2004 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Faults:

Replaced timing belt and water pump at 100,000 miles.

Replaced front brakes at 98,000 miles.

1 tune up at 100,000 miles. The car now has 169,000 miles on it and still runs strong.

I strongly believe if a car is serviced properly it will last. I have put over 300,000 miles on several different models, and the Aveo will be another one to use up and throw away.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 13th January, 2010

30th Oct 2011, 07:18

You got lucky. I've got 60,000 miles, the timing belt broke, and took out the valves, and now I see it has happened to a lot of others also.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS Sedan 1.6L from North America

Summary:

Only buy Japanese cars, not Korean

Faults:

The front control arm bushings went bad and caused a noise when going over bumps in the road.

The paint has faded so bad I had to get the whole car repainted for it to look presentable again.

The thermostat housing blew and caused me to run my engine hot.

The timing belt failed at 59,000, and I had to get a new cylinder head on my engine.

The clock never keeps time; it's always resetting back to 12:00.

The tires wear fast on this car; sometimes as soon as 12,000 miles.

General Comments:

The car has too much routine maintenance to keep up with. Stick with a foreign car, it will run a long time.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Don't Know

Review Date: 8th January, 2010

2004 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Faults:

I absolutely love my Chevy Aveo! I bought it, cheap, brand new, the first year it came out. I commute over 100 miles a day, and further on weekends --- absolutely no trouble with this car, and it has well over 117,000 miles on it! I changed the timing belt at 110,000, do oil changes, but that's it!

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? Yes

Review Date: 31st December, 2009

2004 Chevrolet Aveo LS from North America

Summary:

Not a reliable car at all

Faults:

Timing belt died at 65,000 miles.

General Comments:

I would never put anyone you love or care about in a Chevy Aveo. As a college student needing a car for school and a bit of travel to get home for the holidays, I heard this was the "perfect little car". Until one day I'm on the freeway and my timing belt broke. My car stopped in the second lane from the left of four lanes total. It lost all power and my car began to roll backwards on the freeway (where people were driving at least 70 mph). I was blessed and CHP got there before a car could hit me. I then had to be towed around, taken to a place where I was not treated well at all, and the price to even look at my car kept changing. When it was finally determined that it was my timing belt, I did a bit of research and found that it was recalled and I was never aware of this. Chevy put my life in danger, I simply just want to say, don't purchase a Chevy Aveo.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 28th August, 2009

4th Jan 2010, 18:49

How the heck can a belt die; explain that to me?

5th Jan 2010, 17:15

"How the heck can a belt die; explain that to me?"

It snapped causing engine damage of some kind. In this case, the valves were bent due to this car having an interference engine.

2004 Chevrolet Aveo from North America

Summary:

Not a reliable car!!!

Faults:

When I first purchased this car, it was great. This only lasted about two months. Then my check engine light turned on. I had it tested, and it was the evap system, and they said I had a vapor leak. Turns out I just needed a new gas cap, no sweat. Then it was fine for about a year.

I had small problems with it, like the transmission fluid had to be changed a few times, because every time I took it to the shop for an oil change, they told me my tranny fluid was 'burnt'.

For the past 7 or 8 months, my check engine light has been on again. Every time I get it tested, it comes up with something to do with the evap system again, but no one can figure out what's wrong with it.

For the past two months or so, every time I start it, it almost stalls before it starts running normally. Also, every time I put gas in it, it won't start right away. It takes me 5 or 6 times attempting to start it before it finally starts.

Finally someone figured out what he thinks is wrong with it, and says he has to pull the gas tank and it may need a new fuel pump.

I have had so many problems with this car in the short time that I have had it. It seems they never end.

General Comments:

This car has great gas mileage, no doubt.

The inside is very roomy with lots of space, I filled it with 12+ boxes when I moved across the country.

But, there are way too many problems with the car, & I don't recommend it.

Would you buy another car from this manufacturer? No

Review Date: 6th August, 2009

7th Aug 2009, 12:03

Well I have full sympathy buddy, but 1 in a million pieces is always found in every car manufacturer. Your dear Aveo is nothing but a Daewoo Kalos; it's a really nice car. The only thing is Chevy are using Daewoo technology in the cars, nothing else.

I have many friends who own Daewoo Kalos & all of them said it's a really suitable car. I too personally own a Daewoo vehicle, not a Kalos, but a Matiz that is. In my 9 years of ownership my car never betrayed me. You just got a bad example, nothing else.