1997 Cadillac Deville Reviews - Page 6 of 6

1997 Cadillac Deville 4.6 from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1998
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6 Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.8 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

If not for my 90 cad, I would say it is a piece of junk

Faults:

Rotors have been replaced 4 times.

Head light switch replaced.

Switches on all doors have been replaced.

Air conditioner replaced 54k miles.

Replaced motor mounts.

Replaced alternator.

Replaced water pump.

Throttle body serviced 3 times.

General Comments:

Car rides great, steering feels rough.

Gas mileage is about 5 mpg less than my prior Cadillac (90)

Air noise on interstate.

I was unable to get any help from Cadillac on any quality issue.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 15th August, 2003

1997 Cadillac Deville northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission northstar Automatic
Performance marks 7 / 10
Reliability marks 3 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 3 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
5.0 / 10
Distance when acquired11000 miles
Most recent distance100000 miles
Previous carOldsmobile 98

Summary:

This car consumes oil, time and money

Faults:

My headlight switch became inoperable.

My interior lights failed to come on.

I consumed up to 3 quarts of oil between 3,000 mile oil changes.

My rack-in pinion went bad.

Front and rear struts went bad early.

General Comments:

I have not been able to fix any problems on my car with only one trip to the dealer. They always needed at least two visits to fix the problem.

My oil consumption problem has resulted in numerous trips to the dealer to prove I was consuming oil and two trips to decarbon the engine and a trip to have it rebuilt, which took a month, and I am still consuming oil. This problem started about 25,000-30,000 miles.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd August, 2003

28th Jan 2005, 06:39

Also have 1997 Deville with 55,000 miles. Oil low at 1000 miles - takes 1/2 qts. Oil changed at 3,000 miles.

And at 1000 miles " oil life " read 78 % which seems low.

Have heard Northstar engines eat oil. If true - maybe my oil issues are " normal ".

Appreciate responses from Cadillac owners.

Ed Webb commonwealth@msn.com.

24th Sep 2005, 12:23

I bought my 97 Deville 2 years ago with 81K miles. It is the best!! It uses 1 quart oil every 3000 miles and reads 74% at 3000 miles, not bad for 275 HP. The northstar package is the best auto technology the US ever made to date. Massive power with great economy, I get 22 city 31 highway. worst was 19 best was 33.5mpg. This is my 3rd caddy, 81 fleetwood, 86 coupe.

1997 Cadillac Deville D'Elegance 4.6Liter Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership2002
Most recent year of ownership2003
Engine and transmission 4.6Liter Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.6 / 10
Distance when acquired68000 miles
Most recent distance80000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

A great investment for the future

Faults:

Only normal wear and tear so far.

General Comments:

Excellent vehicle. Smooth ride and very quiet. It has enough power to pass almost anything on the road. Plenty of room to haul all my friends in, and it looks good too.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th April, 2003

15th Sep 2006, 13:10

Great investment for the future? Get back to us in 3yrs. and let us know how your 'investment' turned out.

1997 Cadillac Deville D'Elegance 4.6 32 Valve Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture1997
First year of ownership1999
Most recent year of ownership2002
Engine and transmission 4.6 32 Valve Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 4 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 3 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.4 / 10
Distance when acquired20000 miles
Most recent distance137000 miles
Previous carCadillac DeVille

Summary:

Expensive but well worth it

Faults:

Water pump went at 120,000.

General Comments:

I love this car it can get 0-60 in 8 seconds and can do a 1/4 mile in 13.4 seconds It's got 300 h.p. baby!!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 18th January, 2002

14th Jun 2002, 23:42

I'm thinking of purchasing a '97 d'Elegance. Could you give me some preventative maintenence tips, some occasional glitches and some replacement/maintenence costs? That would be a huge help. Thank you.

13th Feb 2003, 07:03

The De Ville Concours has the 300 HP variant, while the others have 275. No way a car this heavy will run 13.4 seconds in the quarter mile, but it certainly is a strong runner. I'd guess 15.4 seconds at the quickest. My Concours, a 1997, had 32,000 1-owner miles when I bought it in 2002. Other than oil leakage from the typical Northstar crappy seals it has been a flawless performer. Once I accidentally shut off the traction control system while driving. The engine and entire electrical system shut down! It immediately restarted after coasting to a stop in the middle of the road. Not good. Still, you 'gotta love a car this big when roominess is what you want. I sure do. BTW: My other car is a Kawasaki ZZR1200 motorcycle

Average review marks: 6.9 / 10, based on 19 reviews