1996 Cadillac DeVille Reviews - Page 2 of 4

1996 Cadillac DeVille Northstar from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 7 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired74000 miles
Most recent distance78000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Am

Summary:

Good overall

Faults:

Problems starting the car when cold. Have had the fuel system checked out, and everything is OK there. Any ideas?

It has stalled twice when I slowed down in traffic. But started right up when placed in neutral and cranked. Any comments?

General Comments:

It is a great car overall, smooth ride, normal wear and tear, expensive parts of course

I advise you should be a handy mechanic to cut costs on labor.

My mom owns a Northstar as well in a Seville, no problems except the started went out at 100000. It went out again about 5000 miles later, bought at Oreilly. Maybe we can't use aftermarket starters, not sure.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th November, 2005

15th Nov 2005, 19:22

Replace your fuel filter and battery. If that doesn't help I suggest a good tune up with plugs, wires, and coils all replaced. Good luck.

15th Nov 2005, 21:08

Check your catalytic converter(s). If it is clogged the added back pressure in the exhaust could cause your engine to stall when slowing down or accelerating.

28th Dec 2005, 09:23

Where is the starter located at on a 97 cadillac?

1996 Cadillac DeVille Sedan 4.6L DOHC 275 hp from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2000
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission 4.6L DOHC 275 hp Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 7 / 10
Dealer Service marks 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
6.0 / 10
Distance when acquired15800 miles
Most recent distance94500 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Will not buy another Deville or the new DTS

Faults:

AC Blower Motor died at 59650 miles. Total repair cost - $581.

Had to replace fuel pump at 94000 miles. Module broke off from pump when car struck curb at 5 mph. Very poor in-tank design and labor intensive to install. Set me back $795.

Car eats breaks and rotors. All four brakes, rotors and calipers required replacement at 31000 miles. $935.

Service Ride Control message on DIC. Ignoring message after receiving quote of $2450 to replace controlled suspension components.

Fuel pressure regulator died at 83660 miles. $275.

General Comments:

The Northstar engine is a solid performer with plenty of power and acceleration.

The car is a very comfortable highway cruiser, but overall it has serious quality issues and poor reliability. I drove my previous car, a 1993 Deville, for 138000 miles, without exorbitant repair costs and long lay-ups in the repair garage. Other than an excellent engine design, nearly all other vehicle systems are of poor quality, design and workmanship. Repair costs are budget-busting!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 11th October, 2005

1996 Cadillac DeVille Northstar 4.6 liter from North America

Model year1996
Year of manufacture1995
First year of ownership2001
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Northstar 4.6 liter Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.3 / 10
Distance when acquired54000 miles
Most recent distance98000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Best car all around I ever had (than even the previous two caddies, a 1985 and a 1990!

Faults:

Replaced brakes once in 4 years.

Replaced water pump myself. It was leaking (I do most of my own work). Pump was about $80.

Replaced thermostat also.

Replaced Radiator for $150. It too was leaking from the plastic on the passenger side. No cooling problems since.

Had to replace the fuel pump. About $200 with labor (a friend. Wasn't about to mess with the gas tank).

Replaced a noisy steering pump. $30.

Only other major work was transmission. Had to have it rebuilt because it seems that a hacker got to it with the previous owner and they glued (!!!) the valve body to the transmission. All kinds of pieces did some damage to the gears and other components. Rebuild cost a few bucks... OK $2600, but she runs better than ever now after 5K miles already! Even get about two to three miles per gallon more mileage (32 Miles Per Gallon at best, 62 miles per hour) than an already impressive 28 MPG!

General Comments:

Runs terrific otherwise, love it. Gets up and goes mighty fast when I need it.

Alignment so straight I can let go of the wheel for up to 3 miles at 60 miles per hour, before the road turns, that is!

Only other negative, if it is a negative, is suspension. Very smooth when driving normally. But at times when needing speed, sometimes a little shaky, as if it needs slightly stiffer shocks/struts, or fatter stabilizer bar. I may get the Concours suspension, and use the stiffer struts with the current springs.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 10th October, 2005

1996 Cadillac DeVille Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1996
First year of ownership2004
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 6 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.7 / 10
Distance when acquired97700 miles
Most recent distance98471 miles
Previous carPlymouth Acclaim

Summary:

I love this car

Faults:

I have had a water pump replaced after losing my coolant while on the Interstate. The cost for this was $520.00 This included a new pump housing.

I had to replace the radiator a week after replacing the water pump, The cost of this was $438.00.

I am loosing coolant now and there is no visible signs of a leak. Does anyone have or have had this same problem?

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 19th May, 2005

26th May 2005, 07:44

If I'm not mistaken, these cars leak coolant throught the heads (or something like that). It's a common problem that according to other reviews, can be corrected by using some stop leak pellets. I think my Seville might have the same problem. I have not looked into it since this Caddys is my second car, which I use only on the weekends and on short trips.

16th Aug 2005, 23:25

My very loved cadillac lost engine coolant very quickly and quit, was hooked up to every tool in the garage and no one seems to know where it went, that was 2 months ago. I just replaced the water pump, hopefully problem solved. My car loves oil to, but I've switched to the synthetic, helps immensely.

Average review marks: 6.8 / 10, based on 14 reviews