2002 Cadillac Seville Reviews

2002 Cadillac Seville from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
7.8 / 10
Distance when acquired64000 miles
Most recent distance65450 miles
Previous carGMC P.T. cruiser

Summary:

Great

Faults:

Frontend vibration.

General Comments:

Great car...luxury, fast, handles like a smaller car.. I fixed the front end vibration with a " road force balance... now it's smooth and vibration free...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 8th March, 2008

2002 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 Northstar from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2008
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6 Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63300 miles
Most recent distance64300 miles

Summary:

I'm very happy with it.. makes my day...!

Faults:

Nothing so far...I'am having a little from end vibration...Information I gleaned from the net may help cure this problem..!

General Comments:

I love the quality, luxury, power and looks... I can't afford a new one so this gives me a taste of being wealthy... great Bose stereo...!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 23rd February, 2008

2002 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6 Northstar from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2006
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 4.6 Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired63000 miles
Most recent distance64200 miles
Previous carChrysler PT Cruiser

Summary:

Beautiful cars and beautiful women may have their quirks, but you love 'em anyway!

Faults:

Nothing so far..!

General Comments:

The quality, comfort, and handling are great...

Gas mileage could be better, but I have a lead foot..!

The Bose sound system rocks..!

I bought a 2 year bumper to bumper warranty... just in case... researching reliability issues put me at ease... it's had very good reviews..!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2008

2002 Cadillac Seville STS 300hp Northstar V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 300hp Northstar V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 10 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 6 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.8 / 10
Distance when acquired72000 miles
Most recent distance82250 miles
Previous carChevrolet Tracker

Summary:

Best car for your money, hands down

Faults:

Just a faulty fuel gauge, but if you use the computer and keep track of fuel consumption you can subtract the amount of fuel consumed from the 18.24 gallon tank.

General Comments:

This car gives the buyer the most amount of performance, comfort, handling, and curb appeal for the least amount of dollars. Hands down the best car on the road today. I will ship my Cadillac to Germany and take her on the Autobahn, and lay some American muscle on the roads of Europe.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 29th August, 2007

2002 Cadillac Seville STS 4.6L V8 from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission 4.6L V8 Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 7 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 5 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.2 / 10
Distance when acquired42000 miles
Most recent distance47500 miles
Previous carLincoln Town Car

Summary:

I is an excellent all-around car for both luxury and performance

Faults:

Needed new front brakes. Needed a new seal on rear parking light assembly. Both at about 45,000 miles.

General Comments:

This car is a pure pleasure to drive. It has great pick-up and runs better than the Lincoln Town car I traded in for it. It also has many more luxury features than the 2001 Town Car that I had. It is a sharp-looking car. The exterior and interior are both good quality. I finally have found a car that I am happy with. I would really like to keep this one as long as possible. It is very reliable and has a wonderful ride. It handles with great precision. It is very responsive. The seats are very comfortable. I would recommend this car above any other. If I have my way, I will never again buy any other car, but the Cadillac Seville.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 14th February, 2006

2002 Cadillac Seville STS Northstar from North America

Year of manufacture2002
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2006
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 9 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 9 / 10
Dealer Service marks 8 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 7 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired18000 miles
Most recent distance28000 miles
Previous carPontiac Grand Prix

Summary:

I think it is great

Faults:

Not much - what is all this vibration talk? I had new Michelin tires - awesome, quiet and great.

General Comments:

LOVE IT!!

Forget high priced imports. I paid cash, have no payment and a great car!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 21st January, 2006

20th Feb 2006, 13:49

I have an '02 STS. I bought it with 47000 miles on it. It was flawless for the next 13000 (I too have some vibration at about 70 mph though, but livable). At around 60,000 miles I came back when it was parked in the airport ramp and the lights worked well, everything seemed great, but it would not start. It wouldn't even 'click'. It was like it was in gear and wouldn't start. I brought it to the Caddy dealer and they replaced the battery (even though the lights, etc. worked well. Anyway, no problems for about two weeks and then it was parked in my garage for about 8 hours overnight and when I went to start it the same thing happened. Nothing. Then the next day it started fine. What the heck??? I am afraid to take it anywhere and turn off the engine because I may be stuck and require another tow. Anyone familiar with this weird problem??

19th Aug 2007, 13:41

I've read it has something to do with the dash light dimmer to interior light switch. Leaving it inbetween those positions can cause the problem.

13th Nov 2007, 18:03

The vibration is because of tires and intermediate column shaft.

2002 Cadillac Seville SLS Northstar from North America

Model year2002
Year of manufacture2001
First year of ownership2005
Most recent year of ownership2005
Engine and transmission Northstar Automatic
Performance marks 10 / 10
Reliability marks 9 / 10
Comfort marks 10 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 8 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
9.2 / 10
Distance when acquired36400 miles
Most recent distance38400 miles
Previous carAcura TL

Summary:

A great car bargain as used/certified

Faults:

Vibration at 47 MPH and 65-67 MPH.

General Comments:

This is a GREAT car. Goes like stink and goes where you point it. The interior is very spacious and the seats are the best. I love it runs on Regular at todays gas prices. I am still working with the dealer to correct the vibration. He has changed tires, Road Force Balance, bushings. In fairness he is really trying. I know we'll get it fixed.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 27th November, 2005

1st Dec 2005, 22:10

I had the same vibration problem with my 2001 sls, until I switched tires to michelin symmetry, as a result my problem was solved, hope this helps A.F.

26th Feb 2006, 08:07

Shopping for a save car for my 16 year old daughter to start driving with I ended up buying a low mileage 2001 SLS.

It also had the vibration problem. The used car dealer did everything they new how to correct the problem on this car that they had bought at the car auction. When they were unsuccessful they payed for the SLS to be checked over by a local Good Year Dealer. They took the serial number and called their Cadillac contact who referred them to the "Mitchell Repair Information Company" service bulletin.

Yes our Seville was in the "Breakpoint" VIN # of 3U247643.

This is what the service bulletin said to:

"Replace both lower control arms on vehicle built prior to the breakpoint number - a newly developed hydro bushing lower control arm with improved damping characteristics has been released." This was covered under G.M.'s service information bulletin # Seville 539332. Lower control arm right is part # 25746325 and the left is #25746324.

Haldimand Motors ordered the parts and installed them - problem solved!! However the rims must be kept clean of any mud or debris as any amount seems to cause an imbalance and vibrations will reappear.

So stop wasting money on tires and get those new lower control arms installed. Good Luck!

28th Jul 2006, 17:33

This man speaks the truth. I too had the vibration problem on my 2001 SLS. Started with Michelin's, no change, found this comment, gave it a shot, problem solved. Thank you.

Average review marks: 7.9 / 10, based on 12 reviews