Chery QQ Reviews - Page 2 of 3

2009 Chery QQ 311 11000 from Philippines

Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission 11000 Manual
Performance marks 1 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 0 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 0 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
1.0 / 10
Distance when acquired5 kilometres
Most recent distance10000 kilometres
Previous carToyota Vios

Summary:

Lemon

Faults:

Spare tire holder had to be welded.

Air con was not cooling very well.

Fuel consumption was and still at 10km/liter.

Factory provided radio cannot pick up any stations.

Headlights have scratches from the inside, although they argued that it had scratches in front. So, how come it is still sealed and there are scratches inside?

Tried to return or at least have the unit changed within one month of purchase, but to no avail.

General Comments:

The car is not living to its promise of a fuel efficient vehicle.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 26th October, 2009

11th Mar 2010, 00:10

This car is relatively new. I have seen other reviews from users in different parts of the world. I got interested since they are trying to introduce this car in Kenya.

The reviews talk of a fuel efficiency of up to 15km/l. Now I think that is too low for 1000cc or less, type of car considering that there are bigger engine cars by Toyota, Peugeot, Ford, etc that can do the same or even better.

Am not convinced that it is fuel efficient. In actual fact I cannot buy a 1000cc car for that kind of fuel efficiency and compromise engine size and power. No, not me.

2009 Chery QQ from Egypt

Model year2009
Year of manufacture2009
First year of ownership2009
Most recent year of ownership2009
Engine and transmission Manual
Performance marks 8 / 10
Reliability marks 8 / 10
Comfort marks 8 / 10
Dealer Service marks 9 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 9 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
8.4 / 10
Distance when acquired0 kilometres
Most recent distance4500 kilometres
Previous carChery QQ

Summary:

Great deal

Faults:

I need more space, it's perfect for a small family, but it's too small for a big family.

General Comments:

I think the car is good, it has a lot of options; power steering, air conditioning, central locking, 4 power windows, at a good price.

The after sales service is great, friendly.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 26th April, 2009

2006 Chery QQ S10 0.8 from Jordan

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2006
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2008
Engine and transmission 0.8 Manual
Performance marks 5 / 10
Reliability marks 4 / 10
Comfort marks 3 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
3.3 / 10
Distance when acquired230 kilometres
Most recent distance15000 kilometres

Faults:

The electric windows are trash, the A/C kills the car and you have to put your foot down to the max to keep it running.

After 3 months the doors started to squeak, it catches dirt like a magnet, and the gear box is a joke, need I say more...

And it costs a lot of money... it's not worth it at all. And the service center is the bigger joke, you are better off going to some one else, they have no clue what they are doing or they just don't want to...

General Comments:

It's a pile of crap...

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 30th June, 2008

21st Sep 2012, 00:26

When Alfred Sloan set up GM, he deduced that people wanted nice cars... and that people without a lot of money also wanted nice cars. So he decided to make changes in the styling every couple years, and shame the wealthy into buying new cars. This left perfectly good cars available (at low cost) for people wanting to spend less on their cars.

My point? Why not follow Mr. Sloans advice and buy-drive a used car? A real car. Then we all get to drive well built cars, just with a few extra miles-kilometers on them. As for me; I'd rather drive a nice, reliable, well built car with a few years on it, than a "new" bucket of bolts. Any day of the week. And with a grossly lower cost, a thousand extra liters of fuel per year because of a bigger-better car... more than makes up for itself.

Sloan was right. Driving a safer, more reliable car can be had for all. If we just get over wanting a new cheap car vs a used real car. Don't get me wrong; some of my favorite cars have been cheap little cars. But only ones with proven histories of reliability and safety. I don't care if it's small... or cheap. If it's well designed... and well built... then it will be an even better buy as a used car.

2007 Chery QQ EZ drive 0.8 from Egypt

Model year2007
Year of manufacture2007
First year of ownership2007
Most recent year of ownership2007
Engine and transmission 0.8 Automatic
Performance marks 2 / 10
Reliability marks 2 / 10
Comfort marks 2 / 10
Dealer Service marks 1 / 10
Running Costs (higher is cheaper) 4 / 10
Overall marks (average of all marks)
2.2 / 10
Distance when acquired10200 kilometres
Previous carDaewoo Lanos

Summary:

Not good at all, and don't recommend it to anybody

Faults:

I faced many problems with the clutch during changing speed, as the car made strange noises.

Also the front exhaust pipe has many problems, and makes a loud noise.

General Comments:

The car in unreliable.

Also the service center gives very poor after sales service; each time I go there for maintenance, I found people fighting there. Also each time I receive my car after maintenance with same problems it had when it went in.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 3rd April, 2008

26th Aug 2008, 22:30

Hahaha... rubbish is always rubbish mate... what you need to do is... throw it away from your life...

25th Jan 2010, 03:38

I totally agree with you.

The Ez-drive transmission is rubbish in this car and fails miserably after about 7000 kms.

I had the car for almost 4 years now, and I go to the dealer every 2-3 months because of transmission problems.

Now I'm in contact with the consumer protection agency in Egypt to complain. The transmission and the dealer are just crap.

Average review marks: 4.8 / 10, based on 9 reviews