi. I'm having trouble with my lights staying on. Don't know what's wrong. I hope you're trouble free.

1992 Cadillac Deville 4.9 Liter from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.9 Liter Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.5 / 10
Distance when acquired69000 miles
Most recent distance116000 miles
Previous carMercedes-Benz W124

Summary:

It is a very dependable well built car with all the comforts of home

Faults:

Water pump failed at 70,000 miles

No other problems except normal maintenance.

General Comments:

This car is extremely dependable.

Rides like a dream.

Very quick acceleration.

More power than you will ever need.

Handles very good.

Has the room of a small house inside.

Trunk space is enormous.

The body has great fit and finish.

Paint still looks new after all these years.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th January, 2006

1992 Cadillac Deville Sedan Deville 4.9 from North America

Model year1992
Year of manufacture1992
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.9 Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.0 / 10
Distance when acquired129300 miles
Most recent distance129521 miles
Previous carDodge Caravan

Summary:

Great Power and a smooth ride

Faults:

Cracked Windshield.

Minor scratches on roof and hood.

Engine has slight miss.

General Comments:

I found this car on Ebay and decided to go to Kentucky where it was located. When I first saw the car I was amazed on how clean the outside and inside of the car was. We test drove the car and it seemed to run very well with great power and everything worked, so I decided to buy it. Well on the way back home I noticed when I would try to accelerate from a standstill it would hesitate for a few seconds and then take off. As we continued to drive the car began to do this same problem more and more and even when I would press down to pass someone. Currently the car is sitting in front of the house and starts up and everything, but I do not chance driving it since it seems to want to die out whenever you accelerate. I have been told that it can need a tune up to the fuel injector's and I noticed that white smoke comes from the exhaust when it idles, but the car never overheats and was driven back 251 miles without running hot, just the hesitation issues. The car is very clean and looks good, now I am just hoping that the repairs needed to fix these problems are minor and I did not get taken for it's good looks. If anyone has experienced any problems similar to these please offer me some feedback as it would be greatly appreciated. Other than that I cannot comment on how reliable the car is or will be since I have not been able to drive it or know what problems it has.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 26th May, 2005

6th Jun 2005, 13:59

I suggest searching the internet for cadillac forums.

Also, since you have over 100,000 miles miles on your car, a tune-up might be in order.

I hope you find your answer(s) soon & start driving your beautiful car!

7th Jul 2005, 10:18

You probably bought bad gas which affected your injectors. I'd try buying a 3M injector cleaning kit before replacing all the injectors.

Average review marks: 7.7 / 10, based on 18 reviews