1978 Cadillac Eldorado 425 from North America

Summary:

The 1978 cadillac Eldorado is the best car that I have ever owned

Faults:

The car was in need of a new front end the entire drive system was worn out.

Minor rust.

As for the engine I had to perform routine maintenance by replacing the water pump, all hoses, heater core and radiator and windshield motor.

The steering wheel was dry rotted.

All the seats were in good condition except for the driver’s seat and arm rest.

General Comments:

The car is a smooth ridding car the interior is spacious and it provides the most comfortable seating for the passengers and drivers.

The Eldorado is a large car that is 18.5 feet long that will grasp the eyes of anyone that passes by.

Although I have restored it to look as if it has just came out of the factory the 78 Eldorado does not retail for as much as someone would invest in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 25th September, 2007

16th Apr 2009, 04:48

Hey, if you can't afford it...

15th Aug 2009, 07:07

I've owned a 78 Eldo for the last ten years. It is like new, with only 36K on it. I bought it with 33K miles. I really haven't driven it much, but it glides along like riding on a cloud. Obviously, I haven't made any repairs to the car, except new tires, front shocks, and exhaust work when I bought the car. The original owner didn't even keep it licensed, only starting it up once in a while. That explains the rusted out muffler and leaking shocks. Also, the A/C does not work, also understandable.

So my car has all original belts, hoses, plugs, water pump, alternator, radiator and fluid, brake calipers, etc. I've grown from a young man who could do almost any non major repair job, to an older man who is rapidly losing his physical capacity to do this type of work. I cannot even fathom how much money an honest repairman will charge to repair this car when needed, let alone someone who says to himself as I would enter his shop, "We can really soak this sucker with his old Cadillac."

I feel that I should probably sell this car, my newer car sits out while the 78 is garaged with a nice dust cover protecting it. But it's hard to part with a beautiful part of history, when American cars were king.

16th Aug 2009, 11:35

I don't think you'll find this car all that expensive to repair. Many General Motors parts are interchangeable between Cadillac and the other brands, and in any case all are pretty cheap and mostly still available made by aftermarket suppliers. And these old cars are very simple, so anyone can work on them. It'll really be cheaper to get this old classic fixed than the awful new cars being sold today.

2nd Apr 2012, 22:20

I have one of these.

Just bought a new fuel pump, $25, shipping included.

Also need a power steering pump; that's a bit more expensive, $45.

Also replaced the alternator for $50.

For the water pump, I went with the high output one for a total of $32. Didn't need it, but while I was busy...

I mean, what do you expect for a car that's almost 40 years old. Things need replacing.

A friend of mine has a new MINI. He had his fuel pump and something else replaced. Could be the water pump, but I forget. Total bill around $2000.

For that price I can buy a whole master engine rebuild kit ($800), front end service kit ($400), alternator, fuel pump, water pump, power steering pump, front brakes, rear brakes, and have enough left for some beer.

1978 Cadillac Eldorado Custom Barritz 425 Rochester from North America

Summary:

Great cruise machine for do it yourself types

Faults:

Turbo 425 Tranny went out. Got it rebuilt for a mere 1000 dollars. Works like magic. Cv joint died. replaced. Had pro tune up done. Distributor was seized in engine. Works well now. Tires hard to balance due to strange balance weights. Changed ball joints and frt and rear wheel bearings. New pitman arm. Steers very well now. Installed K & N air filter. The 425 loves that K & N. Switched to synthetic oil. Big difference! 425's love synthetic.

General Comments:

Reasonably quick acceleration and power compared to other street vehicles. Great cruiser. Comfort is second only to other Cadillacs. Parts are cheap. Reliable car. Low cost. Decent fuel econ for its size. Car is best for those that can repair, since it does take some attention to keep the car in good order, as a daily driver. However for a 25 year old car, the quality is amazing. I regularly outperform much newer more expensive wheels. And I use it daily year round. likely the safest car on the planet.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 6th September, 2003

1978 Cadillac Eldorado Custom Biarritz Classic 425 cid V8 from North America

Summary:

A powerful, rare beauty that shows why Cadillac was the ultimate in luxury in the 1970s

Faults:

I bought the car needing a heater core, alternator, and CV boots, as well as the usual tune-up, radiator flush, etc. that old cars all need. After doing all that, I had spent only about $200, and had a great-running car!

General Comments:

This is the most comfortable car I have ever owned. The pillow-style leather seating was buttery-soft and made for a comfortable ride, whether on short trips or long drives.

The sunroof was a limited 500-production run option, and it was great! All the open air of a convertible with none of the scissor-top hassles.

Very nice pick-up and handling/engine performance for such a large car. Faster than many of my other Cadillacs with even larger engines.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th October, 2002

1978 Cadillac Eldorado Biarritz 425 cid OHV V8 from North America

Faults:

Load leveling shocks failed, radiator failed, needed new shocks.

General Comments:

Biarritz trimline was nice, comfort was second to none. Buy one in good condition and you will not be disappointed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th June, 1998

18th Oct 2012, 08:15

Just bought a rust free 78 Eldorado with 90k on it. I was going to resell it, but a funny thing happened on the way home with it... I fell in love with it! It's not going anyplace, but it does need some TLC.

I cannot find the trim that goes around the vinyl roof, or a spring loaded gas door/license plate door that you have to pull down to put gas in. Also, a driver's side "quarter" window; this is not a Barritz. Any tips or leads would be helpful. I want to show it off!

19th Oct 2012, 17:52

CTC Auto Ranch, Denton Texas.

Plenty of body, trim and hard to find parts for all GM cars from this era.

Good luck.