1996 Cadillac Deville Concours 4.6 V8 Northstar from North America

Summary:

Stay Away! Lemon!

Faults:

Starter would work when it wanted to.

General Comments:

Stay away. A total lemon. Car costs a ton to own, and you still won't get your money's worth. Uncomfortable, unreliable! Has turned me off to Cadillac for a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 17th August, 2004

9th May 2005, 21:26

Please be a little more specific about what is wrong with your 'lemon'. Sounds like its just one little thing that is getting you mad. The 96 Deville is one of the most wanted used cars that there is domestic - wise. Northstar engine very sound and this car makes a great buy considering the depreciation it takes.

1996 Cadillac Deville Sedan 4.6 Litre from North America

Summary:

The 1996 Cadillac DeVille is a great car!!

Faults:

First, at around 115,000 I put another radiator. Cost about $100.00 rebuilt.

Second, the water pump at around 122,000, cost around $140 for the part plus about $40 for the labor.

Just got my brakes checked and I just noticed that from the rear suspension; there is fluid leaking out slow. Meaning soon I will have to put new air shocks (dealership $1000 a piece), but the replacement air suspension for all 4 tires is about $500-$600.

Around 128,000 the traction control light came on. I was told that it was just a sensor (around $50-$75 plus labor), but I had it tested and the machine said my sensors are fine. So I don't know how much actually. I had 20 inch wheels on the car, maybe this is why my suspension is messing up. I will do it again though, I just need 2 tires.

Recently, I checked out the air condition pressure at around 139,000 miles and it had half the freon in it. So I filled it totally up for around $20 from a friend. Blows cold like snow.

General Comments:

This car is an exceptionally well car. As soon as I sell it, I will get another Cadillac De Ville; although, I will get a newer year. Not because of the problems, I just like the newer front ends of the car.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 16th July, 2003

5th Mar 2008, 18:42

My 1996 Caddy has 167,000 miles on it and still runs like a champ, so I don't know what you're all complaining about. If you don't like Cadillacs buy a different car.

3rd May 2008, 19:13

My 1996 Yom Kippur Clipper has 201,000 miles on it, and is the envy of my ritzy summer neighborhood.

Retro can rule--and in my case, does!

1996 Cadillac Deville 4.6 from North America

Summary:

Too many out -sourced components

Faults:

Too many trips to the dealer to list, but the latest is a safety issue. The fuel injector lines (plastic) were vaporizing gas over the engine. Why this didn't ignite is a mystery. Total replacement of this molded component will be close to $1500. This GM really was and is a Grand Mistake.

General Comments:

The ride is too soft.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 12th June, 2003

31st Dec 2004, 18:56

I lOVE my spring edition 1996 deville no problems with the fuel rail the few that did have issues made a bigger deal than what it accually was, better off not letting any one touch.{ it except myself of course} great power, good handling nice ride.

1996 Cadillac Deville Sedan Deville from North America

Summary:

I Love my Cadillac

Faults:

Transmission would not go past 50mpg

Ignition System went bad and car was unable to start.

General Comments:

This is a luxury car for sure.

Power, Handling, and Comfort with some to spare.

Car was 4500.00 plus 1000.00 for a new transmission.

Car ran well until suddenly the car would not start due to a theft system in the ignition. The new ignition was 400.00. I drove the car home put my sub woofers back in the trunk and boom the car would not start. It will only click. So now something else has went bad. I hope this problem doesn't linger to long.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 28th May, 2003

16th Mar 2005, 16:51

My 1995 sedan deville won't start due to theft system. I tried a different key and that didn't work either. Is the problem the ignition??? Can I disconnect the theft system??

It keeps saying "wait three minutes". I try to start it and it says "wait three minutes again" over and over... any suggestions on what to do??? Help!!!