1999 Cadillac Escalade from North America - Comments

29th Jan 2004, 11:20

I noted your comments about all the fuel injection components and the ECU. After hearing about dealerships elsewhere and from many others, I have realized that many just "change parts" until they repair it. After all, they are spending your money.

When a car is skipping on one cylinder and the repairman tells your mother she needs new spark plug wires, radiator cap and a front-end alignment to fix it, one begins to lose trust!

When the service manager tells your daughter that she cannot buy just one tire because the car will be uncontrollable, and, by the way, the front brake pads need replacement for only $350.00 per wheel, one loses even more trust. When she replied that her father had replaced the pads the day before, they responded that she must have done some hard braking!

I'm making a short story long. When you do the work yourself, you diagnose and replace only defective parts. You also know it was done right.

18th Oct 2005, 00:34

Driven some Caddies. In fact, I've driven almost everything with wheels that happens to be mainstream in America. I have to say, 70,000 mile isn't too much for an Escalade, I have a Buick with 156k on it and it's still running like new. Fact is, with every model, no matter who makes it and what it is, a few vehicles with problems that weren't noticed in the factory make it out. These are lemons. You got one. That doesn't mean every Escalade has these problems. Not to mention, when a model of vehicle first comes out, don't buy it. Give them a couple years to work out the bugs. Never buy first year models if quality is a concern. At that point, they're just floating it to see if their new idea is good enough to sell. Hell, a 99 Escalade is a GMC Denali with the Caddy name slapped on it and a few more frills inside.

23rd Nov 2005, 23:55

Sounds like this owner (if he owns one) didn't do a very good job in selecting his used car.

These vehicles are very dependable, that goes for their Yukon or Tahoe brethren as well.

3rd Jan 2006, 10:48

Sounds like the current (or previous owner's fault), what he doesn't mention is the interval in which the oil was changed... 3000 miles and Full Synthetic should make even an escalade last way beyond 100,000+. Hell, my dad's old 1997 Expedition has 310,000 miles on it and runs great and shifts without any slippage due to him changing the oil all the time. Another thing this guy forgets to mention is if the " CHECK ENGINE (or Service Engine Soon) light is on... any average person should own a OBD2 scanner and being that this car fits in the category of 1996 or newer, it definitely has OBD2. When a car blows "Smoke", he could at least say " blue, or black", so we can make a better conclusion. Blue smoke could be anything from a messed up valve assemble, cracked ring, scratched cylinder walls, etc. Black could be anything.

13th Jan 2006, 16:42

Either this person bought a "lemon" or this was owner caused problems. I have a 99' Escalade with 91,000 miles and have had no big problems with and it still looks like new on the inside and outside. (My father has a 94' Suburban and had no major problems with it either.) However, I do a very good job maintaining my truck and know that if you want your vehicle to last you have got to take proper care of it.

I do feel sorry if this owner did buy a lemon though.

13th Jan 2006, 19:23

Isn't it a little extreme to swear off all American cars just because you made a poor decision on buying a used car? You bought a used car, with relatively higher miles. The previous owner got the best out of this car and never took care of it, leaving the problems for the 2nd owner, you. I'm sure the original owner would say "This was a great car, I never had to do a thing to it!" You not only bought the problems resulting from a lack of maintenance from the original owner, but you were subsequently victimized by a mechanic who assumed he could slip a lot of charges over on some clueless dude driving a Cadillac. As one of the previous posters commented, you replaced a lot of parts, but never really said what the original problem was as to why things were replaced. You should get suspicious when the first thing a mechanic wants to replace is also the most expensive. When they say "catalytic converter, transmission rebuild, or computer" I would get a second opinion.

21st Jan 2006, 23:04

Yes, another "fishy" review - my Grand Prix looks and drives like new with 120k on it (I just got the bearings fixed and tie rod ends, a window motor and that's about it.) Yank cars work well, my friend, it's just that some Yanks and others just don't take care of them.

My caddy rocks - best car I've ever owned. I have a convertible 5.0 Mustang that I drive a lot (not even sure of miles - 200k? - odom may have been tampered with. I fix things here and there, but it is cheap to drive and it JUST KEEPS GOING. Gotta' love those Yank cars!

22nd Jan 2006, 11:31

Really? HMMMMM, I suggest you read the reviews of these "yank cars" on this site. Not too promising. Then there is the fact my friend's Focus had 20 recalls and was in the shop 10 times besides leaving him stranded in a parking lot.

American cars are ALWAYS a crapshoot. There is NO consistent quality. I have friends that repainted their 1985 Mustang for $1,400, a huge amount for a car that was worth maybe $3,000. But they loved the car. Yet I have other friends that wouldn't be caught dead in an unreliable Mustang.

22nd Jan 2006, 15:54

Face it. EVERY car is a crap shoot. You won't find a single brand here for which there isn't at least one person who had a problem. In high mass production, there are a certain percentage of units that just don't go together right. Maybe all the parts were at the outside limits of their tolerance ranges, and then you factor in how the owner treats them. Some models have more problems than others, but you will find complaints about Toyota, Mercedes, Lexus, Mazda, Honda, MG, Land Rover, Volkswagen, Saab -- you name it. I don't suppose you would dare to name the brand that you feel is absolutely reliable and has 100% customer satisfaction... no, I didn't think so.

23rd Jan 2006, 04:33

A recent web-page on a news site suggested that this model is a symbol of everything that is wrong with US automakers at present. A huge gas guzzler at a time when the world is moving to fuel efficient automobiles.

As for the risks of buying a high mileage vehicle, my 1993 Honda Accord has covered 189,000 miles and is running like a near-new car. I bought it second-hand from an engineer-friend who had the means and interest to maintain it regularly himself. He emphasised the importance of regular oil and oil filter changes. As a previous commenter said, this applies to all cars...